mint

Pls Advice How To Go About Cover Aircon Trunking

Picture486.jpg

hi bro and sisters, please help me see how to go about covering up my aircon trunking.. not very long.. but seems very difficult to cover up.

cos one side is the our bed room door entrance, and behind the right angle at the passage way to the bedroom door, is our sockets and light switch.

Picture247.jpg

any idea?

i dun think mine idea can help but juz to share with you on my wat my previous hseowner for my previous hse did.

our MBR has a false beam, that is where your air-con position is. he build a false beam that protrude out for the whole stretch of the MBR (juz below the ceiling, where your air-con position is) and run the conduit underneath the false beam.

this conduit will serve the MBR air-con, with a hole drill out to living rm air-con and to other rms (this position i hv to check again, forgot how he run to the other rm).

and the conduit he paint the same color as the beam and the wall, and thus from far, you thought its part of the false beam. and also unless you knock on the false beam, you will not be able to identify that its a false beam.

for your situation, i think you really hv to :bangwall::sport-smiley-003: your ID if you really dun like it. But if there are no choice, either you accept it or you deduct your ID $ to redo the air-con and this area. but if holes are drill, it will hv to be plaster back, and from your pic, your hse is 99% ready for move in, so do consider the time that it will delay, additional work & $ incurred, and making good of the after re-work which sometimes will result in a mess if you dun monitor closely.

but your hse gives people the feel of neat, clean, bright and beautiful color you hv chosen for your wall. it brightens up the whole area. and you hv vy nice tiles also... looks like marble... sweee... :thumbs up:

Yaa.. all the sh*tty ID fault. I poured out my woes here about this a few times liao.

This is something which I cannot live with... Sigh.. no choice.. got to move on.

Dishonest lah, our ID never come on that day on the trunking despite agreed to come. We waited from 9am to 11am plus for him. Never come, so we still need to do the trunking right?

I asked him the next day, Sun, why u nvr come?

ID explained : he did not come becoz 'he scared aircon pple call n scold him, since he is the kind if he thinks certain things cant be done, he will say it out, then will kenna scoldings from some aircon guys, and hope we understand him'.

What the crap right? I pay $ for u to be my ID, u dont help me when I meet aircon guys, and u scared of aircon pple scolding u?? or is he simply bo chap since we nvr get aircon from him??

Worse... later on when we complained to his boss, the boss said they will rectify if its his workers fault, and promised to check and revert.

Then nobody called me in the next 2 weeks. I called again to the boss, and he said his ID said he got brief us how to run the trunking (see my blog and u will know more), so not his ID fault.

I told his boss: How can that be counted? The brief was the first time when the boss (u) intro his ID at our home and we sort of mention the aircon positioning only. How can that be counted? Then in the first place, better dont commit that u can attend the Sat session. If not free, say no free, then we can ask the boss to come after all its the boss that intro this ID to us.

Boss: But my ID say he got go down and see the aircon pple there that day.

Wah lao.. nvr come still say got come??:sport-smiley-003: (I wan to faint) Not sure I hear wrongly or what..

That Sat, ID never come at all, cos we are there from 9am to 11am, after which we left to eat lunch, buy lunch for workers, come back at 1am, and received ID call that someone complained to HDB.

ID called my hubby at around 1am said HDB received a complaint that we are doing noisy works on Sat. And our ID said we must stop all renov otherwise HDB will fine them $3K. He said HDB called him earlier at about 11 or 12noon plus, and he delayed until now then call us.

Bo pian lor, got to stop works..no choice.. All B*st sales person also nvr tell me Sat cant do noisy works, my ID also know but never remind me. Also my fault that I overlooked that Sat cant do noisy works. Super sian that day.

Then I confront the ID later on and asked him again at another meeting "Why that day u nvr come?" Then a different excuse again - He said, Aiyah.. Ii wan to come already but HDB called me at about 11 plus.. since HDB call means cannot do work, so no need to come liao, right??

DISHONesssssssssssssssssssssstt ID!:thumbs up: And the boss also nvr revert to say how will solve this problem.

Probably too busy chasing after new clients...

Maybe I shld give the beneift of the doubt to the boss - maybe its my ID trying to spin a tale, pull some wool to cover up his unattendance that day.

Edited by mint

Think the big problem is not on the trunking.

Right below your air con, you gonna put your TV display right

Never a good idea to place air con below any electrical stuff.

Sometimes condense water leaks & your elect stuff go kaput.

Best place for aircon position is mostly above any door

erm, not really. actually, the air-con guy will have to look at your individual rms that need air-con, and the best position to mount it.

they hv to know the air-con throw, ie how the distance of the cool air from air-con unit can throw to, and the area that hv to be air-coned.

eg. if its a big square rm, it ideally be central of the rm at either side of the wall and also depending on the shortest pipe routing coz the longer the piping runs, the less cold the end of the rm will feel the cool air from air-con due to pressure losses, air flow, heat load, leakages etc.

if its a long type of living rm, either select a bigger btu air-con installed at mid length of rm, or hv 2 unit of smaller btu air-con install at different corner of the rm and also hv to study the pipe routing.

if its a small rm, of coz its ok to place above door. and all air-con unit hv to avoid places like, eg. near to window as heat load will be high and poor air-con unit will keep sensing not cold enough and keep on trying to cool down the place and thus = higher electricity bills.

or near cooking area as smoke or oil generated from cooking will get suck into the air-con unit and in days to come, it breaks down easily.

i think your air-con guy had position your air-con at the best position. they are the specialist and they are able to do it. in fact, did you ask your air-con guy how to best run the conduit so that it will not be so visible? some of these guys can advise you coz they do many already and hv seen many different installation, so they may able to tell you how to best run the conduit.

some i saw is that they run in a way that it looks like you hv done a conice on top.

I think you're sweating yourself unnecessarily over this.

hi bro and sisters, please help me see how to go about covering up my aircon trunking.. not very long.. but seems very difficult to cover up.

cos one side is the our bed room door entrance, and behind the right angle at the passage way to the bedroom door, is our sockets and light switch.

any idea?