big orange

Bedok Central

Big Orange: I am not so worried about the wooden door being waterproof etc. Coz I believe they should be able to withstand the moisture, otherwise, why would HDB have that in the first place? There must be some reason why wooden doors are built in toilets.

yokoyoko: So from what you're saying ... if it's just the 2 of us, we might be better off with instant heaters, eh? Again, I don't quite believe the water vs wood theory. Plus the bathroom has windows to ventilate off the water moisture. Maybe becoz I'm quite particular. I like to be consistent. I find it weird to have a whole house of wooden doors and then all of a sudden, a door made of acryllic. I really detest those plastic type of bi-fold doors or PD doors. Coz I've been using them for years and I really think they are not very reliable.

frederick_chia: Thanks for the tip on the woodgrain PD door, think that might be a good idea. Question is ... do they come with aluminium framing?

Yes...it's just the design of wood grain but in aluminium frame....however, currently it is out of stock.

yokoyoko & frederick_chia: Thanks for the tips!

Guys, is there an NTUC near where we live huh? I know there's Sheng Siong and Shop N Save. Just wondering where's NTUC. Still a bit not used to the Sheng Siong concept. It's a bit like a wet market that's air-conditioned. :P

yokoyoko & frederick_chia: Thanks for the tips!

Guys, is there an NTUC near where we live huh? I know there's Sheng Siong and Shop N Save. Just wondering where's NTUC. Still a bit not used to the Sheng Siong concept. It's a bit like a wet market that's air-conditioned. :P

gt.. sheng siong is blk 209.. shop n save is 215.. ntuc is at 212.. is at the centre of the bedok central.. where on top gt sell 4d/toto..haha

Actually, the shop and save 2nd floor got sell 4d/toto. but only on weekdays, not weekends... so for those who buy hope (like me), do take note...

In term of cost saving, instant heater is more power saving.

As for the PD door, it actually up to your design concept. As for wooden material in bathroom? mm.. i prefer something which is waterproof. My idea is keep the common toilet door and change MBR to bi-fold/PD .

Roughly i have some ideas on how to do and what to do for my reno. But i need a good master to orchestrate the whole process. I dun be doing anything or much for my 2 common rooms.

The basic configuration of my proposed design will be

1. Homo tiles (whole) or living room (homo) + bedroom (AC5 laminate) w/ wood skirting

2. Air con (sys 3 or sys 4)

3. Curtain for whole house.

4. *optional* window grills.

5. BR3 will be fully white light.

6. switch will be change to lengard (colored) or eslicp (the blue LED).

7. minimum trunking

8. cozy color in living room (matching for all rooms)

Living room & dinning area

1. one long false ceiling (with minimum light points)

2. 2 side of cove light.

3. TV console & feature wall (black mirror) at short wall.

4. clear mirror behind sofa

5. chandelier light at dinning area

6. Dinning area wall is whole pc of black mirror.

7. Shoe cabinet with *optional*top cupboard to put (ladies accessories, watch, tie, cuff link)

Kitchen & service yard

1. 2 sides kitchen cabinet w/ soft close system.

2. service yard window

MBR & Master bathroom

1. Built in wardrobe

2. chandelier light

3. Change bi fold/PD door for bathroom

4. Shower-screen (glass door)

5. Granite Vanity top with new basin + tap + mirror

6. Simple accessories

Common Bathroom

1. shower-screen curtain. -> prepare for kids, because they might need more space to move.

2. Install water heater storage.

3. mirror

BR2 - Guest Room

1. Leave it empty 1st.

2. should be buying bed frame and wardrobe

BR3 - Multi propose Room

1. Will hang my wife punching bag (not me hor!)

2. A comfort relax chair (something like lazyboy) or those empress sit one lah. So can surf my net and do my research.

3. maybe buy a nice console to put mini sound system (should be an onyko)

4. A study table/chair

HHS

*optional* tempted to do warehousing racking system.

Actually do very little, but it a bit too detail on all things. Looking forward for the new challenge!!! YIPPE! :sport-smiley-003:

Hi, hope viewing my 5 rm flat helped in your planning for reno.. btw my contractor is Sun Design - look for Derrick Chau. 93864498 .

Edited by dogslover

Early bird... u gt a lot of mirror at yr liviing rm.. :).. btw if u go for a full height or big mirror.. might need to cut cos our lift too small... i kena liao.. :(

Thanks yokoyoko!

NP.. :)

Early bird... u gt a lot of mirror at yr liviing rm.. :).. btw if u go for a full height or big mirror.. might need to cut cos our lift too small... i kena liao.. :(

NP.. :)

ask them walk staircase lo.. kidding.. i also dun know. What the bigest dimension huh?

Edited by big orange

ask them walk staircase lo.. kidding.. i also dun know. What the bigest dimension huh?

CAn walk stair.. but more exp.. i think the biggest dimension is 3 plus feet by 7 feet.. if i not wrong..

Our dining wall is about 8.5 feet by 8.5 feet. If by stairs, it will have to be split into 3 pieces. If by lift, it will have to be split into 6 pieces. I chose going by stairs & I was quoted abt $1K for a black mirror from a mirror supplier by stairs.

:sport-smiley-003:

Our dining wall is about 8.5 feet by 8.5 feet. If by stairs, it will have to be split into 3 pieces. If by lift, it will have to be split into 6 pieces. I chose going by stairs & I was quoted abt $1K for a black mirror from a mirror supplier by stairs.

is it? cos i did a kitchen door(sliding glass) is abt 3 feet by 7 feet.. neber cut.. but my kitchen 1 is cut into half cos is 4 by 8 feet(my id said need to cut cos slight bigger cannot fit into our lift :().. and is done by using lift.. so in this case.. by lift don need to cut so mani pieces ba.. maybe need for proportion reason.. :dunno:

Any one done big piece mirror? any views?

Edited by yokoyoko

is it? cos i did a kitchen door(sliding glass) is abt 3 feet by 7 feet.. neber cut.. but my kitchen 1 is cut into half cos is 4 by 8 feet(my id said need to cut cos slight bigger cannot fit into our lift :().. and is done by using lift.. so in this case.. by lift don need to cut so mani pieces ba.. maybe need for proportion reason.. :dunno:

Any one done big piece mirror? any views?

Yokoyoko,

Correct mah...you see, your glass door is 3 feet by 7 feet, the dining wall is 8.5 feet by 8.5 feet. 8.5 feet = 3 feet + 3 feet + 2.5 feet for the width. As for the height of 8.5 feet, cannot go into lift. The lift height is slightly more than 7 feet only. As such, each piece if you go by the lift will be 3 feet by 3 feet or 3 feet by 4.5 feet. If go by stairs, it can be 3 feet by 8.5 feet.

Yokoyoko,

Correct mah...you see, your glass door is 3 feet by 7 feet, the dining wall is 8.5 feet by 8.5 feet. 8.5 feet = 3 feet + 3 feet + 2.5 feet for the width. As for the height of 8.5 feet, cannot go into lift. The lift height is slightly more than 7 feet only. As such, each piece if you go by the lift will be 3 feet by 3 feet or 3 feet by 4.5 feet. If go by stairs, it can be 3 feet by 8.5 feet.

hehe.. like that den correct lo.. Full length mirror shld be cool.. btw yr tiles selected? black shiny 1?

Thanks for sharing, mind to give me the contact by pm? Thanks