Misc100

I Think It Is Always Safer To Go To Famous Travel Agencies

Travel agency's sudden closure leaves customers in a lurch

By Liang Kaixin, Channel NewsAsia | Posted: 02 September 2008 2249 hrs

SINGAPORE: More customers of a travel agency have come forward on Tuesday after learning that it is under investigation for cheating its customers. Ten people told Channel NewsAsia that they fear they have been cheated.

Customers had turned up at Fly International Travel, located at People's Park Shopping Centre, only to find that the company had abruptly closed on Monday.

Some said airline companies are not accepting their air tickets, on grounds that they are fake.

Besides ticketing and visas, the agency also provides work permit application services.

One customer said she had put down a S$3,000 deposit with the agency and is now worried that she would not be able to get it back.

Some customers have made police reports and intend to file cases at the Small Claims Tribunal.

The owner of the travel agency, who is from Shannxi, China, cannot be reached.

- CNA/so

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/sin.../373355/1/.html

nah, **** happens with the big agencies too.

best is DIY..

big ones dun happen so often

yaya.. totally agree..

book directly from airlines.. confirm safe and somemore can save handling fees from third party..

book directly from airlines much more expensive rite?

it depends.. sometime will have pretty good deals like those 2 to go airfares.. alternatively can try via zuji or pricebreakers..

nah, **** happens with the big agencies too.

best is DIY..

Totally agree. I have never join or book for any tour from any travel agencies when I go for holiday. Everything is DIY, from booking of air tickets directly with airline to hotel rooms via internet or phone call. Why go through 3rd party when you can go direct anyway :dunno:

I usually go to Chan Brothers, at least I know they are the least most likely to go bankrupt, among all the agencies in Sgp.

there was this big one at Suntec..Ken-Air? it went bust too..

and i believe there have been many complains about big agencies in the papers too..

at least if u DIY urself, if stuff goes wrong you can only blame yourself haha

yaya.. totally agree..

book directly from airlines.. confirm safe and somemore can save handling fees from third party..

ya.. if the saving is not much different.

I would rather book direct.

The owner of the travel agency, who is from Shannxi, China, cannot be reached.

run away liao

The company name itself already very funny

FLY international

Fly liao lor