ahblur

Home & Furnishing: The Wardrobe Story

hi ene how much did u buy the baskets for? what are the advantage for using basket?

I bought the baskets at Ikea. They're called KOMPLEMENT. They have 2 sizes and I got the larger one @ S$15 each. You can see from this site: http://www.ikea.com.sg/products/product_display.asp?id=2883

Hm...advantages? I'm just going to use them to store bath towels as well as home-use clothes. I guess they're roomy? I believe you can go with normal drawers as well but I guess I just like the look of the baskets :dancingqueen:

hi blackmango juice. very nice wardobe ! :good: may i know who did it for u and hw much does it cost ? thanks ! :yamseng:

Hi Bk Mango juice,

care to share how Long is each section ( the are 2 sections) of yr wardrobe? thanks

byron

hi everybody, does anyone know where I can find heavy duty hinges for casement door

i need hinges that can take around 40kg of weight including the door

distributed over several hinges means each hinge must be able to take at least 15kg :help: :help:

nice colour ya...may i know wat is the dimension of your wardrobe and how much u spend? :notti:

- 5ft L x 8.5ft Ht

- external EDL metalic laminates

- internal carcass maple pvc finished

- alum frame clear glass with color firm sliding door

- abt $260pfr

:sport-smiley-003:

hi everybody, does anyone know where I can find heavy duty hinges for casement door

i need hinges that can take around 40kg of weight including the door

distributed over several hinges means each hinge must be able to take at least 15kg :help: :help:

- shd ask ur carpenter 2 buy 4 u then can ask them fix 4 u, easier.

- many shops in sungei kadut supply reno stuff 2 carpenters, can buy direct frm them, got blum somemore.

- nter frm woodlands rd (Turf club ave), pass thru railway tack, all e way straight, stop at T-junction (kranji loop). Shops r there, beside canteen.

My bedroom 2 wardrobe cum cabinet ->

f_6Bedrm21am_b01f486.jpg

f_6Bedrm22m_ceecb81.jpg

f_DSC00149m_eed3678.jpg

- shd ask ur carpenter 2 buy 4 u then can ask them fix 4 u, easier.

- many shops in sungei kadut supply reno stuff 2 carpenters, can buy direct frm them, got blum somemore.

- nter frm woodlands rd (Turf club ave), pass thru railway tack, all e way straight, stop at T-junction (kranji loop). Shops r there, beside canteen.

hehehe my renovation was more than a year ago

and i'm not very happy with the workmanship of my carpenter so...

my hinges are blum ones, just that it's not designed to take this kind of weight

i'm looking for something heavy duty coz i want to mount my lcd tv on my wardrobe door :P

What is the pfr cost for wardrobe now? Planning to do up my other bedroom, wanna know roughly how much prices have gone up. Tks.

hehehe my renovation was more than a year ago

and i'm not very happy with the workmanship of my carpenter so...

my hinges are blum ones, just that it's not designed to take this kind of weight

i'm looking for something heavy duty coz i want to mount my lcd tv on my wardrobe door :P

- i noe lah. u so famous in Renotalk, y i dunoe urs oleady done some time ago.

- Sengkang rite. :notti:

- aniway,

(1) heavy duty hinges 2 support e wardrobe or cabinet door can b found & can b done.

(2) wardrobe door 2 mount LCD tv, unlikely 2b able 2.

(3) wardrobe framework or body 2 mount LCD tv can b done, provided e support panel 2 carry e load is thicker. Dat means e side panel.

- e doors for wardrobe & cabinet r e same type of composition & similar in construction.

- hollow core or flush type of construction.

- solid wood or solid plywood frame + bracing + plywood skin + laminate finished, pvc or hardwood trimmings & handles.

- e 'body' or rather e main 'framework', is diferent frm e door leafs, b it wardrobe or cabinet.

- solid plywood = layers of plywood compressed & bind 2gether, no matter e thickness. Can see e layers wen lookin at e section (e thickness).

- solid plywood frame + plywood skin + laminate finished surface & trimmings. Other types of trimmings depends on size.

- e other conventional type or rather e more expensive type, shd b e solid wood construction with lacquer finish.

- door leafs or carpentry framework, all olso beli e heavy & sturdy.

- solid wood which can see e grain or eye, smooth finished with lacquer or paint. Eg. nytoh door. Classic, Victorian type of design uses this, can b in any color finish.

- internal shelving can be solid wood finished or solid plywood finished.

- earlier days, cheaper version is e chipboard type, b it doors of frame. Chipboard is e compressed of small wood & cork fillings in2 a ply with thickness.

Points 4 u 2 consider->

- 1 wardrobe door leaf is how wide, ur LCD tv how wide?

- wardrobe door leaf is which type of construction?

- wher e tv bracket b fixing onto?

- electrical wiring & cables between power source & tv?

- antenna?

- e above is based on my limited knowledge.

hi jacky777,

realy like ur wardrobe for the rest of the rooms and i tink ur ID veri smart to create the cabinet beside the wardrobe hor.. swee manz... :)

- bopian, space constraint.

:rolleyes:

Hi Jacky,

Like yr wardrobe, very nice leh!

Can share with me the contact for yr carpenter?

- k. I'l check & PM u then.

- saw ur list of works 2b done under ur siggy, so u gona coordinate ur own?

:o

What is the pfr cost for wardrobe now? Planning to do up my other bedroom, wanna know roughly how much prices have gone up. Tks.

- got increase meh?

- e range is stil e same. Depends on who u get & wat type of wardrobe, wat materials & how's e construction like.

- u get wat u pay stil applies.

- shd b starting frm $220pfr..

- pricing for new carpentry works to New Apt. & pricing for carpentry to Existing/Resale Apt. is different.

- gota take in2 considerations e dismantling of existing carpentry & e touching up of affected areas.

- & coordinating e takin care of e surrounding furnitures & fittings.

:sport-smiley-004:

Edited by jaCKY777

- got increase meh?

- e range is stil e same. Depends on who u get & wat type of wardrobe, wat materials & how's e construction like.

- u get wat u pay stil applies.

- shd b starting frm $220pfr..

Tks

- i noe lah. u so famous in Renotalk, y i dunoe urs oleady done some time ago.

- Sengkang rite. :notti:

Points 4 u 2 consider->

- 1 wardrobe door leaf is how wide, ur LCD tv how wide?

- wardrobe door leaf is which type of construction?

- wher e tv bracket b fixing onto?

- electrical wiring & cables between power source & tv?

- antenna?

- e above is based on my limited knowledge.

wah so paiseh, me not famous lah

just like to poke my nose into stuff :P

and yup now living in sengkang, still getting used to the daily commute :notti:

my wardrobe door is 2ft wide, tv is about 110cm (including speakers)

should be able to open the doors coz i intend to mount it on the extreme left door

i believe my wardrobe door is solid plywood as well

that's what's stated in my quotation lah

the wiring and cables and tv antenna will all go through my wardrobe loh

i don't know how to build a wardrobe, but i sure know how to drill through one :rofl: :rofl: