Ya no harm trying. He is trying to finish up my house by end Nov..hiak hiak.. so henry keeps saying want to be in time to do xmas bbq at my house.. he better!!

The good thing about Henry is that he knows his limit and wun take on too much. The other ID who is liked that is Mr Yeak. I got rejected by him but I will always remember him cos he is down to earth.

Ya no harm trying. He is trying to finish up my house by end Nov..hiak hiak.. so henry keeps saying want to be in time to do xmas bbq at my house.. he better!!

The good thing about Henry is that he knows his limit and wun take on too much. The other ID who is liked that is Mr Yeak. I got rejected by him but I will always remember him cos he is down to earth.

So are we going to have a Henner gathering at yr place during X'mas period ??? phahahha

Adding type of flat/condo in

KK updating

(Supersimon27) - north woodlands - 4 room

(Jamieogh) - west bukit batok - 4 room

(Dannywmp) - west Jurong - 4 room

(lohwl2000) - central Farrer Park (along serangoon road) - 4 room

(Nirvana) - East - (pai seh forgot exact location) - condo

(momo13) - central AMK - 3 room

(dmay) - west (or consider north) bukit panjang - 4 room (correct me if i am wrong)

(crimsonred) west (or consider north) (bukit panjang)

(kiven78) - North Yishun

(aosis) - north woodlands

(pink_clover) - North Woodlands 4 Room

(Smallcarrot - Central 4 Room

the rest I not very sure

Update

And also lets welcome Smallcarrot to join the club :) I start his Blog quite late as i believe he's finishing his reno liao wor ,,,

Anyway welcome welcom ... clap clap ... :)

Now that my renovation with Henry had came to the final stage, I will like to give my review and feedback of my renovation.

Start date of Renovation: 16 Nov 09

Plan completion and HO of Henry’s work: 16 Dec 09

Scope of work done – All major work accept for

1) Laminated flooring Living room and 3 bedroom

2) Electrical Work

3) MBR Wardrobe

4) Main Gate

Progress so far: 85% done up which include

• All Tiling and flooring work of Kitchen and 2 toilets and foyer area

• All Ceiling work completed – MBR, Living Room, Foyer

• Plumbing work – 90% completed only left with kitchen Sink tap connection

• Acid Washing Done

• Painting 75% done and the rest, will be completed by this week

• Kitchen Cabinets 100% completed accept for Solid Top

Balance Work that will be completed as promised by Henry by

1) Window Grill - Fri/ Sat (11/12 Dec)

2) Bi fold Doors for 2 toilets – Fri/ Sat (11/12 Dec)

3) Solid Top - Fri (11 Dec)

4) Shower Screen – Next Wed (16 Dec)

Review of work done

1) Hacking Work – 8/10 due to delaying 1 day – but the sub-con is very nice and humble guy.

2) Tiling Work 9.5/10 – Very good and skillful, the 0.5 I will reserve for slight touch up work to be done this Sat.

3) Ceiling Work – 10/10 – Very Fast and Skillful, Ceiling work very nicely done up

4) Kitchen Cabinets – Carpentry Work 10/10…I am very satisfied with the workmanship even thru I only verbally tell them my concept plus the laminate color selection without any perspective drawing, it turn out to be totally what I want…Thumb Up..

5) Painting Work- 8.5/10 – the Malay Painter –Din is very patient guy, although 1 person, but he really knows what is required and help me and the electrical contractor to close up my hole on wall. He also done the plastering very well…the 1.5 I will reserve for the rest of the work done.

6) Plumber – 8/10, 2 points deducted for being late and broken 1 wall tile in my common toilet but later, the tiler help to change it.

Although not totally completed, but I am very confident that Henry will be able to handle over swee swee for me on time. I posted this review because I am too eager to show my appreciation to him and his group of Contractors….Thank you very much…Good Job!!!

Just some words of advice to forumer out there that doing or planning to do your renovation…

No matter how reputable or experience the ID/ Contractor that you have chosen there will tend to have some hiccup along the way but we must learn to forgive and forget.

Both the owner and the contractor must work hand in hand to coordinate and plan to make sure that those work that can work in parallel to be arranged to be done on the same way…maybe for me because I was ever in Construction line and work with a lot of sub-contractor before, tats why I can understand the sequence of work better…

If you have a timeline to meet like me, please please please… do make your own progress checking physically or at least over the phone with your contractor/ ID daily. I can understand how busy these people are …so many houses to look after and especially this period of time.

