Find Professionals    Deals    Get Quotations   Portfolios
Sign in to follow this  
June

Bachelorette Pad

Hello everyone,

This is June. I'm a newbie to renotalk. I just bought a resale flat in good condition and everyone's been telling me that i just need to bring my luggage and move in. Most of them couldnt understand why i want to do renovation after paying a relatively high COV for a well maintained unit that has been unoccupied for several years. The flat has a white theme and the kitchen has a cottage design. Very cosy and feminine feel. Although I don't dislike cottage design, I do find it a bit dated, especially the kitchen tiles which are brown, my most dislike colour. My preference is a modern clean design in white and pine. But I also think it's quite a waste to hack away a relatively new kitchen. So my dilemma is shall I overhaul the kitchen or shall i do minimal works? I'm posting some pix of the cabinet and the tiles which I took with I phone. The pix are not very good bcos I took them in a hurry. Hope to hear from you all soon.photo_zps785e82e0.jpg

photo_zpsc020e324.jpg

image_zpse1ef5080.jpg

image_zpsf80132a9.jpg

Looking for good contractors? Click here for your request

June, a warm welcome to Renotalk.

If you plan to keep the current kitchen cabinet, you can try to box it up and cover the pipings, that will saves you time from cleaning the top of the cupboards. I personally dislike doing that, oilly cupboard top hard to maintain.

As for the brown tiles. You can overlay them to save cost of hacking and changing to new tiles.

Once you box up the top, you can hack off the middle part and make a wet splash. To cover that option. That is just my personal opinion.

Other members might be able to give you more creative ideas. :yamseng: