alamak

Finally... Our Home

hey alamak....

great to hear abt your reno completed n moving in ........so hv u finished the unpacking....very tiring huh...pls take care.. :good: .believed you hv all spiced up ready for the CNY celebrations... :D ...Huuuuaaat ah !.

aiyoo.....with regards to Singtel.....me also got many issues with the mio tv & broadband connection saga with them recently....this evening just came to install the mio tv...but after the installer left...the remote cannot work(especially the volumn button).....and it also cannot be activate directly fr the set-top box...WTF....call the hotline , they tell me to go direct to hello shop to change the remote controller....WFT....

if interest to know more....read my blog on the connection saga.....

have not finished unpacking yet cos I let me wife unpack 1st. 2 person unpack together = chaos!

read your story, their help line really cannot make it. even if it's singtel's problem/mistake, can only say 'sorry but have to follow standard protocol' i am a very patient person, to make me flare up is really not easy, singtel has the honour to be the 1st this year. :D

will give them another day today, otherwise i will go to comcentre tomorrow.

Happy Chinese New Year!

here are some pictures taken during the move in.

living room

IMG_3859.jpg

IMG_3860.jpg

kitchen

SANY0017.jpg

SANY0018.jpg

SANY0038.jpg

Edited by alamak

Happy Chinese New Year!

here are some pictures taken during the move in.

living room

IMG_3859.jpg

IMG_3860.jpg

kitchen

SANY0017.jpg

SANY0018.jpg

SANY0038.jpg

Hi there, your house is looking good! Although is messy but bobian one... coz transition period. Me until today also haven finish packing yet. Difficult. Coz Mon to Fri work, come back damm shag liao.

After moved in, Tv must quicky set up right? Despite the messy wires flying arnd. No Tv very boring hor :D

You mount it on concrete wall right?

Hi there, your house is looking good! Although is messy but bobian one... coz transition period. Me until today also haven finish packing yet. Difficult. Coz Mon to Fri work, come back damm shag liao.

After moved in, Tv must quicky set up right? Despite the messy wires flying arnd. No Tv very boring hor :D

You mount it on concrete wall right?

thanks thanks. yah lor, luckily got cny holidays.

yup, the tv is mounted on concrete wall.

master bed room

SANY0022.jpg

Billy book case as a tv console, going to do some diy tohide the cables

SANY0036.jpg

dressing table and entrance to WIW

SANY0027.jpg

Edited by alamak

this is our confirmed layout.

layout-final.jpg

we did note down the beams. thanks for the advise.

i've been following your blog and esp the other 3-roomers. :D

thanks for the suggestion. will consider it with my gf again. headache, esp when the reno date is drawing near and so many things to decide.

is this still your confirmed layout? where's the billy w/tv in this space plan?

Yes, its the confirmed layout. The billy w/tv is in front of our bed. Wanted to get the expedit book shelf but its too deep which makes the walking space v narrow.

oh you took the pics with different bed sheets :P

what's the walking space between the billy and the bed? looks quite narrow.

your undermount sink make it looks so nice!

brilliant choice! :good:

thanks, we really love our granite sink and granite top.

oh you took the pics with different bed sheets :P

what's the walking space between the billy and the bed? looks quite narrow.

oh yah, the 2 pics were taken on different days. sorry for the confusion. cos the billy 'tv console' and book shelves were only delivered on the 1st day of CNY. wanted to get it earlier but no stock. had been calling IKEA quite frequently to check the stock. once arrived, we chiong to get it.

it's narrow but still acceptable, about 50cm. couldn't find any other alternatives other than the billy so no choice.

here's my simple review of my contractor. he is Edmund from DX Interior.

Overall I am satisfied with his work. Tho there are some things that had problems but he did not give excuses and acknowledged the problem and got it sorted out. He is not the quickest, our reno took 8 weeks, but he still managed to HO to us before CNY as promised. Some items were thought to be only done after CNY e.g. tempered glass, he helped us to get it done before CNY.

As you know if you read blog, I had problem with my store room door because the drawing I gave him had the door opening inwards instead of outwards. He managed to find a way to help me do it without hacking the door frame. No complain from him.

As he's a contractor, we had to come up with our own design and color combi for our place. But he did provided us with a 3D of our kitchen. He will give suggestions and let us know the alternatives that are available.

These are the works that was done by his people.

1. Wetworks and tiling - Done by an uncle and his assistance. Took 4 weeks. Slow but end product is good.

2. Plastering - Done by 1 guy. Pity this guy, cos he stayed quite late all the time and even worked on weekends.

3. Partition and False ceiling. Done by 2 men. Finished everything in 4 days.

4. Painting - Done by 2 men. Quite bad 1st time round. Feedback to Edmund and he got another painter in to do the touch up. Much better.

5. Carpentry - Done by 2 men. Overall carpentry was not bad. No pigeon hole in the cabinets. But there were some scratches on the cabinet doors. Feedback to Edmund and he got the carpenter to replace those doors with long scratches.