The slightly better or reputable ones will be even more busy…so in order to ensure that things in every house will be moving without one work delaying another, they will usually arrange for one group of contractor to do the work at a time, ensure completed then arrange another group to go up so as not to “Tapa” (obstruct) each other working. Sub-con is paid based on the work done…so if they go to one house and cannot be maximized, the boss will lose money… put yourself into the shoe of contractor, how will you plan…you will definitely give yourself some buffer to arrange, right? So that is the reason why sometime you will see no worker on site for a few days…

For me, I go over to my house end day to see the progress daily; I will then call Henry or other Contractor to tell them the actual work done in the house so that different group of contractors can be arranged to come in progressively. So far, except for the hacking delaying for one day, all days there will be workers on site. The tilers even come in on Public Holiday to work too…Solid!

Some of you may think “Seow bo…I pay to ensure my work get coordinate leh, why must I be headache over the coordination and arrangement…”

I used to think the same too but after working as a contractor (Commercial) in construction I know during this peak period all contractor be it commercial or residential all super busy, you must put in the extra effort to make sure the HO is timely!

For me I know it the best; I don’t want to be Delay! That is my objective…

I will post more photos on my T-blog

To learn more of my progress and road to completion…please checkout my T-Blog…cheers :yamseng:

Now that my renovation with Henry had came to the final stage, I will like to give my review and feedback of my renovation.

Start date of Renovation: 16 Nov 09

Plan completion and HO of Henry’s work: 16 Dec 09

Scope of work done – All major work accept for

1) Laminated flooring Living room and 3 bedroom

2) Electrical Work

3) MBR Wardrobe

4) Main Gate

Progress so far: 85% done up which include

• All Tiling and flooring work of Kitchen and 2 toilets and foyer area

• All Ceiling work completed – MBR, Living Room, Foyer

• Plumbing work – 90% completed only left with kitchen Sink tap connection

• Acid Washing Done

• Painting 75% done and the rest, will be completed by this week

• Kitchen Cabinets 100% completed accept for Solid Top

Balance Work that will be completed as promised by Henry by

1) Window Grill - Fri/ Sat (11/12 Dec)

2) Bi fold Doors for 2 toilets – Fri/ Sat (11/12 Dec)

3) Solid Top - Fri (11 Dec)

4) Shower Screen – Next Wed (16 Dec)

Review of work done

1) Hacking Work – 8/10 due to delaying 1 day – but the sub-con is very nice and humble guy.

2) Tiling Work 9.5/10 – Very good and skillful, the 0.5 I will reserve for slight touch up work to be done this Sat.

3) Ceiling Work – 10/10 – Very Fast and Skillful, Ceiling work very nicely done up

4) Kitchen Cabinets – Carpentry Work 10/10…I am very satisfied with the workmanship even thru I only verbally tell them my concept plus the laminate color selection without any perspective drawing, it turn out to be totally what I want…Thumb Up..

5) Painting Work- 8.5/10 – the Malay Painter –Din is very patient guy, although 1 person, but he really knows what is required and help me and the electrical contractor to close up my hole on wall. He also done the plastering very well…the 1.5 I will reserve for the rest of the work done.

6) Plumber – 8/10, 2 points deducted for being late and broken 1 wall tile in my common toilet but later, the tiler help to change it.

Although not totally completed, but I am very confident that Henry will be able to handle over swee swee for me on time. I posted this review because I am too eager to show my appreciation to him and his group of Contractors….Thank you very much…Good Job!!!

Just some words of advice to forumer out there that doing or planning to do your renovation…

No matter how reputable or experience the ID/ Contractor that you have chosen there will tend to have some hiccup along the way but we must learn to forgive and forget.

Both the owner and the contractor must work hand in hand to coordinate and plan to make sure that those work that can work in parallel to be arranged to be done on the same way…maybe for me because I was ever in Construction line and work with a lot of sub-contractor before, tats why I can understand the sequence of work better…

If you have a timeline to meet like me, please please please… do make your own progress checking physically or at least over the phone with your contractor/ ID daily. I can understand how busy these people are …so many houses to look after and especially this period of time.

The slightly better or reputable ones will be even more busy…so in order to ensure that things in every house will be moving without one work delaying another, they will usually arrange for one group of contractor to do the work at a time, ensure completed then arrange another group to go up so as not to “Tapa” (obstruct) each other working. Sub-con is paid based on the work done…so if they go to one house and cannot be maximized, the boss will lose money… put yourself into the shoe of contractor, how will you plan…you will definitely give yourself some buffer to arrange, right? So that is the reason why sometime you will see no worker on site for a few days…

For me, I go over to my house end day to see the progress daily; I will then call Henry or other Contractor to tell them the actual work done in the house so that different group of contractors can be arranged to come in progressively. So far, except for the hacking delaying for one day, all days there will be workers on site. The tilers even come in on Public Holiday to work too…Solid!

