quoo

Can I Buy Private Condo If I Own Hdb Flat ?

hi folks,

i would like to find out can i still buy private condo if me & spouse currently co-own hdb which is not fully paid off?

can i stop my CPF payment to the HDB and get my own private condo but i still leave my name inside the hdb ?

hi folks,

i would like to find out can i still buy private condo if me & spouse currently co-own hdb which is not fully paid off? - Yes, you can but not the other way round.

can i stop my CPF payment to the HDB and get my own private condo but i still leave my name inside the hdb ?

- Huh? Stop your CPF payment? Of course not. Then how you pay HDB? Unless you are re-financing your flat, then you can bah.

do note that there is a 5-yr MOP to be fulfilled if your flat was directly from HDB :bleah:

You got money can already.....private property leh....

Cannot stop your cpf withdraw for your hdb since you have noy fully paid unless your spouse cpf is sufficient to cover the monthly payment

Can... provided you have the cash or enuff leverage to loan from the banks.

Can stop your CPF without taking your name out.... provided you or your spouse have other modes of paying HDB lor :)

As long as you have money....

The other way rd then cannot. (eg. got Condo wan to buy HDB)

You got money can already.....private property leh....

Cannot stop your cpf withdraw for your hdb since you have noy fully paid unless your spouse cpf is sufficient to cover the monthly payment

cannot, got money also cannot buy

there is this STUPID rule from HDB

checked with hdb liao

they say if flat is new from hdb, die die must wait for 5 years :bangwall: :bangwall:

i got to wait until 2012 loh :furious: :furious:

not too sure what they will do though

me just worried they'll take back my flat :~ :~

checked with hdb liao

they say if flat is new from hdb, die die must wait for 5 years :bangwall: :bangwall:

thanks for all the reply..my flat has already met 5yr MOP and my spouse can support the loan singlely.so i can stop my cpf payment but still keep my name inside my flat And i buy condo singley ?

Edited by quoo

Do take note that in order to use CPF to buy a 2nd/more property, u need to have the full minimum sum balance in your accounts.

Further there is a maximum CPF draw down limit for housing loans.

I guess alot of people are trying to buy NEW condo to invest and hoping to sell back when times are good, but bared in mind, they are leasehold 99 years.

Those most older one is freehold or leasehold 999 years , more value :P , if I had $$$

freehold (can last many generation)

Edited by kewin

thanks for all the reply..my flat has already met 5yr MOP and my spouse can support the loan singlely.so i can stop my cpf payment but still keep my name inside my flat And i buy condo singley ?

like hubber pointed out

you have already used your cpf to pay for the flat

stopping payment doesn't mean you can use it to pay for a second property

i think it's best to get a black and white from all parties concerned

another thing, i believe the market will continue to soften into the next year

end 2009 might be a better time to start looking :notti:

like hubber pointed out

you have already used your cpf to pay for the flat

stopping payment doesn't mean you can use it to pay for a second property

i think it's best to get a black and white from all parties concerned

another thing, i believe the market will continue to soften into the next year

end 2009 might be a better time to start looking :notti:

ya, we are looking at freehold. but it still amt to ard $2k per mth..dun think i can afford ..very sad :(

Edited by quoo

checked with hdb liao

it's ridiculous. lucky we've only got 3-more months to wait before we fulfill the 5 yr mop.

Need to put aside min of $53000, combined OA and SA before you can use any excess to service the loan.

Do bear in mind that CPF cannot service 2 loans. Either u or your spouse can service the HDB singly.