Shanshine

Living Room Balcony

Hi everyone,

HDB does not allow me to enclose my balcony by building windows on top of the existing balcony grills. Does anyone have any idea how else can I block the rain from hitting my balcony floor?

I'm thinking of installing blinds at my balcony. Is this idea feasible?

Thanks a lot for helping and sharing!!!

Issit a new regulation that HDB dun allow window to be built on top of the balcony's wall? I saw alot of flats with windows on the balcony, especially if the balcony is facing the sun.

ya i also just install casement windows at my balcony area ..no issue with HDB leh :dunno:

mine also the hdb dun allow me to install window but only grilles.

when rains whole place flooded. my wooden furniture all spoilt.

the only way to block out some rain is to put up venetian blind.

hdb said due to some building structure which is not safe for fire escape.

Edited by myworld

maybe it hinder the rescue process by the firemen....

anyway, cannot build on the balcony wall

den do something to block in front of the balcony grills, and not on top of the grills? will waste some space thou

if still scare the water will flow into the house, do a curb?

like that will approve or not?

Hmmm you sure HDB disallow enclosed of balcony ?

I had just bought a flat with a weird balcony with no roofing.

Not really a fan of a open balcony since rubbish and rain will keep landing on the balcony. Worst is prone of burglary !

So i checked with various IDs and contractors on the possibilty of roofing up the balcony and add windows as well.

Most reply that is possible but subjected to HDB approval. Best is to check out neighbouring blks with same structure and see if any1 do it.

Thats wad i did. Found an owner who did roofing and have a chat with her. She confirmed she got approval from HDB and so i took some pictures to support my claim. Ask my ID to apply for the approval and confirmed HDB will approve of my request.

Picture