boonkhim

Is My Quotation Expensive?

This is a quote from an ID for a 4rm flat - abt 1200sqft

1. Hack wall and floor tiles for kitchen/dining, 2 toilets, dismantle toilet doors, remove existing kitchen base, cabinets, sinks, remove existing wall in kitchen, remove existing wc basin,etc,

$3880

2. Homogeneous wall tiles for approx 630sqft (based on material cost of $3psf)- $5500

3.Ceramic floor tiles + waterproofing ($3 psf for 300+ sqft) - $2980

4. Hollow block wall - $1080

5. Level dry kitchen and living room - $500

6. Design ceiling for 380sqft - $1880

7. Plumbing - $2660 (new hot/cold copper piping, etc)

8. Painting - $1680

9. Haulage - $500

10. Cleaning + floor protection - $560

11. 2 Glass shower screens for bath - $900

12. Polish marble floor - $1500

Carpentry

13. Kitchen cabinets + island (approx 5m length top and bottom) - $6880

14. Solid surface top - $1980

15. Sliding door between kitchen and living (1.8m length) - $1780

16. Built-in wardrobe (5.1m lenght) - $4590

17. Bedroom doors (4) - $2680

Total Renovation Work - $24, 570

Total Carpentry - $17, 910

Grand total - $42,480

Is this considered high or reasonable for the amount of hacking and carpentry work?

1. Hack wall and floor tiles for kitchen/dining, 2 toilets, dismantle toilet doors, remove existing kitchen base, cabinets, sinks, remove existing wall in kitchen, remove existing wc basin,etc,

$3880

2. Homogeneous wall tiles for approx 630sqft (based on material cost of $3psf)- $5500

8. Painting - $1680

9. Haulage - $500

Carpentry

Grand total - $42,480

Is this considered high or reasonable for the amount of hacking and carpentry work?

pretty ex. i m hacking much more stuffs than u n only cost ard 2500bucks. how big is this hollow block wall u r building? mine 1m full height is abt 300bucks -_-" painting wise, nippon can do it for 1.2k? n usually cleaning + flooring protection can be foc.

carpentary work is worse. let's tok abt kitchen cabinet alone - 5m top + btm makes out to be abt 33ft in total. charges is abt 200+ per ft? mine cost less than 120 per ft run. but of cos i dunno how big of this 33ft goes to ur island. island per ft run is more ex, becos of more laminate used. mine cost ard 180 per ft run.

ur bedroom doors are oso pretty ex. my advise will be to get a few more quotes. i m doing much more stuffs than u, but quote is only ard 46k :(

btw, it looks like there are alot of hidden cost. who's going to install ur wash basin, wc, sink, hob+hood, electrical work? building of cabinet bases, etc.

Edited by mwerkz

looks ex to me...My polishing of marble floor (dining+living) is less than $1000/-.

painting of whole house - ceiling/walls - S$1200.

For kitchen cabinents, try Classic Kitchens...they are very good at kitchens. Initial quote may seems expensive but they reduce the quote after actual measurements.

looks ex to me...My polishing of marble floor (dining+living) is less than $1000/-.

painting of whole house - ceiling/walls - S$1200.

For kitchen cabinents, try Classic Kitchens...they are very good at kitchens. Initial quote may seems expensive but they reduce the quote after actual measurements.

Your Built-in wardrobe is $4k++ super expensive... same too to your kitchen cabinet.... get more quotes to compare and u will see the difference/.

$3880

8. Painting - $1680

9. Haulage - $500

Carpentry

Grand total - $42,480

I think your quotation is too expensive liao, especially carpentry works. Plumbing and painting are also very expensive.

Also, there're a lot of small items that I think you can ask your ID/contractor to do it for free. Since you have to pay for every small thing, i'm afraid there's hidden cost as well.

Hmmm ... my painting is only $1000. Can choose any paint. So we chose Nippon easywash and 3-in-1 medifresh. For other IDs/contractors we met before, they always asked for top-up if we want Nippon, especially easywash and medifresh. Don't know why. 8|

Hi boonkhim,

I believe by now, u should know whether your main contractor is doing well in his task. As a end-user like us, we are surely unable to get any dealer price from carpenters, plumber and etc.

Hence, whatever retail price your main contractor offered you is his earning rather than pocketing extra $$$ on top of the standard price as fellow netizens had mentioned.

Do read around articles from this forum. I like this place, its pretty resourceful ya. :) Hope you have a great renovation ahead.

hi boonkhim

your hacking cost is too expensive...but haulage unusually low. not sure why

carpentry not detail enuff like the furnishing...blum, hydraulic cabinet damper? gloss finishing?

what is hollow block wall?

hi boonkhim

your hacking cost is too expensive...but haulage unusually low. not sure why

carpentry not detail enuff like the furnishing...blum, hydraulic cabinet damper? gloss finishing?

what is hollow block wall?

hi boonkhim, its very ex.. i jus gt my quote from some sources as I have not decided on which to sign up with. (cant find the right one with the right budget, only right ones with wrong budget)

the customised, built in wardrobe for 4k+ is too ex.. i only gt quoted for 1.5k - 1.9k....

very ex for most of the items in ur quote, considering mine is the latest quote...

pretty ex. i m hacking much more stuffs than u n only cost ard 2500bucks. how big is this hollow block wall u r building? mine 1m full height is abt 300bucks -_-" painting wise, nippon can do it for 1.2k? n usually cleaning + flooring protection can be foc.

carpentary work is worse. let's tok abt kitchen cabinet alone - 5m top + btm makes out to be abt 33ft in total. charges is abt 200+ per ft? mine cost less than 120 per ft run. but of cos i dunno how big of this 33ft goes to ur island. island per ft run is more ex, becos of more laminate used. mine cost ard 180 per ft run.

ur bedroom doors are oso pretty ex. my advise will be to get a few more quotes. i m doing much more stuffs than u, but quote is only ard 46k :(

btw, it looks like there are alot of hidden cost. who's going to install ur wash basin, wc, sink, hob+hood, electrical work? building of cabinet bases, etc.

I think it is expensive too.. $43k for 4rm essential renovation... look for a few more quotes lah..