kuokht

Recommendation Of Toilet Renovation Contractor

Oh by the way, summer forever, dun worry of being hated by contractors and ID firm, i personally think that your post are beneficial coz it bring knowledge to everyone, thus i believe matured thinking contractors shouldn't be inducing hatred for contractors or ID. :)

I'm working as a project manager for a renovation firm currently. I would think that it is right for us home owners to know more how things works. It is of course beneficial to share our thoughts to improve on ourselves on work and life. i won't deny the facts for your costing quoted and the commission earned. However, this is not the only way or strategy that how a renovation or ID firms run. Would like to share some knowledge on how renovation firms run (Not sure if i will also be hated by fellow renovators / ID firm for sharing this piece of information.. :D )

Allow me to segregate Renovation into 3 categories (Correct me if I am wrong. I'm here to learn too :) ):

1. Self monitored project

- In this categories, usually the projects are very small and requires less management time and professional knowledge. (eg. just installing of window grills, or just simple renovation of toilets).

2.Renovation Contractor

- Such firms usually do not have any in-house interior designers. However, they usually keep afew freelance designers at hand in times where customers needed one. Thus these category of contractors focus very much on providing renovation works based on home owner requirement mainly on fixtures (example kitchen cabinets, TV Console, false ceiling etc). They help to manage these required works and make sure they are installed in good conditions and quality before handing over to the home owners. However, matching furniture, and design themes would be provided by the home owners themselves.

3. ID firms

- ID firm would be considered as premium to me. They have someone catered specially to design for your dream house, up to the point whereby furniture are being bought as per the designs. Their service coverage are the same as ordinary contractors, which help to manage the whole project and make sure it is delivered on time for the home owner to move in. Of course, with such services provided, the costing would also be premium too.

Moving on to what Summer forever has mentioned, renovation firms and ID firms does their business in many different ways. Like for example in the case of the commission earned, I believe 20% - 30% would be a premium charges due to the extra service provided. (not saying that such charges doesn't exist, I believe there are even charges up to 50% or more). However, to my knowledge, renovation firms usually runs by referral means of around 5% - 10% commission from the hardware stores. This charges are not put on to customers as the priced tags are stated in the stores. Customers can also checked out the price of similar items easily. Top that off, if the contractors are long term customers with the hardware stores, there might even be a discounted price given to the customers on top of the price tag.

I would say be it self help, a contractors or id firms, every trades definitely got to have their own earning. Just like we can buy a fish in our wet-market (Convenience sake), or buy them directly from the fishmongers (Fishing service only) or fish them ourselves (Self help). The Pro are of course on costs saved between each layer of service provided. The Cons would be the professional opinion offered and Management service of the whole renovation process.

It is of course ID firm would be preferred if money is a luxury without much constraint because they basically take care from the start till the end and give you the keys with even the furniture designed to your liking. However, if we're running on a budget but with a little to spare, getting a contractors would be good as we (home owner) can do the design and furniture purchasing ourselves and leave the more complicated stuffs to the professional. Lastly, if budgets is really so tight, we can monitored everything ourselves but do spent some time to learn and understand how things work before engaging direct.

Because when you buy a fish for your wife from the fishmonger, it might not be the exact fish she want. you'll have to find yourself either go back to the market to buy her (wife) type of fish (Extra material cost incurred with the previous fish thrown away) or go back to the fishmonger to exchange for her type of fish (Provided he is willing to exchange and not to forget the traveling expense incurred).

Hope my analogy is fun filling and have provided some beneficial knowledge to the everyone!! Do comment and share our knowledge so that we can better improve ourselves! =)

Cheers,

Arthur

万里之行,始于足下!

Help! We are going to get our keys next month, and need to start reno!

1. Reno 2 bathrooms - master bedroom and common toilet. I don't know the jargon but basically we want to hack and redo everything.

