thirdrockdweller

Project Home

Greetings fellow forumers! It’s great to be finally able to do this. This means after many fruitless hunts, my wife and I eventually found a place that agreed with our sensibilities and price point.

OTP(ed) for a place in Punggol Central in October and we are now eagerly waiting for our first appointment in late January next year. Wow, don’t remember HDB ever taking that long but as we understand it, HDBs are selling like hot cakes nowadays (who buys “Hot” cakes anyway) and has created quite the backlog. Targeted handover date is late March 2010. :o

Guess we’ll have plenty of time to learn from you good folks then. Couple of months to plan, re-plan, shop and pack do seem ideal and may prove helpful in retrospect.

We are giddied with excitement and in awed of the sheer volume of effort required that lies ahead of us as we begin our journey to create our new home. So, let’s get cracking. Bon voyage? Hope so.

Floor Plan

FloorPlan.jpg

Edited by thirdrockdweller

Greetings fellow forumers! It’s great to be finally able to do this. This means after many fruitless hunts, my wife and I eventually found a place that agreed with our sensibilities and price point.

OTP(ed) for a place in Punggol Central in October and we are now eagerly waiting for our first appointment in late January next year. Wow, don’t remember HDB ever taking that long but as we understand it, HDBs are selling like hot cakes nowadays (who buys “Hot” cakes anyway) and has created quite the backlog. Targeted handover date is late March 2010. :o

Guess we’ll have plenty of time to learn from you good folks then. Couple of months to plan, re-plan, shop and pack do seem ideal and may prove helpful in retrospect.

We are giddied with excitement and in awed of the sheer volume of effort required that lies ahead of us as we begin our journey to create our new home. So, let’s get cracking. Bon voyage? Hope so.

Floor Plan

floorplanh.jpg

Welcome...to RT.

Wah...your unit looks big leh...nowadays HDB still have such big unit ah....

March 2010...still long way to go...I suggest you dun buy anything first...especially electrical stuff, furniture etc...

as this things can only get cheaper...come out with your home theme first and gather information on Contractor/ ID...

March is going into the off peak session for reno so no worries of not getting good contractors/IDs

Welcome...to RT.

Wah...your unit looks big leh...nowadays HDB still have such big unit ah....

March 2010...still long way to go...I suggest you dun buy anything first...especially electrical stuff, furniture etc...

as this things can only get cheaper...come out with your home theme first and gather information on Contractor/ ID...

March is going into the off peak session for reno so no worries of not getting good contractors/IDs

Hi dannywmp,

Thanks for the tips. Was given similar advise by a couple of folks. Unfortunately, my wife and I (I think mostly me) are easily distracted by shiny things and have parted ways with some cash for a few items. Our current place is beginning to resemble a mini warehouse. Anyway, we can only hope that the bargains we managed to eke out would eventually prove worthwhile. ;)

Hi dannywmp,

Thanks for the tips. Was given similar advise by a couple of folks. Unfortunately, my wife and I (I think mostly me) are easily distracted by shiny things and have parted ways with some cash for a few items. Our current place is beginning to resemble a mini warehouse. Anyway, we can only hope that the bargains we managed to meek out would eventually prove worthwhile. ;)

actually for big stuff like sofa / dinning table .... U can still park at their warehouse one ....

I think it's good to look ard early .... Don't like the feeling of sale man telling me no stock

actually for big stuff like sofa / dinning table .... U can still park at their warehouse one ....

I think it's good to look ard early .... Don't like the feeling of sale man telling me no stock

My thoughts exactly. Chance upon a dining table we really like but could not make a commitment at that time and when we finally did decide to get it, needless to say, last piece sold and product discontinued. :(

Anyway, we did manage to "CON"vince some nice folks to agree to house our paid stuff for an unusually long time. Hope they don't start charging for storage. ;)

I believe another forumer; amrasenelya shares the same layout as us, albeit mirrored left-right. Been following their odyssey / progress for awhile now. Never get tired of seeing a transformation at work.

Floor Plan

floorplanh.jpg

Hihi thirdrockdweller,

Welcome to RT!

Nice place u got for yourself! This is the type of floorplan which I like.

