Amy Choon

Id Vs Contractor

thk u danial. actually its for my mum house.talk to tat contractor this morning bout what my mum wanna

do and asked him to giv me a quote.he email me the quotation few hrs later.tat was fast uh lol.he said it's just

a rough quotation based on my mum floor plan n wat she wants. Dunno wether its ex or cheap coz its my 1st time handlin all this. Can any1 help to asses my quotationas below.thanks

Demolish works

Hacking of 2 bathroom floor & wall finish

Hacking of 2 bathroom fittings & accessories

Hacking of 2 bathroom door & frames

Hacking of kitchen cabinet

Hacking of cabinet base

Total cost : $850

Masonry Works

Laying of floor and wall tiles at 2 bathrooms - $1950

Construct cabinet base - $270

Carpentry works

Install 30ft kitchen cabinet - $2700

Install 15ft solid top - $1200

labor for installation of hob & hood - $100

Plumbing works for kitchen and 2 toilets - $450

Laminate flooring for living and 2 bdrooms - $1700

Total Cost - $9220

Actually thoyght it gonna cost my mum ard 15K.was pleasently surprise to c the amount quoted hehe.

A what he said this is just a rough ly estimation of how much it gonna cost.he said he need to come down to the new

place for measurement only then he can giv me e actual quotation. will be meeting him in few days time.

Any comment or feedback on the above quotation???

bro, think you need to get a detailed breakdown quote like hacking normally the price is with debris but it seems too cheap to me liao. carpentry work very reasonable $180 per feet good price. solid top about that price too but you using which company solid top?

Cheers:-)

Better choose ID,because what u pay and what u get.Singapore nothing free.

Ultimate self-promote.

Only register today some more.

I have gone thru reno with contractor and it's fine. And many others too.

Like you said, nothing is free then why ID mention the Design is free?

Hi, understand most of us will use an ID because of their expertise in space planning and designing.

Anyone engaged both ID (for design specific work) and contractor (for window grill works, shower screens, kitchen glass door etc..)?

Will this help to save some cost?

It's better to find time and go to some industrial places

to see different laminate and materials..

ID will at less charge 40% of the contract price

Contractor will charge 20% of the contract price

if you wanna a better home... Do search the Internet

and ask many question about the materials!!

How I know??

I used to work in a ID firm and currently in a

construction firm!!

Reminder:

many furniture used compress wood for the built

in furniture.. This may make the furniture look and

feel solid!! But the humid atmosphere in Singapore

will kill your furniture!! It's better to use plywood!!

It's meaningless to get ID and

contractor to design for you!!

It's your house and it's better for

you to look into what you wanna!

You must find time to do it!!!

In the end, you may spent more time

talking to your ID or contractor about

design then putting them to action!!

BTW, there is a extra cost if you change

your design during the renovation.. And

it's called the variation order!! BECAREFUL!!

I believe it's time you should look more

into the Internet and furniture mall. I'm sure

there are some ideas that you like.

Lastly, it depend how deep is your pocket!!

It's meaningless to get ID and

contractor to design for you!!

It's your house and it's better for

you to look into what you wanna!

You must find time to do it!!!

In the end, you may spent more time

talking to your ID or contractor about

design then putting them to action!!

BTW, there is a extra cost if you change

your design during the renovation.. And

it's called the variation order!! BECAREFUL!!

I believe it's time you should look more

into the Internet and furniture mall. I'm sure

there are some ideas that you like.

Lastly, it depend how deep is your pocket!!

If you really want to save up your pocket, you can visit ID firms for free design, and go DIY or look for contractor

to do up your house :idea: I'm sure alot of people out there were doing that

If you really want to save up your pocket, you can visit ID firms for free design, and go DIY or look for contractor

that's a very good idea!!

they can match to the contrator quote. But some ID will play on the material's quality. From above average to average. So beware on this too. So before confirm an ID would be good to source around and ask more questions. Try to make the ID know that you are not a newbie in renovation in order not to chop you that much.

most of the time, u wun get the design until u paid the deposit. so its quite unlikely u'll get the design and go to contractor. most prob u can only get space planning advice, which contractors can do pretty well.

I chose an ID in the end coz i needed their expertise on the design portion (eg. how the feature wall looks like) most contractors i go to are unable to provide that and requires me to provide them with the design. I'm not really inclined on the creativity part, so i have no choice but to pay others to do it for me.

Of course, there are companies that sells designs to you and you can approach contractors to do it. Whether they can turn out what is in the 3D drawing is another issue.

just my 2 cents. :D

If so many people go to ID for design then contractor.. Then ID eat what? I think it's always better to promote meritocracy and let ID cut his price to match contractor if he wants the job..

I agreed with you, ID should charge designing fee and let the owner go look for their own contractors.

This should be the right system:

1- see ID and pay for designing fee or DIY

2- hire an project manager whom can meet owner's requirement or DIY

3- hire contractor whom can meet ID's requirement or DIY

To be frank, this is what renovation is all about, but after all these years of Kiasu engagement (we are singaporean lah)

your Question can be replied sadly- ID don't know eat what... lah

Except that a lot of "ID" are actually pseudo-ID and dont have the necessary experience or training.

And also a lot of ID firms are actually pseudo-ID firms - they are actually general contractors with a retail storefront.

So, even with you pay more $$, you may not necessary get quality work as the firms want to extract as much $ from you with the least amount of effort they put in.

The cost of just getting a well known interior designer to design things for you (excluding build) will cost a few thousand dollars or more - and i doubt most consumers want that too ;)

I agreed with you, ID should charge designing fee and let the owner go look for their own contractors.

This should be the right system:

1- see ID and pay for designing fee or DIY

2- hire an project manager whom can meet owner's requirement or DIY

3- hire contractor whom can meet ID's requirement or DIY

To be frank, this is what renovation is all about, but after all these years of Kiasu engagement (we are singaporean lah)

your Question can be replied sadly- ID don't know eat what... lah

Except that a lot of "ID" are actually pseudo-ID and dont have the necessary experience or training.

And also a lot of ID firms are actually pseudo-ID firms - they are actually general contractors with a retail storefront.

So, even with you pay more $$, you may not necessary get quality work as the firms want to extract as much $ from you with the least amount of effort they put in.

The cost of just getting a well known interior designer to design things for you (excluding build) will cost a few thousand dollars or more - and i doubt most consumers want that too ;)

So what is your suggestion if you want designer to provide design for your new house and yet

you can't afford to pay for design fee?

Hmm .. thats a hard question to answer.

Its like asking to have aesthetic surgery but paying polyclinic fees ... ;)

I'm sure there are ID out there whom work as a contractor, go find them.