2. Paint whole house (5 room flat)

3. Polish parquet floor

4. Disinfect (not sure if this is what it's call??) entire house

Anyone has any contractor contacts? please pm me... thanks so much! Sorry... I'm a gal so not very clear about such things... :)

Oh by the way, summer forever, dun worry of being hated by contractors and ID firm, i personally think that your post are beneficial coz it bring knowledge to everyone, thus i believe matured thinking contractors shouldn't be inducing hatred for contractors or ID. :)

I'm working as a project manager for a renovation firm currently. I would think that it is right for us home owners to know more how things works. It is of course beneficial to share our thoughts to improve on ourselves on work and life. i won't deny the facts for your costing quoted and the commission earned. However, this is not the only way or strategy that how a renovation or ID firms run. Would like to share some knowledge on how renovation firms run (Not sure if i will also be hated by fellow renovators / ID firm for sharing this piece of information.. :D )

Allow me to segregate Renovation into 3 categories (Correct me if I am wrong. I'm here to learn too :) ):

1. Self monitored project

- In this categories, usually the projects are very small and requires less management time and professional knowledge. (eg. just installing of window grills, or just simple renovation of toilets).

2.Renovation Contractor

- Such firms usually do not have any in-house interior designers. However, they usually keep afew freelance designers at hand in times where customers needed one. Thus these category of contractors focus very much on providing renovation works based on home owner requirement mainly on fixtures (example kitchen cabinets, TV Console, false ceiling etc). They help to manage these required works and make sure they are installed in good conditions and quality before handing over to the home owners. However, matching furniture, and design themes would be provided by the home owners themselves.

3. ID firms

- ID firm would be considered as premium to me. They have someone catered specially to design for your dream house, up to the point whereby furniture are being bought as per the designs. Their service coverage are the same as ordinary contractors, which help to manage the whole project and make sure it is delivered on time for the home owner to move in. Of course, with such services provided, the costing would also be premium too.

Moving on to what Summer forever has mentioned, renovation firms and ID firms does their business in many different ways. Like for example in the case of the commission earned, I believe 20% - 30% would be a premium charges due to the extra service provided. (not saying that such charges doesn't exist, I believe there are even charges up to 50% or more). However, to my knowledge, renovation firms usually runs by referral means of around 5% - 10% commission from the hardware stores. This charges are not put on to customers as the priced tags are stated in the stores. Customers can also checked out the price of similar items easily. Top that off, if the contractors are long term customers with the hardware stores, there might even be a discounted price given to the customers on top of the price tag.

I would say be it self help, a contractors or id firms, every trades definitely got to have their own earning. Just like we can buy a fish in our wet-market (Convenience sake), or buy them directly from the fishmongers (Fishing service only) or fish them ourselves (Self help). The Pro are of course on costs saved between each layer of service provided. The Cons would be the professional opinion offered and Management service of the whole renovation process.

It is of course ID firm would be preferred if money is a luxury without much constraint because they basically take care from the start till the end and give you the keys with even the furniture designed to your liking. However, if we're running on a budget but with a little to spare, getting a contractors would be good as we (home owner) can do the design and furniture purchasing ourselves and leave the more complicated stuffs to the professional. Lastly, if budgets is really so tight, we can monitored everything ourselves but do spent some time to learn and understand how things work before engaging direct.

Because when you buy a fish for your wife from the fishmonger, it might not be the exact fish she want. you'll have to find yourself either go back to the market to buy her (wife) type of fish (Extra material cost incurred with the previous fish thrown away) or go back to the fishmonger to exchange for her type of fish (Provided he is willing to exchange and not to forget the traveling expense incurred).

Hope my analogy is fun filling and have provided some beneficial knowledge to the everyone!! Do comment and share our knowledge so that we can better improve ourselves! =)

Cheers,

Arthur

万里之行,始于足下!

:huh: you sounds like our reno guru in RT. why are you representing yourself as "us" home owner and yet you are a project manager in a renovation firm?

I might go direct to contractor as well, thinking of it - as what I need might just as simple as painting job, or if budget allows I will go for bathroom renovation as well.

Anyone can share the contact details for contractors based on your good experience? Thanks heaps!

I might go direct to contractor as well, thinking of it - as what I need might just as simple as painting job, or if budget allows I will go for bathroom renovation as well.

Anyone can share the contact details for contractors based on your good experience? Thanks heaps!

Good and bad on going direct, you save some but sub con do what you tell them and you got to coordinate the timing. Which is a headache. HDB requires permit for doing wet works so if you get tiler they ask you to pay for the license which cost 2-300 bucks. Contractor no charge. Also, if you can get sub-con to do they are dealing with you on a once off deal, price give you lower but down the road got problem -- no help.

Think of all these i rather get contractor to handle all and i just think of when to move in will do. Saving $500 - $800 may mean a lot to many people but i think if your time involved to coordinate all these small job on a daily basis will be tiring. :sport-smiley-018:

Good and bad on going direct, you save some but sub con do what you tell them and you got to coordinate the timing. Which is a headache. HDB requires permit for doing wet works so if you get tiler they ask you to pay for the license which cost 2-300 bucks. Contractor no charge. Also, if you can get sub-con to do they are dealing with you on a once off deal, price give you lower but down the road got problem -- no help.

Think of all these i rather get contractor to handle all and i just think of when to move in will do. Saving $500 - $800 may mean a lot to many people but i think if your time involved to coordinate all these small job on a daily basis will be tiring. :sport-smiley-018:

My thinking is depending on your time you have.

If you go direct, you save money and get the best quality workmanship but at the expense of time and effort to co-ordinate.

It you go to a contractor, you may or may not get the good quality sub-contractor to do the work because the main contractor has many sub-contractors that depending on schedule and the profit to be earned by main contractor, you may be allocated to a poor quality sub-contractors and ended up a lot of problems and headaches. It is more dificult to recifity then redo. If you are going for a main contractor, must choose a reliable one, that means the quotation is also reliable lah...... :P

hi summer forever

could u pm me the contacts for your reno pls? such as

Hacker

Plumber

Electrician

Tiler

Painter.

Thank you very much in advance!

For saying this, think the contractors & ID will hate me.

Just did my reno for condo recently, most things DIY.

Maybe due to my job (I'm in sales) so I understand that all things are cheaper if go direct. The contractors & IDs will sublet the jobs out to 3rd party and thus need to mark up prices.

My direct contacts & reno jobs

1)I engaged direct co. to hack my condo kitchen & 2 toilets (floor & wall tiles, kitchen cabinet, removal of sanitary wares in toilets & removal of debris) - for only $2K

I heard from the boss that the cost is lower for HDB as condo is strict with the reno timing so it would take them more days to complete as compared to HDB thus the higher cost for condo. ** The boss is so sweet to help hack wardrobe & other shelvings all at no extra cost.

The quotes that I get from contractors & IDs for just hacking (Kitchen & toilet wall & floor tiles) & removal of debris is - $2,600 - $2,800

** See the savings for going direct??

2) bi-fold doors, classic doors & iron gate - better to get direct from co. Source for quotes yourself & bargain a good price. The contractors would have earned 20-30% commission from your sales. If go direct, you may probably get 10-20% savings yourself. These co. can't offer 30% discount to direct customers as their main source of biz still come from IDs & contractors. Can't afford to offend them.

3) People know people in this trade. I got the contact for tiling job from my hacker. The tiler did my kitchen & toilet floor & wall tiles & I'm satisfied with the job done. I even went on site to see his workmanship & confirmed the job on the spot. I bought my own tiles though. Again, contractors will get 20-30% commission bringing you to choose tiles & you won't enjoy savings. I bought the tiles myself & got a discount for going direct (though the discount is not as much as the co. gives to contractor, but it's still savings)

The tiler charged me tiling job by per sqm, whereas the contractor charge me a lump sum. I heard from my tiler HDB toilet & kitchen tiling job is only $2+/sqm. The lowest quote I got from contractor is $3.50/sqm but my tiler only charges me $2.30/sqm. See the mark up? These contractors also find these tilers to do the job for them. The contractor get your deposit but will not pay these hacker & tilers, carpenters, plumbers etc so soon. So these people like to work direct with us, customers. Get paid on time.

4) For hacking of kitchen cabinet, the quote for direct is only $200-$300, but look, your quote is $600. All these savings here & there can get you new cutains, or whatever you like to buy.

5) I also engaged a worker for painting job (contact from my tiler). His pay is on daily basis. But same rules - I supply the paint etc. It's still cheaper than getting contractor. And contractor also earn commission from paint co.

6) I also engaged a co. to do my false ceiling in toilets (contact from my tiler). He quoted me $550 for 2 toilet false ceilings. My lowest quote from contractor is $780.

Enough said. Source direct will give you so much savings! : )

Hi Wongapat,

Can you pm me the ah chuan's contact?

Than u very much in advance!

From the research at this website, I dabbled into direct contracting for a landed which i recently purchase.

I thought I just share my view here so that would be 'renovators' can benefit as I did when I started researching here for my reno. My reno is abt to complete, which explains why i have time to write.

My terrace land area = 2,200 sq feet.

For my roof, i found a company to do it by google and asking a few to quote. The px I got was $2.9k b4 gst, incl fibreglass waterproofing of gutters, replacing broken tiles and painting tiles with sealer.

For painting interior and exterior I got this person who was painting a neighbour’s roof (Ah Chuan). $5k inc the ICI paints of my choice, indoors and outdoors, gates, patching cracks, sealer base + general cleanup (jetspray the tiles and walls)

Due to budget constraint, I was abt to respray the toilet tiles with acrylic paint until Ah Chuan offered to redo the tiles for me at a price slightly higher. But I have to buy the tiles and sand/cement which he will order for me but I have to pay.

Ah Chuan is basically a tradesmen without capital so he can offer good rates but not credit. He doesn't have a HDB licence nor a company (although he said that he is getting more referrals and have started to register for a company.

In the end, my 3 toilet cost abt $7.8k incl hacking, retiling, cost of tiles for the walls and floors. Workmanship is good. He did not do the tiling himself but uses a partner.

Then I decided to let him do my kitchen floor which incl hacking and retile ($1.3k).

I went on to let him repair and repaint all my room doors, toilet vanity cabinet, re-polishing my parquet, glass shower screen. Like what Summerforever said, they have their own networks. I have yet to see the quality of the parquet as that will be the last item.

I thing I have to highlight about using contractors like Ah Chuan is that you have to be reasonable with them, they don't have capital, so you shd not hold back your payment unreasonably. IF things turned ugly, it will be difficult for everyone. I was able to manage because I did extensive research so whenever we discuss abt how much each item will cost I have a basis to negotiate with him. So far, his price is lower than what i have. Furthermore our communications is clear as I can speak well in Hokkien so its quite easy to work with him. He can speak Chinese but he is more comfortable in Hokkien. English would be a challenge..

The other thing that you have to be prepared is that it may not turn out perfect, afterall you are taking risk on a lower cost. I took that path and so far everything is ok (thank Goodness). This is also partly because I go to the site every lunch time and I give constant feedback if I see something not right. On the upside, they sometimes throw in free stuff, I managed to get Ah Chuan to do my Kitchen False ceiling with waterproof board for $200, i checked with my false ceiling contractor that the material he gave me is the real stuff and the cost of the board alone is abt $350. He also promised to help me use some of the extra tiles to change the tiles of the garden area FOC.

Moving along to other items. For toilet doors, I use doors that uses swing and slide, its cheaper than sliding doors. For my light box I use the internet and googled a contractor who specialise in false ceiling and light box. His rate is fair and lower than the contractor introduced by my electrician, who wanted to charge me $1k, whereas this contractor charge me $770. 3 days from measurement to installation.

For lights I scouted between CH and LC as I had purchased from them before, their service needs improvement though. Electrician was the one who did my condo so I sort of trust him and his price is ok and he is easy to deal with, although pls note that from now to CNY, the electricians are fully booked. My project is delayed because my electrician had other committments. I tried to look for another electrician but some turned down due to their tight bookings while others charge at high rates.

For tiles, I went to Balestier road and found a smaller sized supplier who was able to offer a price lower than the 2 big boys in the market. They aren’t exactly that small either but they don’t have the massive showroom as the other 2. And I concur with SummerForever on getting discount if you buy directly. I managed to get discount from them.

