piggy

Water feature

Went Great World City today and saw Natural Living store besides Molecule and LifeStorey.

I think it is a new shop

I planned to put a wall fountain at my blacony. The problem is the existing wall where i wanna put the wall fountain now is made up of glass blocks that's original from hdb...so people...need your help here. Is it still ok for me to put the wall fountain on that wall???

Edited by lynzi

My balcony has a economical water feature... no pump required coz we only put in a few fishes.. :jawdrop: the fishy also helps prevent mossy breeding as they will eat up the larvae.

We bought the bricks and the dish ourselves.. and my hubby thot of the design and layout for it. :yamseng:

DSC00273.jpg

My balcony has a economical water feature... no pump required coz we only put in a few fishes.. :jawdrop: the fishy also helps prevent mossy breeding as they will eat up the larvae.

We bought the bricks and the dish ourselves.. and my hubby thot of the design and layout for it. :yamseng:

DSC00273.jpg

Cool water feature. Erm.. but don't mind me asking, where did you get the thing on the wall? Made of stone? Heavy? How did you put it up?

think its made of sandstone.. its very heavy!! we bought it back from batam while holidaying there.. its abt sgd 30 per tile.

our ID mounted it on the wall for us leh.. i think he cut a little groove into the wall and mount it using mastbond.. definately cant DIY that. :yamseng:

hi..can chk where did u got ur bricks from? and how? thks!

Those granite bricks available at Far East Flora at Thomson, in the outdoor area between the main shed and the fresh flower shed. Think is ard $8-12 a piece.

Tile shops that specialise in granite tiles also carry them, but I too paiseh ask how much for loose pieces.

Hi all, wish to share my experiences regarding water features.

I shall not say anything on good points regarding water features...most of them are nice looking, fengshui purpose or etc only.

Now I shall contribute some extra consideration factors if you are in the process of it.

Water feature with miniature fiber tank or big pot.

- Water very difficult to replace, especially if you got deco inside(marbles, rocks..etc)

Must keep fish, or at least water must be active flowing to prevent mosquitoes.

- Not suitable to have big fishes. Bigger the fish..more waste from them. Considering the little amount of water..unless you have a big and good filter system.

- If pump is cover under pebbles or stones, make sure water level is alway enough, else pump will spoil.

- Always need to replenish water(cannot lazy)...water evaporate off(You will be surprise how fast it it). Especially those with water feature rocks, dripping, spilling, spitting, or any other effects you can think of.

- You ever keep fish tank before and gave up after some times? Consider it for the water feature as well.

- Most of the times, especially those feature with water flowing/spitting down effects. Water will 99% spills out of the tank itself. Don't believe? Look carefully. Or when you visit all these shops..you can check out too.

- Algae...you can never prevent them from growing inside unless got very healthy filtration system or you put in chlorine water/block to kill them off completely..living things die too.

Why the floors abit moist or wet surrounding the tank. Even at shopping centers.

...blar blar blar...the list goes on.

For me, I totally gives up on having water features. :bangwall:

Well, my experiences are based on myself. May be different for the rest :furious:

Edited by chlow

Hi guys

is there anyway i could buy a table-top fountain less than S$25?

OR

Another alternative is that i will DIY myself but where can i get the materials for less than S$15? :

• water sprout
  • Pipe
  • Water Pump

I think i can do without a biological filter as i am planning to use pebbles & fake plants & no fishes inside the fountain.

Any ideas? Thanks.

Edited by AngelLover

Hi guys

OR

Another alternative is that i will DIY myself but where can i get the materials for less than S$15? :

• water sprout
  • Pipe
  • Water Pump
I think i can do without a biological filter as i am planning to use pebbles & fake plants & no fishes inside the fountain.

Any ideas? Thanks.

Even this will breed mosquitoes and NEA will book you for $200

Hi guys

OR

• water sprout
  • Pipe
  • Water Pump

Any ideas? Thanks.

Cannot buy anything worth your time for less than $15. At least 20 dlrs

Better buy table top model from Carrefour in town

DSCF2933.jpg

Something I built myself at a total cost of about $300.00

Edited by fierydragon

Cannot buy anything worth your time for less than $15. At least 20 dlrs

Better buy table top model from Carrefour in town

DSCF2933.jpg

Something I built myself at a total cost of about $300.00

Hi fierydragon after looking at the picture I want to know where you bought the frog(if not wrong) that is the one spitting water out from the pond...

Appreciate you could guide me how to make my water fountain with a rolling ball....

My present fribreglass tank is 2'x2' in the centre a tall stone sphere 20" tall 6"x6" square and on top a 6" stone ball(where water flow from here). I could like to put a smal crystal ball maybe 2-3" ontop of the 6" stone ball so as to make the crystalball roll...Please help me to DIY this rolling crystal ball...

Thks.