xmac2006

Resale Unit, Canberra Road

applefreak: I always thought my cat had unique markings. It's nice to hear that she might have family out there as well! Will let her know... ;)

pinkpetter: we went warm with the kitchen colour scheme because with everything so modern-looking, we needed a natural tone to soften an otherwise cold, hard-edged design. The light chocolatey-hazelnut was a good complement to the dark laminate flooring just outside in the dining room.

jessie and rdnest: we ourselves were very impressed with the preliminary 3D drawings! But because the design is so polished, we're a little afraid that we'll have to change our sloppy habits and pay more attention to housework so that we can continue to deserve living in a house like this! hehe!

As for the progress of today, ladies and gentlemen... we have a floor! Previously in garish pink granite, now in a soothing wenge laminate:

2437883880063074167S425x425Q85.jpg

And even the raised platform in the MBR is finally covered. We're almost ready for naptime!

2866513020063074167S425x425Q85.jpg

It really helps when the dog looks like this:

2134437193_c1b8a4a8aa_m.jpg

And the cat looks like this:

2122218783_46d2fb60f8_m.jpg

And the other two have each other to play with:

2270639401_8d384b6ec9_m.jpg

So peaceful coexistence is actually quite possible.

Best thing about them is that they're all quite independent and don't require a lot of personal attention from us. In exchange for free room and board, we can pick them up anytime we like and use them as pet therapy to relieve stress. ;)

oh my goodness .. your darlings are all so lovely ... =)

congrats for your reno process .. more pics pls ~

Edited by ranval9

Your kitty and doggy are so cute!!!

The 3D drawings for your living and study are stunning! I was never a big fan of brown but I like the way your colour combi works for you. :thumbs up:

WAHHHHHHHHH I love the MBR! with that divider there there is extra privacy!

pinkpetter: I think you'll be thrilled to see the divider already going up in the MBR. With it and the raised platform, we discovered the space could not accommodate our current queen bed. So we sold the bed and got ourselves a futon instead. Here's the divider under construction:

2330607020063074167S425x425Q85.jpg

Meanwhile, in the guest room, we have replaced the old wardrobe doors (left) with a new set of doors that are more flush against the wall:

2910305140063074167S425x425Q85.jpg

And a couple of views of the kitchen carpentry, with cabinets and work surface:

2182057640063074167S425x425Q85.jpg

2825023020063074167S425x425Q85.jpg

Oh, and mmycheng: I never expected to live with so much brown either -- even the curtains we chose today were shades of brown -- but it is cosy and comfortable. Thanks!

like your grills and gate....

i don like dark colour one

yours is perfect to me.. haaaa

your dog dog cat cat are cuteeeeeeeeeeee

oh ya

when thunder rain hor....

your pets got place to hide? =)

i realised my MIL de old cat... every tiime before the stomp, will hide in one corner, or under bed de...

Haha...my dog will start barking at lightning and thunder...he can't stand then... he siao one lah!

Brown can be uite a nice colour when mixed and matched properly... can give a resort-like feel. Hehe :notti:

Oh yeah, may I ask where you bought your curtains from and how much for the stuff you're getting?

what is a futon?
pinkpetter: A futon is a mattress that is placed directly on the floor without a bedframe. A Japanese mattress, basically. Although, we're not so fancy... we're just going to put our Seahorse mattress on the floor and be happy with that!

when thunder rain hor....

your pets got place to hide? =)

i realised my MIL de old cat... every tiime before the stomp, will hide in one corner, or under bed de...

My cats aren't afraid of thunder. Maybe because they can keep each other company. But yeah, dog gets a bit freaked out and will want to jump into bed with us. Hmmm... problem...

Haha...my dog will start barking at lightning and thunder...he can't stand then... he siao one lah!

Brown can be uite a nice colour when mixed and matched properly... can give a resort-like feel. Hehe :notti:

Oh yeah, may I ask where you bought your curtains from and how much for the stuff you're getting?

mmycheng: Yup, been on enough vacations to appreciate a modern resort design. Um, curtains our ID introduced to us. An elderly gentleman called, Mr Tay. Curtains for living room, study and two bedrooms, and one Roman blind for MBR side window, he quoted below 1.4k.

nice carpentry stuff

so nice to have space in your room for the divider

mine is only big enough for a bed and a built in wardrobe and nothing else :(

applefreak: it's going to be a tight squeeze for us too in the MBR. Everything fits... just barely!

And a couple of pix before the long Diwali weekend focusing on the study, which is only now getting some attention:

The bookshelf which I promise to keep neat: *crosses fingers and toes

2844112120063074167S425x425Q85.jpg

And a low cabinet by the window, just nice for a spot of casual reading, or to catch a pleasant sunset view:

2299247900063074167S425x425Q85.jpg

The kitchen workspace is also getting some skin over its skeleton:

2513597190063074167S425x425Q85.jpg

To all our Hindu friends and homeowners, happy Diwali! :yamseng:

Ahhhh got it. I think a futon would fit in the design more anyways. I like that low shelf under the window thing. will want to do that for my room also hehe

Due to some quirk in the buying and selling of our place, today's essentially moving day even though our reno's not quite done. Final cleanup and wash by the ID is scheduled for Friday, but we're already moving the majority of our worldly possessions in already. Our current place will be taken over first thing Thursday morning, so we'll be sort of homeless for about 24 hours. Don't worry, I'm sure we'll find a comfortable park bench to settle on for the night and we'll do our very best to keep a lookout for the park rangers!

Oh well, here's the progress so far:

The study is looking quite like a formal office. If I'm not careful, the wife will kick me out of here and start a proper business of her own:

2467215190063074167S425x425Q85.jpg

At least I'll still have my books:

2500943190063074167S425x425Q85.jpg

The store room door's suddenly disappeared behind this wall:

2409408960063074167S425x425Q85.jpg

Suddenly, I have the inexplicable urge to watch "The Fast and The Furious":

2635469070063074167S425x425Q85.jpg

Or maybe I'll just settle for a sunset view out the window:

2752656450063074167S425x425Q85.jpg

Edited by xmac2006

WOW you're right! The store room's door is gone!!! WHOA that's a great design!
And turning our attention back to the design of the MBR, the divider gets its special touch:

2756372010063074167S425x425Q85.jpg

And from the other side:

2683294220063074167S425x425Q85.jpg

We are so close to moving in...! :dribble: