mae29

Extreme Makeover @ Pandan Gardens

yeah every family has their own story to tell..neverending...be strong whatever happens and of course i know your son is sick..all the more be strong for him. Not easy to do it. Life is a roller coaster with ups and downs!! Be brave! Ha my own background also like a roller coaster too!!

yeah my layout lo..now living room is open concept..if i erect back the room and build a storeroom, will it affect the qi? hmmm

I guess my youngest son did it on purpose....now the result is out & he is physically fit, under PES B. No more nonsense from him liao...MINDEF sent me the handbook "My Son The NS Man - what parents should know about NS. Prolly he will be enlisted after his May birthday. I am happy that he goes NS early to transform him to a better person, especially his strong character.

Life is not always a bed of roses. If roses also got thorns, can prick you right?

My past 13 years had not been easy too...it is these few years I dare to say I have slightly better life as I have set my goals seeking harmony and fulfilment in my own way....no longer living in the past of guilt for failing to find a partner or felt stressed for not being able to give my youngest son a complete family! He has grown up already....when we divorced, he was only 3 years old then.

Looking forward, my life has just begun after seeking knowledge in Chinese Metaphysics and joining this forum here.

Thank you all brothers and sisters here....you are like my family now :)

My past 13 years had not been easy too...it is these few years I dare to say I have slightly better life as I have set my goals seeking harmony and fulfilment in my own way....no longer living in the past of guilt for failing to find a partner or felt stressed for not being able to give my youngest son a complete family! He has grown up already....when we divorced, he was only 3 years old then.

This excludes the 2 over years wasted in the Court systems....fighting & contesting, and mud smudging at each other :(

Now, you know why I gave up everything in return for my 3 darlings. :)

I guess my youngest son did it on purpose....now the result is out & he is physically fit, under PES B. No more nonsense from him liao...MINDEF sent me the handbook "My Son The NS Man - what parents should know about NS. Prolly he will be enlisted after his May birthday. I am happy that he goes NS early to transform him to a better person, especially his strong character.

Life is not always a bed of roses. If roses also got thorns, can prick you right?

Looking forward, my life has just begun after seeking knowledge in Chinese Metaphysics and joining this forum here.

Thank you all brothers and sisters here....you are like my family now :)

Ya, just look forward to the future instead of the past. i am sure they will appreciate what you have done for them.

i thought already said you are my "sister". hehehe..... support you all the way! :D

wow your taps are so cool....really confusing....for rain showers, definitely hard to save water right???

Aiyah...I took some photos of our rain showers but forgot to post them here today.

May be tomorrow lah.....

Finally got time to upload the balance photographs of the Rain Shower & Shower Mixer:

The Rain Shower in Common bathroom

grq5_eeb_uc4it.jpg

--- was supposed to be installed in my MBR toilet, but cannot mount due to beams obstruction!! Whenever I see this, very 'gek sim' lor...

grq5_04b_uc4it.jpg

...so, this is my 'tiny' rain shower lor...

grq5_1eb_uc4it.jpg

Edited by mae29

Ya, just look forward to the future instead of the past. i am sure they will appreciate what you have done for them.

i thought already said you are my "sister". hehehe..... support you all the way! :D

Sister May_dream1

Ya lor.....always look forward to the future, as tomorrow is always a good start to fresh day with new hopes.

Edited by mae29

The toilet bowl, brand Lucia, an Italian brand. So far, seems alright as NO poos left behind after flushing, unlike the old toilet bowl supplied by HDB contractor where poo stain on the side wall.

Most forumers took the picture of toilet bowl with seat lifted up...but I prefer to put down the lid.

grq5_bce_uc4it.jpg

So far no flies come near to this light in the toilet - may be because of the wooden slabs which emit a kind of scent which can deter them from entering?

grq5_ad3_uc4it.jpg

grq5_fe6_uc4it.jpg

The 2 doors for the toilet...taken inside the toilet

grq5_7d4_uc4it.jpg

I thought his basic salary is considered very attractive for fresh graduates......yet he is not that happy with it as he thought Firm B will pay him higher as a Production Engineer. Moreover, his ex-classmate who is now with Firm B, received 9.8 months variable bonus on top of another 3 months performance incentive bonus, as compared to average 6-8 months VB payout by Firm A.

