poulnil

Looking For Lighting Shop

Bought my light from Lighting.com as well, I admire their price is reasonable but there is ready NO quality to talk about, bought 10, spoil 2. Even when the Electrician is trying to fix for us but claim that the parts they even are quite lousy.

oh gosh! 20% spoiled? That is not good. Assuming you paid $100 for 5 items @$20 each, it means you're paying 20% more for the rest 80%. That is more that 50% (if you i/c shipping, etc)for each product! No-lah, cannot tahan, if i were u i would look for on-line suppliers that are more established e.g. Amazon, etc. Of course, depends on luck too, sometimes 'suay' also get lousy product from est players. Like when I ordered a high resolution 27-inch monitor on-line from Dell S'pore not long ago. Good thing was - dell was responsive and promptly exchanged for another.

If I were you I would seriously consider LEDs. Three yrs ago when I renovated my flat I looked for LED lighting. But few retailers dealt in them, the only one was Lightcraft at Jln Sultan. The range of LEDS for consumers (unlike projects) was limited to a few test items to trial the market. Prices then were high. Today prices have come down a fair bit. But still more exp than normal non-leds. The range is also wider now, with higher wattage and brighter illumination (higher luminance per watt).

My LEDs have served me well. No damage/spoilage yet (touch wood!), though I switched them on 24x7 for many weeks at a time. The savings in electricity is significant on an LED per se (but given that i only installed 2 wall LEDs, didn't make any impact on my monthly electricity bill). Now you can even install long LED "tubes" like your normal ceiling fluorescent tube. So why not consider? BTW has anyone installed LEDs? I would like to know how is their experience and view photos of their flat with the LEDs. Pl share.

oh gosh! 20% spoiled? That is not good. Assuming you paid $100 for 5 items @$20 each, it means you're paying 20% more for the rest 80%. That is more that 50% (if you i/c shipping, etc)for each product! No-lah, cannot tahan, if i were u i would look for on-line suppliers that are more established e.g. Amazon, etc. Of course, depends on luck too, sometimes 'suay' also get lousy product from est players. Like when I ordered a high resolution 27-inch monitor on-line from Dell S'pore not long ago. Good thing was - dell was responsive and promptly exchanged for another.

If I were you I would seriously consider LEDs. Three yrs ago when I renovated my flat I looked for LED lighting. But few retailers dealt in them, the only one was Lightcraft at Jln Sultan. The range of LEDS for consumers (unlike projects) was limited to a few test items to trial the market. Prices then were high. Today prices have come down a fair bit. But still more exp than normal non-leds. The range is also wider now, with higher wattage and brighter illumination (higher luminance per watt).

My LEDs have served me well. No damage/spoilage yet (touch wood!), though I switched them on 24x7 for many weeks at a time. The savings in electricity is significant on an LED per se (but given that i only installed 2 wall LEDs, didn't make any impact on my monthly electricity bill). Now you can even install long LED "tubes" like your normal ceiling fluorescent tube. So why not consider? BTW has anyone installed LEDs? I would like to know how is their experience and view photos of their flat with the LEDs. Pl share.

hmm we have actually used LED for many units in natura loft and park central dbss..

but we mostly specialise in LED downlights or LED strips.. seldom use LED tubes..

in fact most of our feature walls uses LED strips because it is much thinner and easier to conceal and takes up lesser space.. haha not mentioning more fun to switch around with the colours!

to be honest, any spoilt item shouldnt it be 1 to 1 exchanged?

http://www.wewiretheworld.blogspot.com/p/led.html

All the replies here in Renotalk have been most useful. After much considerations, I settled for normal PLC down lights, single 13W Phillips bulb with Atco Ballast. Bought from lightings.com at $12 per downlight set. During my search, I was quoted ridiculous prices from $15 upwards. 1 shop at trade hub 21 even quoted me $20+. Shocked that the costs for normal PLC downlights differs so much.

