Prune

Direct From Hdb, So Difficult!

Getting married this year and realised how difficult it is, want to get a flat but most keys are unavilable till 3-4 years laters. Want to get resale, you are paying like 80k more (as compred to selling price of new HDB flat). **** sian. Anyone can share their experience? Not staying with parents because I know sure will quarrel one, so better not. Rent flat a bit stupid because not that we don't have place to stay. Stay far far away difficult to get to work (I want Sengkang or Punggol).

What's your experience of house searching? Do you take very long? I am planning 6 months to look for one at my estate if bo then i extend my search elsewhere.

The market is not going to recover overnight with our billions-dollar budget; it is still going down.

Check out the resale market sometime later this year; I am sure you will be able to find one with a reasonable COV.

Balloted with hdb quarterly sales, gave up after 1yr plus of trying..

Went for resale market,

All the best to you, hope u get ur unit soon.

Edited by rolexboy

What's your experience of house searching? Do you take very long? I am planning 6 months to look for one at my estate if bo then i extend my search elsewhere.

I took less than 3 mths to find one... I came back to Sgp in Oct 07... started house hunting in Nov... saw a unit I liked & signed the OTP in end Dec.

Good luck to your house hunting :)

Thank all for your encouragement, just viewed 2 units at my estate. Location not good, quite stuffy. Agents also not that good either. Anyone got agent specialising in Sengkang to recommend? Ya I think the prices will be coming down, just got to slowly find.

It was never to get a flat from HDB direct. They never seem to realised that many young couple were still single cause they cannot find a flat. BTO can set you back 1-2 yrs before you get a queue number. Then you need to wait about another 3-4 years to get the flat.

So if you graduate at age 26 and waited for 2 years before applying, you will be 26+2+4 = 32 yrs old!

1 yr to have child, 33 yr old become a parent....

So much for promoting child birth...

It was never to get a flat from HDB direct. They never seem to realised that many young couple were still single cause they cannot find a flat. BTO can set you back 1-2 yrs before you get a queue number. Then you need to wait about another 3-4 years to get the flat.

So if you graduate at age 26 and waited for 2 years before applying, you will be 26+2+4 = 32 yrs old!

1 yr to have child, 33 yr old become a parent....

So much for promoting child birth...

Well, you can always rent and stay on. Save money and have a family first. When opportunities comes from HDB, then you move. Young folks these days, worry too much la.

I beg to differ. Renting a place would have several problems:

(1) Pricing

(2) Some owners have rules : No children around unless u rent the whole unit, which defeats the purpose of saving money.

So in the end, it mounts up to... No savings at all...

I have "dontated" alot of $10 to HDB.. unable to get any Q number that is less than 500.. gave up and bought a resale flat that is near my parent's place..

I will be super broke after i reno my own place but at least i dont need to wait for another 3~4 yrs to have a place of my own..

another '$10 donor' here... And had since gave up after 4th try. My HB and i always waited till the established estates balloting to try our luck and you know the balloting was used to be 3 times a year but now... half yearly :~ BTO locations were not ideal as one work in the east and another in the west, so we have to get somewhere central to compromise each other. So after weeks of searching in the resale market, we manage to find an ideal unit.

Try bargain the COV to the lowest, and find a unit which requires minimal or no renovation. Better to owe HDB than owe the bank ;)

heard stories from my frens n colleagues abt how hard it is to get a new flat in spore.. i guess im a lucky gal then.. first time i applied for flat in feb09, and i got queue no of 120, out of 185 units.. i think thats pretty gd considering there's almost 980 applicants fighting for that 185 units.. should be able to get a flat, juz a matter of whether me n bf will like it.. we r quite particular abt the facing of the flat.. nt so much cos of fengshui n stuff, but more cos we would like to avoid the afternoon sun! and there's so limited units in this estate that wont get the afternoon sun! think i will need more luck!!

I'm the unlucky ones too..

"Donated" $10 for 8times and never get any gd Qno. or within the flat supply. In the end, i end up taking resale. Find a flat at a gd level/gd facing/ to ur liking of locations/get flat faster..

To me gd choice. More grant and at this point of time you can look for $0 or lower COV. Put all into reno. or just find 1 which is well reno and pay more cov.

If u r really urgently looking for a flat this will lesser your stress level and anxious in waiting for the result..

for me, tried once n got 1 but waited more than 4 years to get the flat. meanwhile stayed with my parents n save more money.

but now regretted moving so far away. my parents live at farrer park area n we moved to sembawang.

whether it's resales or new, just make sure u dun regret in future.