Some of you may think “Seow bo…I pay to ensure my work get coordinate leh, why must I be headache over the coordination and arrangement…”

I used to think the same too but after working as a contractor (Commercial) in construction I know during this peak period all contractor be it commercial or residential all super busy, you must put in the extra effort to make sure the HO is timely!

For me I know it the best; I don’t want to be Delay! That is my objective…

I will post more photos on my T-blog

To learn more of my progress and road to completion…please checkout my T-Blog…cheers :yamseng:

wah seh .... bro , yr review more detail then mine ... got rating somemore .... I only give "very good/good/average/bad nia ...." phahahaha

Anywya .... glad that u are happy with henry ... if not I will feel bad sia .... cos I intro him to u mah ....

Can't wait to meet up at yr place ha ... See ya ...

wah seh .... bro , yr review more detail then mine ... got rating somemore .... I only give "very good/good/average/bad nia ...." phahahaha

Anywya .... glad that u are happy with henry ... if not I will feel bad sia .... cos I intro him to u mah ....

Hi Simon,

Beside Henry, of course I have to say Thank you to you and Jamie...the pioneer of Henner club who shared with me Henry's contact...

And not forgetting all the bro and sis in the forum for giving me their valueable and truth comments to make my reno a smooth going one...

Once everything is completed and unpacked...I will invite you guys to my house...perhap Chinese new year will be better...Guess Christmas will be a little rush for me...

Cheers...

Hi Simon,

Beside Henry, of course I have to say Thank you to you and Jamie...the pioneer of Henner club who shared with me Henry's contact...

And not forgetting all the bro and sis in the forum for giving me their valueable and truth comments to make my reno a smooth going one...

Once everything is completed and unpacked...I will invite you guys to my house...perhap Chinese new year will be better...Guess Christmas will be a little rush for me...

Cheers...

KK ... I see can bring Jaden over to collect Ang Bao ... phahahaha .... of cos will give yr son Ang bao too ... 1 to 1 ... phahaha ...

Ask momo and kopi along ... they no kids yet :P ... hahahahha

Really impress about your sharing here : )

V useful for newbie like me haha..

Just to check painting has done after the completion of tiling, wiring, aircon piping..

Wait a min, so painting should done before or after laminate flooring,installation of windows &window grills?

quote name='doremon2009' date='Dec 10 2009, 11:22 PM' post='482903']

Just to check painting has done after the completion of tiling, wiring, aircon piping..

Wait a min, so painting should done before or after laminate flooring,installation of windows &window grills?

Hi doremon,

From your T-blog…understand that you have chosen your Contractor/ID too…Congrats….

For painting, usually you will need to do it after all the tiling work, wiring and aircon piping…( dun worry about the paint on the tiles…it can be removed using chemical wash…

As for laminated flooring, you can arrange for them to come in after all your painting work is done up…it will be much better as you dun want your laminated floor to kanna paint (cannot use water to wash it lik tiles right?)

As for window and grill…usually installed before painting work…but this is not critical, either way is still ok.

1 piece of advice, dun engage painter separately…get your contractor to arrange…saving the little money is not enough to compensate the headache of later no one want to be responsible to touch up the painting for you…

Cheers…happy reno to all….

quote name='doremon2009' date='Dec 10 2009, 11:22 PM' post='482903']

Hi doremon,

From your T-blog…understand that you have chosen your Contractor/ID too…Congrats….

For painting, usually you will need to do it after all the tiling work, wiring and aircon piping…( dun worry about the paint on the tiles…it can be removed using chemical wash…

As for laminated flooring, you can arrange for them to come in after all your painting work is done up…it will be much better as you dun want your laminated floor to kanna paint (cannot use water to wash it lik tiles right?)

As for window and grill…usually installed before painting work…but this is not critical, either way is still ok.

1 piece of advice, dun engage painter separately…get your contractor to arrange…saving the little money is not enough to compensate the headache of later no one want to be responsible to touch up the painting for you…

Cheers…happy reno to all….

Thanks for the sharing & best wishes ; )

Today when I went up to the new house, the electrician has done the wiring already..

Have made arrangement that electrician comes 2 times ie 1st time to do up the wiring, 2nd time to install the light.

