raayn

Aircon First Or Reno First?

hi all!

me and future hubbster had quite a heated debate yesterday.

i wanna install aircon after reno, he say before.

which is true?

my logic, install after is easier mah..

he say must install before becos of the wiring blah blah..

i am confused and need to get the correct answer as come to think of it, if i get the facts den i can consider my choices...

definitely install before

coz installation of air-con involves drilling of big big holes

then got to paint the trunking same colour as the walls or even go for box up to cover

and hor, trunking cannot anyhow run coz of many restrictions

can you imagine running the trunking through your newly built wardrobe coz that's the only way? :bangwall: :bangwall: :bangwall:

definitely install before

coz installation of air-con involves drilling of big big holes

then got to paint the trunking same colour as the walls or even go for box up to cover

and hor, trunking cannot anyhow run coz of many restrictions

can you imagine running the trunking through your newly built wardrobe coz that's the only way? :bangwall: :bangwall: :bangwall:

waa applefreak, thanks for the fast reply ley!!!

issit so much work to be done ah? aiya, means im wrong..die..must apologise oredi haha..

cos both insisted on their own way yday..

thanks again!!

and issit the ID/contractor will tell us where to put the aircon or we direct?

Ya.. water flow by gravity, and need to be shortest distance to floortrap.

Aircon installation calls the shots. Need to do first.

Me 2cts: My thinking is if you want to hide and conceal the trunking, better to do together with the renovation works. If they be installed after, the trunking will not be coordinated and might run all over the place. I notice a plastic cover is used to cover up the air-conditioners during renovation works (which means that they are installed "before" and not "after"). Someone mentioned in this forum to come after painting of house.

hmmm..

so the flow is;

1.paint first

2. flooring

3. aircon

4. other reno?

or no nid flooring first?

wiring and cabling come in where den? :unsure:

if i do, it'll be

1. air-con

2. flooring

3. painting (1st coat)

4. carpentry

5. painting (2nd coat and final touch up)

basically anything that requires hacking should be done first

the least 'dirty' ones should be last

can you imagine all the cement stains (flooring) on your newly painted walls? :bangwall:

aircon first as my id says i need to run the water pipe thingy under the tiles....(dunno what they call it)...so i have to decide on my choice of aircon by tonight...

if i do, it'll be

1. air-con

2. flooring

3. painting (1st coat)

4. carpentry

5. painting (2nd coat and final touch up)

basically anything that requires hacking should be done first

the least 'dirty' ones should be last

can you imagine all the cement stains (flooring) on your newly painted walls? :bangwall:

hmmm so applefreak,

the ID will cover the aircon when reno part comes in?

what is trucking btw, sorry to sound so stupid but i si bey very blur in this 'cheem' talk ley..

aircon first as my id says i need to run the water pipe thingy under the tiles....(dunno what they call it)...so i have to decide on my choice of aircon by tonight...

hi jeddie!

good luck to your choice and update which u chosen ok?

cos me still thinking do i wan to aircon only MBR and living room or whole hse. :notti:

hmmm so applefreak,

the ID will cover the aircon when reno part comes in?

what is trucking btw, sorry to sound so stupid but i si bey very blur in this 'cheem' talk ley..

that will depend on your ID

or you can just ask the installer to NOT remove the plastic cover of the fancoils :deal:

trunking is basically the plastic box that the cable/pipe reside in

see the plastic thing on the wall, with the pipe sticking out?

IMG_1705.jpg

that will depend on your ID

or you can just ask the installer to NOT remove the plastic cover of the fancoils :deal:

trunking is basically the plastic box that the cable/pipe reside in

see the plastic thing on the wall, with the pipe sticking out?

IMG_1705.jpg

applefreak,

now i understand liao..

can ask, i like your bathroom door very much..

its called bi-fold door rite?

how much n wher you get yours?

hehehe it's hdb original

think you can get these from any contractors

or maybe even from people who are changing their bathroom doors :notti: :notti:

So I c.... must install aircon first before the renovation.... I didnt know that at all....

BTW, just asking, what if the contractors decide to enjoy the aircon? since its there....

I dun mind them using lar... but 24/7 then my electricity bills will kill me....

Also, I went to an ID, he says painting is only done after all renovation is done... no two times de... normal?

that's why sometimes it's very important to have a tacit understanding with your contractor

they can take small advantages, but don't go overboard

actually you can get the air-con people to come down twice

once to install the compressor and run the trunking

second time to install the fancoil

this way they won't be able to use the air con and there'll be minimal hassle liao

installation of fancoil usually is just before the last painting work

my contractor painted twice for me

once before any carpentry is up, and second time when everything is done

it'll take some time for the first coat to dry anyway, unless they only paint one coat loh :dunno:

wow... great idea... will do just that...

Actually, the reason is that the person doing painting for us will be my hubby's relative.... so its abit difficult to tell him that I want two coats