Nevertheless, he likes the position offered by firm A, Architect, without the need to wear the overall jumpsuit everyday.

He ever thought of joining the Singapore Navy, which pays him much higher starting pay :) Then, he told me that he might go into lecturing at Poly.... It looks like he still can't make up his mind....seems like he is a lost child now!

Infact my second son picked this course (major in Naval Architect & Marine Engineering) due to the demand and higher starting pay when he graduated from Ngee Ann Poly then. This morning, while he was leaving for school, he told me that he might apply for scholarship to get a Master degree... :sport-smiley-004:

Is $$$ is the motivation factor for young generation these days?

It's better to have ambitions than to have none.

Gd that he has self-motivation to "upgrade", and by his own credit (aka applying for a scholarship for his further studies)...

But sometimes, one has to be realistic about things...

a paper qualification is not everything; work experience still matters. :)

9.8 + 3 months = 12.8 months of bonus... that's a lot lor... it's like getting 2 yrs of salary for 1 yr of work...

LOL... maybe it's common outside to have >6 months bonus...

but at my place, the normal is abt 3-4 months bonus only... oh well...

I feel when one is young, better chiong a bit more, i will go for Firm B la... quickly build up my savings base... :P (but not at the expense of health and family lah)...

But if being an Architect is his interest, definitely going for his own passion is more impt; esp so when he's still pretty well paid for doing what he likes to do...

I do agree that lecturing at Polytechnic at such an early age... is... ermmm... premature... it's more like a semi-retirement option... i guess... :P

and i guess they prob want ppl with higher paper qualification (a Master would be a gd start), and maybe a fair amount of work experience and industry practice (i reckon minimally 10 yrs?)

just my thoughts...

money will always be a motivation for most people... until it reaches a certain amt, high enough, to fulfill most of your desires... and laws of diminishing returns kick in... and as always, there will be a trade-off... and it's likely time... and maybe then, having time to do your own things and having a sense of accomplishment (thru completing challenging tasks) and job satisfaction may be valued more, or even being appreciated by others...

Maslow's hierachy of needs?

Gd that he has self-motivation to "upgrade", and by his own credit (aka applying for a scholarship for his further studies)...

......9.8 + 3 months = 12.8 months of bonus... that's a lot lor... it's like getting 2 yrs of salary for 1 yr of work...

But if being an Architect is his interest, definitely going for his own passion is more impt; esp so when he's still pretty well paid for doing what he likes to do...

You write like a Professor lor.... :)

Too many ambitions become a lost child lor....there is always a better choice as he thinks.

That famous shipyard is known for generous VB payout.....both giant shipyards paid good bonus. But he has to work long hours, and half day on Saturday as Production Engineer.

That's why I hasten him to sign with that firm who offered him as Architect, the design core team members. I told him engineers position already flooded the street everywhere! Not easy to get vacancies for naval architect which is what he is good at (he is a mathematician, won many accolates and prizes during his secondary school days, locally and overseas.)

btw, where did you get your rain shower set from? and how much ah? what brand? :P

The brand for the Rain Shower is ONIMI ITALIA, and I paid $400 for it. Retail price stated in the catalogue is over $600+. My ID brought me to Asia Excel at Balestier Road where the sales lady Roslyn gives good discount to his customer. ;)

BaZi Profile - The Warrior

Warriors are agressive & have non-giving up attitude, like to bring chaotic back to order. They like to fight for the powerless. Like to see everything as danger when negative and becomes a burden to them. They are slower to take action because they like to evaluate everything, very cautious people, also reliable, responsible and dutiful.

