aluka

5 Rm Resale Dream Home Project Strathmore

Hi Kwoni,

Thank you for the compliments.

The damage was slightly in excess of $2K. Living has day curtain also. but yet to be delivered because the choice we made is out of stock. We decided to wait for the stock to come, because we didn't want to change what we selected already.

Wow. That's on the high side? U install day curtains for all rooms?

Don't know leh. A lot depends on the fabric you choose. When I enquired around for 5 Room, many people quoted the price was around $1.5-2.4k for all rooms. So I thought I got a good deal.

Day curtains only for living.

U have moved in already? Hehe

Want check with u...I realise the wall for toilets are not solid concrete walls. My ID told me hdb used cement board which has a hollow feel when we knock on it. It will be damaged once we hack the toilet tiles.

Did u encounter this issue earlier?

Strathmoreans...We can open a fb group to share info on our units and happenings around us since we are seeing more peeps and developments around our area.

To open a group we need to add at least one member to the group. If you interested can pm me your fb so I can add your account and create a group. Thanks.

Edited by kwoni

Strathmoreans...We can open a fb group to share info on our units and happenings around us since we are seeing more peeps and developments around our area.

To open a group we need to add at least one member to the group. If you interested can pm me your fb so I can add your account and create a group. Thanks.

I am in.. Will PM you.

The Strathmore Avenue - Queenstown closed group has been created in FB. Feel free to add yourselves in the group and share any info with the neighbours!

U have moved in already? Hehe

Want check with u...I realise the wall for toilets are not solid concrete walls. My ID told me hdb used cement board which has a hollow feel when we knock on it. It will be damaged once we hack the toilet tiles.

Did u encounter this issue earlier?

Hi Kwoni,

Sorry, looks like I missed your above post.

Yes, we have moved in already.

As far as the toilets are concerned, yes it was a funny feeling I got when I first knocked on it. an empty hoollllllllloooooow sound - I was little scared for sometime. When the hackers completed the job, I could see the cardboard and some metal sheets kind of thing. Not very confidence inspiring.

In fact when we took possession of the house, the top of the toilet wall was bending over due to the weight of the tiles; it is so flimsy. :curse:

One of the ID's who they saw my place said he cannot hack in toilet - only overlay. But how to overlay when tiles are almost falling off???? Fortunately my ID was clear from the begining that we need to hack and rebuild the walls.

What to do? Our HDB has brilliant designers who know how to cut cost!!!

Hi Kwoni,

Sorry, looks like I missed your above post.

Yes, we have moved in already.

As far as the toilets are concerned, yes it was a funny feeling I got when I first knocked on it. an empty hoollllllllloooooow sound - I was little scared for sometime. When the hackers completed the job, I could see the cardboard and some metal sheets kind of thing. Not very confidence inspiring.

In fact when we took possession of the house, the top of the toilet wall was bending over due to the weight of the tiles; it is so flimsy. :curse:

One of the ID's who they saw my place said he cannot hack in toilet - only overlay. But how to overlay when tiles are almost falling off???? Fortunately my ID was clear from the begining that we need to hack and rebuild the walls.

What to do? Our HDB has brilliant designers who know how to cut cost!!!

Lol yeah.. i oso not in favour of doing overlay when my id suggested so...was worried if the wall is hollow and light if I overlay one day maybe the wall may collapse haha... I did my hacking last week. Found out there's metal sheets beneath the wall. The hackers manage to preserve the wall but the false ceiling need to change. Additional cost...

Hello All,

It has been more than 8 months since we moved in to our home @ Strathmore.

I just wanted to capture a quick update on the status, things that have went well and that haven't, some design flaws we could have done better, things that's showing some wear and tear to the age.

Quick update on things that went well:

- Overall design and workmanship of ID.

- Bright look and feel of the home. (we really like the brightness in our homes as we believe that is good feng shui)

- Color schemes we have chosen including the laminates.

- Living room one full wall flush carpentry for Storage is a great hit. Thanks to it, we have lots of storage.

Items we could have done better:

- Choosing of Kompactplus. One second thought, I think granite is a better option against chipping. Granite offers fool proof protection against sharp objects. I have a chipped spot in my kompactplus. Don't know how it happened. But I am sure it wouldn't have happened in Granite.

- Choosing baron w-888: the choice has not gone well. I think the flush is too weak and doesn't flush away waste in single flush.

Items we could have done better:

- Choosing baron w-888: the choice has not gone well. I think the flush is too weak and doesn't flush away waste in single flush.

Maybe you can try adjusting the water level inside the cistern to allow more water per flush?