Although I like the whole Phillips downlights set, hubby was not ready to spend $33 for just 1-set. Moreover,, We r not a fussy buyers as this is our 2nd home. So feel that the cheaper $12 lights will serve its purpose just as well. :good: So far their service not bad. Ordered my lights on Saturday. Today,Monday... They called saying my lights are ready 4 collection. Hope all the lights r in good working condition on installation.

Edited by KittyJems

i bought my LED lightings and decorative lights from 2 diff direct suppliers. Am happy with the quality and their patience :)

PM me if u are keen to get direct contact.

i bought my LED lightings and decorative lights from 2 diff direct suppliers. Am happy with the quality and their patience :)

PM me if u are keen to get direct contact.

Pics?

Hi, im looking for downlights for my new flat, Anybody can recommend good lighting shops at jalan besar? Thanks

Edited by Marcos

Hi, im looking for downlights for my new flat, Anybody can recommend good lighting shops at jalan besar? Thanks

http://www.chanhuat.com.sg/

One of its flagship stores have a gazilion lights! It's the one where there's a flight of stairs to go its showroom on level 2.

http://www.chanhuat.com.sg/

One of its flagship stores have a gazilion lights! It's the one where there's a flight of stairs to go its showroom on level 2.

Hi All, you can go to "A Lightings" in Geylang lor 22, look for Alex (young chap, friendly gd service) i bought all my lights from them , best price to compare to all shops i go. only open frm mon to day. Say Freddy intro one

I gt my whole flat's lightings fr Extreme Lighting (at 371 Balestier Road)... Their pricing is quite competitive and I realised that u could bargain to get more disc. & even freebies! The saleman was friendly & has gd knowledge abt his stuffs... :dancingqueen: hahaa!

But their after-sale service is what I wld like to share here... Initially, one lighting at my living rm was faulty and I hv barely stayed 1 mth in my new hse, so I called them up. Their staff, called Daniel, picked up and promptly arranged for a date to send their contractor to check out the prob at my hse... (which was reli a thanks-heaven to me)! Their contractor turned up at my hse and realised that my family hv accidenly switch off the 'main board' which caused the lighting unable to b connected... 8|

Though it was not their fault, the contractor patient explained to us on the "technical reason" before leaving... Well, it's was of cos quite paisei for us who hv falsely accused them...

Thus I thought of sharing tis little experience wif the folks at Renotalk, as I truly felt that Extreme Lighting is responsible seller and sincere in doing their business, which provides great assurance to the buyers! :good:

want to check two things;

1.How much is the installation charge if buy from lightings.com.sg

2. Will the showroom and internet show the same price?

Regards

I bought my lightings at neighbourhood shop only. Haha... Not doing anything fancy, normal lightings will do. Got them at Marsiling lighting house. Buy 5 lights, installation @$8/light. Bought 13 in all.Free delivery. Made order on fri, earliest date available they came to fixed the lights.

Although there were abit of hiccup( missing 1 bulb), they came on time and settled within 2 hrs.

Haha, but have to do own housekeeping... :P

Hi, I'm a 1st time house purchaser and hence done most of my research online to find all the recommended shops. Do not wish to be a carrot cake and get chop by dodgy shops in balestier. 1st lighting shop I visted was Lightcraft. Would highly recommend any newbies to try this store 1st. Shopping experience is a breeze after showing the salesperson (Vanessa) our layout plan and the lighting points. She showed as around the whole shop highlighting the lights we may need. We would request her to note down those models we like. We can even take photos. She would recommend when we look confused especially with the different types of downlights and ceiling lights choices for all our rooms.

Below is the reason why you should visit lightcraft:

• Huge variety and very new lightings (confirm latest design) cos some of the lights we chose were sold out even the display sets! No backorders though...
  • Prices are all listed clearly
  • Best of all, can get official quotation with pictures and lightings required (can use as reference when you visit other stores! Opps... :P )

In the end, after comparing a shop in balestier (recommended by our contractor) and lightcraft, we decided with lightcraft because of our wonderful shopping experience there even though it may costs more than if we soar though all the stores in balestier for the lightings we want. Save the trouble lah! =)