For sink, taps, and shower items, I didn’t get from the 2 big suppliers in the mkt. Instead I was lucky to find a warehouse sale from a company that distributed Hansgrohe. I didn’t get the Hansgrohes but bought other brands they carry. The quality is much better than the 2 big players in the mkt for the same price. Again, I must emphasize its because I am lucky that it happen to be their annual sale.

The takeaway here is that Yes, you can save substantially if you do everything yourself (I calculate I saved abt $10-15k)…but u have to spend time on it (I calculate about 100hrs), and you have to do research, visit, see and ask the prices. And know exactly what you want out of the renovation. Actually looking back its quite fun and I learn a lot along the way.

Can’t wait till the house is fully done, should be within the nxt 2 weeks. Still debating with the wife whether we shd stay there or rent it out.

To those renovating, Good luck with your reno, and I will log-in again to update on the situation and hopefully Ah Chuan is a good bet and everything will turn out as he promise.

Hi Summer Forever,

Could u pl pm me the contacts for your reno?

(Hacker, Tiler, Plumber, Electrician, Carpenter, Painter)

Thank you in advance.

Maybe due to my job (I'm in sales) so I understand that all things are cheaper if go direct. The contractors & IDs will sublet the jobs out to 3rd party and thus need to mark up prices.

1)I engaged direct co. to hack my condo kitchen & 2 toilets (floor & wall tiles, kitchen cabinet, removal of sanitary wares in toilets & removal of debris) - for only $2K

I heard from the boss that the cost is lower for HDB as condo is strict with the reno timing so it would take them more days to complete as compared to HDB thus the higher cost for condo. ** The boss is so sweet to help hack wardrobe & other shelvings all at no extra cost.

The quotes that I get from contractors & IDs for just hacking (Kitchen & toilet wall & floor tiles) & removal of debris is - $2,600 - $2,800

2) bi-fold doors, classic doors & iron gate - better to get direct from co. Source for quotes yourself & bargain a good price. The contractors would have earned 20-30% commission from your sales. If go direct, you may probably get 10-20% savings yourself. These co. can't offer 30% discount to direct customers as their main source of biz still come from IDs & contractors. Can't afford to offend them.

3) People know people in this trade. I got the contact for tiling job from my hacker. The tiler did my kitchen & toilet floor & wall tiles & I'm satisfied with the job done. I even went on site to see his workmanship & confirmed the job on the spot. I bought my own tiles though. Again, contractors will get 20-30% commission bringing you to choose tiles & you won't enjoy savings. I bought the tiles myself & got a discount for going direct (though the discount is not as much as the co. gives to contractor, but it's still savings)

The tiler charged me tiling job by per sqm, whereas the contractor charge me a lump sum. I heard from my tiler HDB toilet & kitchen tiling job is only $2+/sqm. The lowest quote I got from contractor is $3.50/sqm but my tiler only charges me $2.30/sqm. See the mark up? These contractors also find these tilers to do the job for them. The contractor get your deposit but will not pay these hacker & tilers, carpenters, plumbers etc so soon. So these people like to work direct with us, customers. Get paid on time.

4) For hacking of kitchen cabinet, the quote for direct is only $200-$300, but look, your quote is $600. All these savings here & there can get you new cutains, or whatever you like to buy.

5) I also engaged a worker for painting job (contact from my tiler). His pay is on daily basis. But same rules - I supply the paint etc. It's still cheaper than getting contractor. And contractor also earn commission from paint co.

6) I also engaged a co. to do my false ceiling in toilets (contact from my tiler). He quoted me $550 for 2 toilet false ceilings. My lowest quote from contractor is $780.

hi, can i have the contact of ur direct tiler, contractor for hacking.

thank in advance.. =)

Hi Summer Forever,

can you please advise me on the reno works for the toilet?

Many Thanks

Regards,

Tze Hong

Hi Summer Forever,

Could u pls pm me the contacts for your reno?

(Hacker, Tiler, Plumber, Electrician, Carpenter, Painter)

Thank you in advance.

Hi, I am staying in a mansionette and thinking of renovation my 2 toilets at the upper level. Can I have your contacts for the hacker and tiler please.. working on a tight budget..:)

Hi summer, can you pm me the contact for your tiler and carpenter. Thanks a bunch!