6. Plumbing - Done by an uncle. Quite friendly and end product is good.

7. Electrical - Done by Edmund's electrician. Uncle abit blur, maybe too busy already. He came to my place not less than 10 times. But in the end everything was settle nicely.

8. Laminate Flooring - Done by kronotex. Only complain is my uneven floor, other than that quite ok.

10. Door works - Veneer main door and solid classic door. Quite ok till they suppose to paint/varnish the doors. The 1st time round was quite bad. Feedback to Edmund, he called the guy and told him his work sucks, told him to come down at night to do it again. Edmund came at night and told him the things that need to be done. The painter supposedly is the boss.

11. Windows and Gate - Done by Alex, Yick Hong. Reasonable priced and workmanship is quite good. Only problem is we are using natural color aluminum and some parts of the grille and frame are abit dirty.

12. Wardrobe - Done by closet design. Workmanship ok but material used like not very good.

As of now, I am still holding 10% of the reno costs which will be paid 2 weeks after HO. This is because his policy is 10(deposit)-40(tiling start)-30(measure carpentry)-10(HO)-10(2 weeks after HO).

These are the shops that we ordered our furnitures and electrical from.

1. Lorenzo

2. Absolute Bedding

3. FORMS

4. Asia Excel

5. GR Link

6. Premier Lighting

7. Best Denki

8. Harvey Norman

9. V.hive

No major problem. FORMS missed our delivery and was rescheduled a few days later.

Edited by alamak

bro, recently i went to natural cool in mid Jan, the model that we bought, is now selling at 1499 :D

Edited by ossify

bro, recently i went to natural cool in mid Jan, the model that we bought, is now selling at 1499 :D

you are using panny sys-3 right? mine is toshiba sys-2 non invertor.

sys-3 at $1499??? that is really cheap leh, even for non-invertor!!

you are using panny sys-3 right? mine is toshiba sys-2 non invertor.

sys-3 at $1499??? that is really cheap leh, even for non-invertor!!

oops wrong tblog :D

you never post any pics of your aircon?

here's my simple review of my contractor. he is Edmund from DX Interior.

Overall I am satisfied with his work. Tho there are some things that had problems but he did not give excuses and acknowledged the problem and got it sorted out. He is not the quickest, our reno took 8 weeks, but he still managed to HO to us before CNY as promised. Some items were thought to be only done after CNY e.g. tempered glass, he helped us to get it done before CNY.

As you know if you read blog, I had problem with my store room door because the drawing I gave him had the door opening inwards instead of outwards. He managed to find a way to help me do it without hacking the door frame. No complain from him.

As he's a contractor, we had to come up with our own design and color combi for our place. But he did provided us with a 3D of our kitchen. He will give suggestions and let us know the alternatives that are available.

These are the works that was done by his people.

1. Wetworks and tiling - Done by an uncle and his assistance. Took 4 weeks. Slow but end product is good.

2. Plastering - Done by 1 guy. Pity this guy, cos he stayed quite late all the time and even worked on weekends.

3. Partition and False ceiling. Done by 2 men. Finished everything in 4 days.

4. Painting - Done by 2 men. Quite bad 1st time round. Feedback to Edmund and he got another painter in to do the touch up. Much better.

5. Carpentry - Done by 2 men. Overall carpentry was not bad. No pigeon hole in the cabinets. But there were some scratches on the cabinet doors. Feedback to Edmund and he got the carpenter to replace those doors with long scratches.

6. Plumbing - Done by an uncle. Quite friendly and end product is good.

7. Electrical - Done by Edmund's electrician. Uncle abit blur, maybe too busy already. He came to my place not less than 10 times. But in the end everything was settle nicely.

8. Laminate Flooring - Done by kronotex. Only complain is my uneven floor, other than that quite ok.

10. Door works - Veneer main door and solid classic door. Quite ok till they suppose to paint/varnish the doors. The 1st time round was quite bad. Feedback to Edmund, he called the guy and told him his work sucks, told him to come down at night to do it again. Edmund came at night and told him the things that need to be done. The painter supposedly is the boss.

11. Windows and Gate - Done by Alex, Yick Hong. Reasonable priced and workmanship is quite good. Only problem is we are using natural color aluminum and some parts of the grille and frame are abit dirty.

12. Wardrobe - Done by closet design. Workmanship ok but material used like not very good.

As of now, I am still holding 10% of the reno costs which will be paid 2 weeks after HO. This is because his policy is 10(deposit)-40(tiling start)-30(measure carpentry)-10(HO)-10(2 weeks after HO).

These are the shops that we ordered our furnitures and electrical from.

1. Lorenzo

2. Absolute Bedding

3. FORMS

4. Asia Excel

5. GR Link

6. Premier Lighting

7. Best Denki

8. Harvey Norman

9. V.hive

No major problem. FORMS missed our delivery and was rescheduled a few days later.

tks bro for the review. i shld be contacting edmund for a discussion soon. :)

Hi Pat@CV,

If Im not wrong, risis also used Edmund for her reno. We contacted Edmund before during our renovator search too. But we didnt get him.

This is the link to risis blog: http://www.renotalk.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=18371

Good luck on your reno hunt. :D