sff

Can't Seem To Leave Toa Payoh!

hi sff

your reno seems to be speedy gozales mode -- so much work done within 4 weeks is really fast!

so are you planning to engage the mover to move everything? or just the heavy stuff? We are also in the same boat - now thinking if I should just engage a piano mover and do the rest oureselves

Ya, agree, sff, I am so amazed at your speed! You must be a very fast worker at work too. Hmmm... I am yet to do my shopping, so would you be able to tell me if not PM me the name and address of the company where you got your toilet ware pls?

Many thanks

hi sff

your reno seems to be speedy gozales mode -- so much work done within 4 weeks is really fast!

so are you planning to engage the mover to move everything? or just the heavy stuff? We are also in the same boat - now thinking if I should just engage a piano mover and do the rest oureselves

Hi froggy,

Ya, getting a mover to move heavy stuff and 10 heavy boxes. The rest probably will move ourselves. Kind of worried for the piano that's why tried to find good movers. Mmm... I suppose it's quite fast. Really crossing fingers that move in in 2 days' time would be shun shun.

Ya, agree, sff, I am so amazed at your speed! You must be a very fast worker at work too. Hmmm... I am yet to do my shopping, so would you be able to tell me if not PM me the name and address of the company where you got your toilet ware pls?

Many thanks

No lah. I'm actually a tortoise. I already do shopping in March even though reno is in June. And then change and change items until I paiseh. My toilet stuff I went to Universal Union at Geylang. Quite near Paya Lebar MRT (Circle line).

Hi froggy,

Ya, getting a mover to move heavy stuff and 10 heavy boxes. The rest probably will move ourselves. Kind of worried for the piano that's why tried to find good movers. Mmm... I suppose it's quite fast. Really crossing fingers that move in in 2 days' time would be shun shun.

yup, piano was the difficult one. Yours a upright or classical? Please share with me if you find a good piano mover.

So far your reno progress has been good, I'm sure everything will go shun shun ...

So, we are moving in on Saturday but the house is not ready yet. Kelvin said that he would get the house ready in move-in condition minus carpentry. Considering that today is exactly 4 weeks from start of reno, I would say 'not bad' liao. Floor, wall, pipes, electrical, false ceiling, window grille, parquet floor, sanitary included. He said that tomorrow they would complete painting, door painting, installation of glass doors and screen, door knobs and lockset, installation of lights. Crossing fingers now. :unsure:

Today went to find id. He showed me 3D of kitchen cabinets. Nice. But too bad, could not bring home cos he need to make some modification. I also made last minute change to the laminates to use. He heard that and panicked! But he's a nice guy. Immediately called up his carpenter and told them to change. And so, it's changed!! Tomorrow I should get updated designs. :dancingqueen:

Think Thursday should be able to get some nice photoa. :sport-smiley-004:

sorry to ask a dumb question. How to move in when work not complete? Wouldn't it be very dusty and nosiy? We actually asked our contractor that also, bc thought want to cut down cost of rental temporary accomodation, but he really super discourage us to do that.

Hmm.. actually, after move in, only left kitchen cabinets, installation of hob, hood and sink and bedroom wardrobes. These, my id say, will take 2 wks to make and fix. But we bo bian must move in this weekend. So I think after we move in, there won't be any works until about 2 wks later when the carpentry comes in. Then probably tahan dirt and mess for a day or 2. At least can sleep and bath there. Food can always buy outside, no need to cook yet.

So we have officially moved in, even though the works in the house are not completed. Whew... so busy the past few days and also no telephone line so could not surf the internet.

Hmm... comments on the vendors, based on my opinions.

1. CYC Movers - Very efficient and good service. Worthed the $. Say 9-9.30am reach, on day itself 8.45am reach downstairs liao. 9am came up. 4 guys in uniform, polite and friendly. Everything moved quite fast and the piano, wah, the piano they wrapped until so nice - shrink wrap, bubble wrap, shrink wrap, cardboard base, shrink wrap! Leave old house, use trolley. Go new house, all carry in except piano. Not rough too. Excess stuff, they stuff into boxes and charge by boxes. So I got extra 14 boxes and I only need to top up $28. Everything 1 trip. :D

2. Cellini Furniture - On time delivery. Salesman sms me delivery time and date. All in good condition. :D

3. V-hive - On-time too. Sms me too. The guy really know how to enjoy life! Switch on fan himself while installing 2 desks! :rolleyes: Good condition. :D

4. AMK HQ (Beng Wah Group) - Called up day before to inform me that they could not deliver on Sat, asked if can do so on Mon. I said ok. Mattress and frame came separately. Mattress delivered by Dunlopillo. Both on time and also in good condition. :D

5. Lighting.com.sg - Good after sales service. Glass frame cracked. Called them and they replaced it 2/3 days later.

6. Universal Union - After installing everything, realise got 2 valves never use and 1 toilet holder that could not fit into a small space. Went back to change the 3 items. Service was good. In fact, very good cos we really remove and change many items quite a few times until both sides confused. Cool and calm saleslady. :D

:sport-smiley-004:

So we have officially moved in, even though the works in the house are not completed. Whew... so busy the past few days and also no telephone line so could not surf the internet.

Hmm... comments on the vendors, based on my opinions.

1. CYC Movers - Very efficient and good service. Worthed the $. Say 9-9.30am reach, on day itself 8.45am reach downstairs liao. 9am came up. 4 guys in uniform, polite and friendly. Everything moved quite fast and the piano, wah, the piano they wrapped until so nice - shrink wrap, bubble wrap, shrink wrap, cardboard base, shrink wrap! Leave old house, use trolley. Go new house, all carry in except piano. Not rough too. Excess stuff, they stuff into boxes and charge by boxes. So I got extra 14 boxes and I only need to top up $28. Everything 1 trip. :D

2. Cellini Furniture - On time delivery. Salesman sms me delivery time and date. All in good condition. :D

3. V-hive - On-time too. Sms me too. The guy really know how to enjoy life! Switch on fan himself while installing 2 desks! :rolleyes: Good condition. :D

4. AMK HQ (Beng Wah Group) - Called up day before to inform me that they could not deliver on Sat, asked if can do so on Mon. I said ok. Mattress and frame came separately. Mattress delivered by Dunlopillo. Both on time and also in good condition. :D

5. Lighting.com.sg - Good after sales service. Glass frame cracked. Called them and they replaced it 2/3 days later.

6. Universal Union - After installing everything, realise got 2 valves never use and 1 toilet holder that could not fit into a small space. Went back to change the 3 items. Service was good. In fact, very good cos we really remove and change many items quite a few times until both sides confused. Cool and calm saleslady. :D

:sport-smiley-004:

wow congrats on your move. Look forward to seeing more of yr nicely done home when you settle in, ok?

So in the end you got the mover to move everything? Can share how much is yr cost of moving? and piano? I also need a mover for that.

wow congrats on your move. Look forward to seeing more of yr nicely done home when you settle in, ok?

So in the end you got the mover to move everything? Can share how much is yr cost of moving? and piano? I also need a mover for that.

Tks. Ok. Want to take photos too but a bit odd leh. Kitchen no cabinets. Kitchen sliding glass door cover only 2/3 of entrance cos cabinet partition not in yet.

No. Not everything cos some I move myself, mainly smaller boxes to save moving cost. Cos I spot check on new house, so everytime go there, take some stuff go. Price wise, pm you.

Tks. Ok. Want to take photos too but a bit odd leh. Kitchen no cabinets. Kitchen sliding glass door cover only 2/3 of entrance cos cabinet partition not in yet.

No. Not everything cos some I move myself, mainly smaller boxes to save moving cost. Cos I spot check on new house, so everytime go there, take some stuff go. Price wise, pm you.

hi thanks! Will be waiting patiently for yr px! Have fun!

There are some stuff I think that one should take note of when doing reno.

1. Choosing tiles

When we went to Hafary to choose tiles, the tiles displayed there all look so nice. At first we chose some tiles based on what we saw but luckily we asked for mini samples. Cos when we put the samples under a different lighting, the effect is different. Quite a few times, we realised that the colours we initally chose was not what we wanted. So in the end, we just asked for samples of specific tiles and took them to look under white light before agreeing to the choices.

2. Pipes

I have always dislike the sight of water pipes and my bb gal tends to step on them. So for my new home, to prevent pipes from crossing all sorts of walls, I drew a pipes plan and gave it to my id. I told him how I wanted the pipes to be run and how they should be as hidden as possible. Otherwise, I believe the plumber would just happier run the pipes anywhere and everywhere. Why am I so sure? Cos I requested for an extra water point for my washing area in the service balcony, and I did not have time to explain how to run it. Sure enough, the plumber just ran it across the wall waist level and then drop down to knee level and then plant a tap there. Still an eyesore!

3. Electrical

I also drew up a plan to explain where I want all my lights, switches and plugs, and how the wires to be run. So where possible, wires and casing are hidden from sight.

4. Shower area

I realised that I could request for a bigger shower area when they are making the shower drop. So silly me. So I asked for 900mm instead of 800mm. More space to move around in the shower area.

More later...