gohkm

Chinese Calligraphy

Hi good people,

I am looking for chinese calligraphy.......that day i went vivocity, saw them having a chinese exhibition......but the chinese calligraphy they quoted me really too high......Just want me to see anyone knows any Chinese calligrahy master who writes and dont charge so high?

Rgds,

James

Hi good people,

I am looking for chinese calligraphy.......that day i went vivocity, saw them having a chinese exhibition......but the chinese calligraphy they quoted me really too high......Just want me to see anyone knows any Chinese calligrahy master who writes and dont charge so high?

Rgds,

James

What is your definition of don't charge so high? The range?

that guy quote me $300 for writing 4 big words............is that high in yr opinion?

thats the market rate written by singaporean.

there is a shop at chinatown.

after exiting from mrt station into the main attraction area(tons of souvenir shops)...

walk straight to the first T-junction, shop is on the left with china ah pek writing(sometimes carving) outside the shop. They charging me just $60 for a Dui Lian(2 pieces with a total of 14 characters).

sorry i dont have the exact address.

thats the market rate written by singaporean.
there is a shop at chinatown.

after exiting from mrt station into the main attraction area(tons of souvenir shops)...

walk straight to the first T-junction, shop is on the left with china ah pek writing(sometimes carving) outside the shop. They charging me just $60 for a Dui Lian(2 pieces with a total of 14 characters).

sorry i dont have the exact address.

It really depends on the Calligrapher's stamp...

Maybe you can call the Calligraphy Society along Waterloo Street and see if one of the teachers are will to help write for you.

i think it really depends on whether u know how to appreciate Chinese Calligraphy. (i.e. no drawing, just Chinese words)

There are five types of more popular strokes/ scripts,

e.g. Zhuan , Li, Kai, Xing, Cao

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Calligraphy

I would think it is better to be able to appreciate one

of the script, and know why it is considered pretty/ well written

before plunging the money down lor.

Cuz, sometimes, i went to exhibition and saw some people

selling calligraphy pieces, some are really bian jiak.

If u buy some piece already and think they are nice, but when

your guests came (and know how to appreciate), can be quite

pai say lor.

Sometimes, during Chinese new year, or some Chinese festivals,

there are calligraphy competition, some of the winning entries

by students are quite good. But most wrote in Kaishu only.

Can be quite boring for your home, depends on theme, and

also what u wanna write lah....

If get from China or Taiwan (museum), maybe more possibility.

Btw, in China , also need to know who/where to find.

Hangzhou is quite ok. But best if you get people who knows,

and recommend.

These are art pieces, n depend also on whether u know enough Chinese

to carry such weight. I.e. explain style/content or critique... maybe....

my 2cents.

wah expert sia!!

thanks for the info

alternatively if u r a fan of chinese paintings or stichwork, can see too cos thats what i am doing

theres a place at hong lim seling these stuff but its double the px that i bought in Shanghai

Hi good people,

Rgds,

James

Feel free to take at look here

http://sg.88db.com/sg/Services/Post_Detail.../?PostID=285270