Likewise, the aircon arrangement next Mon will do the piping till the tail end of renovation then install the aircons.

Target to have the laminate flooring for the rooms done by next week..

Need to inform the renovator what are the paint colors we have finalised by this SUN..

Gosh today was the mad rush to shop for the lightings..has walked from one end to the other end of Balestier haha..but finally got it all purchased..yea! Achieved that within 4hours!!

But forgot to get door bell, and realised that we bought extra 1 light..

Think need to settled the extra light on SUN for exchange of other things..

I really dont like to do things in tight schedule and in mad rush.. but too bad.. time is not at our side..

Now can only do my utmost best within my limits.. really xiong and tiring..

Just happen to chit chat with Henry last night and found out that he’s actually doing a lot of project this 2 month wor. A lot from Renotalk too ….. Wonder where are the hidden Henner :)

Hello … finding the lost Henner . Ha . Need to update the list so that more Henner club show room for potential Henner recruit . ha

Need to include U guys too if got gathering So ..... …

Henner pls report in :)

(Supersimon27) - north woodlands - 4 room – completed

(Dannywmp) - west Jurong - 4 room completed

(Nirvana) - East - (pai seh forgot exact location) - condo completed

(dmay) - west (or consider north) bukit panjang - 4 room (correct me if i am wrong)

(kiven78) - North Yishun

(wenxiong)- not from forum – 4room woodland - completed

(Smallcarrot) - Central 4 Room

Edited by Supersimon27

Just happen to chit chat with Henry last night and found out that he’s actually doing a lot of project this 2 month wor. A lot from Renotalk too ….. Wonder where are the hidden Henner :)

Hello … finding the lost Henner . Ha . Need to update the list so that more Henner club show room for potential Henner recruit . ha

Need to include U guys too if got gathering So ..... …

Henner pls report in :)

(Supersimon27) - north woodlands - 4 room – completed

(Dannywmp) - west Jurong - 4 room completed

(Nirvana) - East - (pai seh forgot exact location) - condo completed

(kiven78) - North Yishun

(wenxiong)- not from forum – 4room woodland - completed

(Smallcarrot) - Central 4 Room

(eugela) - Shunfu 5rm

Update on my Reno progress..

Work I would say 70% done.. A bit disapointed that all works cannot be completed by end of this year. :( Still thought of celebrating my birthday on new year day at my new place. Haiz.. got to think of alternative venue le..

Works done

-Living Room, Kitchen, both toilets floor & wall tiles up

-Painting (85% completed, need some touch up at some areas) One man job, but he is quite efficient. ;)

-Stainless Steel piping (ok except that the floor tile at washing machine cracked; replaced a few days back- the gaps between tiles not filled up yet)

-Main gate, both toilet bi-fold doors done

-L box & False ceiling done

-Plastering for the whole house (Workmanship not bad, except the fact that the guys did one part of the wall for one day, MIA-ed for the next 2 days then back to continue)- Took a few days to finish everything

Works pending completion

-Bedroom & storeroom doors

-Carpentary Works- Kitchen Cabinet, solid top, living room feature wall, TV console

-3 bedrooms laminated flooring (suppose to be yesterday, now still waiting- hopefully tomorrow)

-Both toilet accessories & fittings, heaters + Lightings

Others

- Air con installation (By another company)

Counting down... :unsure::unsure:

Update on my Reno progress..

Work I would say 70% done.. A bit disapointed that all works cannot be completed by end of this year. :( Still thought of celebrating my birthday on new year day at my new place. Haiz.. got to think of alternative venue le..

Works done

-Living Room, Kitchen, both toilets floor & wall tiles up

-Painting (85% completed, need some touch up at some areas) One man job, but he is quite efficient. ;)

-Stainless Steel piping (ok except that the floor tile at washing machine cracked; replaced a few days back- the gaps between tiles not filled up yet)

-Main gate, both toilet bi-fold doors done

-L box & False ceiling done

-Plastering for the whole house (Workmanship not bad, except the fact that the guys did one part of the wall for one day, MIA-ed for the next 2 days then back to continue)- Took a few days to finish everything

Works pending completion

-Bedroom & storeroom doors

-Carpentary Works- Kitchen Cabinet, solid top, living room feature wall, TV console

-3 bedrooms laminated flooring (suppose to be yesterday, now still waiting- hopefully tomorrow)

-Both toilet accessories & fittings, heaters + Lightings

Others

- Air con installation (By another company)

Counting down... :unsure::unsure:

hi there

u stayin in wdland ulu place...is it dr 75?

sori juz askin