Gd luck to sourcing for your ID/contractor. :)

Another Punggolite......Welcome ! :)

I believe another forumer; amrasenelya shares the same layout as us, albeit mirrored left-right. Been following their odyssey / progress for awhile now. Never get tired of seeing a transformation at work.

hello thirdrock! :D

yes! we have the exact same layout, just mirrored of each other ;)

which block are u at? we're at 648.. skali we're future neighbours! wah u managed to get a very good price for ur unit leh!

any pics of the place u bought? post pics! :P

hello thirdrock! :D

yes! we have the exact same layout, just mirrored of each other ;)

which block are u at? we're at 648.. skali we're future neighbours! wah u managed to get a very good price for ur unit leh!

any pics of the place u bought? post pics! :P

Hi amrasenelya,

Hey hey, we are @ 652. We're practically neighbours.

Yup, price wise, it was quite a steal. The wife and I've almost given up. Everyone was asking for ridiculously high COVs.

Very fortunate to have found this place. We like the layout. Though bigger bathrooms would be ideal. I see that you are trying to enlarge your bathroom area as well.

So far no pics yet. The seller is extremely busy and hence, no access. Hoping to get in there to take measurements with my ID sometime this coming week.

Will post pics ASAP.

BTW, been loving your updates. Keep them coming. :D

Hi amrasenelya,

Hey hey, we are @ 652. We're practically neighbours.

Yup, price wise, it was quite a steal. The wife and I've almost given up. Everyone was asking for ridiculously high COVs.

Very fortunate to have found this place. We like the layout. Though bigger bathrooms would be ideal. I see that you are trying to enlarge your bathroom area as well.

So far no pics yet. The seller is extremely busy and hence, no access. Hoping to get in there to take measurements with my ID sometime this coming week.

Will post pics ASAP.

BTW, been loving your updates. Keep them coming. :D

yes.. ure very lucky too! i heard from my agent that theres a flat in our plot sold for 50k COV.. :rolleyes: which floor is ur flat on?

ehh no leh, we're not enlarging the bathroom, we're only hacking the wall between mbr and the common room beside it..

ooh, so who have u engaged for your reno? will u be doing major changes to it?

hehe, glad to be of some help! :D

yes.. ure very lucky too! i heard from my agent that theres a flat in our plot sold for 50k COV.. :rolleyes: which floor is ur flat on?

ehh no leh, we're not enlarging the bathroom, we're only hacking the wall between mbr and the common room beside it..

ooh, so who have u engaged for your reno? will u be doing major changes to it?

hehe, glad to be of some help! :D

50k COV? What?! I can only sigh :~

We are on a fairly low floor. An initial factor that was a deal breaker for us but after many viewings of low level units, we warmed up to the idea of being closer to the carpark which may prove convenient when we eventually (or soon, keeping our fingers crossed) have a child. We especially liked those blocks that have direct links to the carparks on the first 3-4 floors. Very convenient.

Our ID is I.D.+A at The Alexcier.

We have a pretty solid grasp on what we are going for thematic wise. Very minimalist approach (aka "save money" approach). Basically, structural renovation. Hacking of walls, re-flooring, re-wiring / LAN cabling / doors. No fabrication of cabinets except the kitchen as we prefer to buy "stand alone" furnitures. As our ID put it, give him a "shell" and he'll return a "shell" to us, albeit a nicer looking shell with prettier floor and paint job :D .

I'll elaborate more on this when the wife and I have worked out the major kinks. We'll leave the refinement to the professionals ;)

50k COV? What?! I can only sigh :~

We are on a fairly low floor. An initial factor that was a deal breaker for us but after many viewings of low level units, we warmed up to the idea of being closer to the carpark which may prove convenient when we eventually (or soon, keeping our fingers crossed) have a child. We especially liked those blocks that have direct links to the carparks on the first 3-4 floors. Very convenient.

Our ID is I.D.+A at The Alexcier.

We have a pretty solid grasp on what we are going for thematic wise. Very minimalist approach (aka "save money" approach). Basically, structural renovation. Hacking of walls, re-flooring, re-wiring / LAN cabling / doors. No fabrication of cabinets except the kitchen as we prefer to buy "stand alone" furnitures. As our ID put it, give him a "shell" and he'll return a "shell" to us, albeit a nicer looking shell with prettier floor and paint job :D .

I'll elaborate more on this when the wife and I have worked out the major kinks. We'll leave the refinement to the professionals ;)

why sigh? u only paid 8k, compared to 50k which is like... *faint*

oh u noe that our blocks there the carpark only accessible by 1st and 4th floor right? true, if u have kids next time, easier for ur wife to push the pram on a straight ramp.. and i think we share the same carpark.. next time might bump into each other! :)

hahah we're also doing reno with money saving and the least cleaning in mind, but we didnt hack floors and change the doors... doing lots of carpentry though..