Warrior does not trust people easily; first doubt you before they trust you, until you are proven trustworthy. Can be quite impulsive though...anything can ignite Me vs You kind of argument.

However, once they are committed, they stick to 101% commitment!

Path of least resistance to success:

Warriors do best in organising resources, see things work through, like executing strategy & implement it in the long run. Hence, warrior should be the CEO, MD or GM of company, offering your service to run the company, as you can re-energise the company.

Edited by mae29

The Rain Shower in Common bathroom

The shower mixer which comes with the Rain Shower:

grq5_d90_uc4it.jpg

grq5_bf9_uc4it.jpg

...and the powerful mixer tap...all comes with hot & cold water

cmoa_118_uc4it.jpg

Shipyard lor....both giants in the Marine industry

haha... i think i know which is Firm B :lol: if i guess correctly la... btw my very good fren used to work in Firm B.... if you have any question regarding shipping line, maybe i can help to ask him? :)

But sometimes, one has to be realistic about things...

a paper qualification is not everything; work experience still matters. :)

9.8 + 3 months = 12.8 months of bonus... that's a lot lor... it's like getting 2 yrs of salary for 1 yr of work...

I feel when one is young, better chiong a bit more, i will go for Firm B la... quickly build up my savings base... :P (but not at the expense of health and family lah)...

I do agree that lecturing at Polytechnic at such an early age... is... ermmm... premature... it's more like a semi-retirement option... i guess... :P

and i guess they prob want ppl with higher paper qualification (a Master would be a gd start), and maybe a fair amount of work experience and industry practice (i reckon minimally 10 yrs?)

just my thoughts...

money will always be a motivation for most people... until it reaches a certain amt, high enough, to fulfill most of your desires... and laws of diminishing returns kick in... and as always, there will be a trade-off... and it's likely time... and maybe then, having time to do your own things and having a sense of accomplishment (thru completing challenging tasks) and job satisfaction may be valued more, or even being appreciated by others...

Maslow's hierachy of needs?

bro, it's true that having some form of ambitions is much better than having no drive in life at all~ :D just btw, have this kind of many months bonus is very common in marine line and maybe banking? but surely not common in other lines :P your 3~4 months bonus is considered very good liao~ :) it's common for many electronic companies to have no bonus nia esp during downturn....

for Poly, now they employ uni grad with no or a few yrs working experience too (i have quite a lot of frens teaching in Poly), but they will still probably prefer one with more industrial experience. In fact, one of my frens quitted from Poly and joined back the "outside world" becos like what you said, she felt that Poly job is probably not one at this stage of life.... shouldn't go to "semi-retirement" so soon~ :lol:

haha... i think i know which is Firm B :lol: if i guess correctly la... btw my very good fren used to work in Firm B.... if you have any question regarding shipping line, maybe i can help to ask him? :)

for Poly, now they employ uni grad with no or a few yrs working experience too (i have quite a lot of frens teaching in Poly), but they will still probably prefer one with more industrial experience. In fact, one of my frens quitted from Poly and joined back the "outside world" becos like what you said, she felt that Poly job is probably not one at this stage of life.... shouldn't go to "semi-retirement" so soon~ :lol:

Thanks, Marshy!

That is exactly what my son told me - Poly recruits uni grad with no working experience too!! I think his plan is to give lecture and at same time, have evening time for his part time Master.

Thanks, Marshy!

That is exactly what my son told me - Poly recruits uni grad with no working experience too!! I think his plan is to give lecture and at same time, have evening time for his part time Master.

somehow, those frens that went into Poly as fresh grads didn't last long. all came out after 2 or 3 yrs back to the industry.

it's those who worked for a few (or many) years then go to Poly that last... hahaha :lol:

his idea of teaching poly and do part time master sounds not bad also. alternatively, he can do full time master and teach part time in uni... graduate faster and can get income at the same time ;)