Bethel

Toa Payoh Blk 79 Kakis

Is this just 1 light only? If you are handy with tools, you can swap with another light to see if there is a problem with the ballast, then you will be able to isolate the problem - installation or ballast

Yes its just one light. But its a downlight affixed on a false ceiling at the foyer. and its just one of its kind in the house. Can't test it out and taking it down will mean have to cut it out from the false ceiling...thats why I am in a dilema... :dunno:

Now really regret having done so much false ceiling at home :curse:

Yes its just one light. But its a downlight affixed on a false ceiling at the foyer. and its just one of its kind in the house. Can't test it out and taking it down will mean have to cut it out from the false ceiling...thats why I am in a dilema... :dunno:

- 2 take out e dnlite in 1 whole pcs, u du not hav 2 cut e false ceiling.

- e dnlite is fastened 2 e false ceiling by 'pins' on both sides in e internal of e dnlite casing.

- e dnlite glass casing olso applies e same method, fasten by 'pins' on both sides.

- wen there's a nid 2 change e energy saving bulb (eg. warm white, cool white or daylight), jus nid 2 open up e glass casing. 1 side of e glass casing wil stil b hanging (pin stil hooked), 1 side loose (pin not hook), both pins r fixed 2 e internal of e glass casing. Replace bulb, press e pin & insert in2 e correct slot of e dnlite casing, close e glass casing. Dis applies 2 square type of dnlite.

- circular type of dnlite is easier, jus nid 2 turn e casing anti-clockwise or clockwise.

- w/o casing even easier. Jus like those in our lift lobby.

- some dnlites, e light bulb holder is vertical while most r horizontal.

- wen e light bulb holder is horizontal, some designs can b tilted, so dat changing of bulb is w/o fuss.

- wen there's a nid 2 take dn e dnlite casing. (1) Remove e glass casing. (2) Remove bulbs (3) Release e pins in e dnlite casing, take it dn. (4) off MCB at main switch board 2 play safe, unscrew e (-) small screws dat fasten e wires.

- changing of bulb, most ppl can do. But take dn e whole dnlite casing, not every1 noes how 2.

- e lightings were recomended by ur ID rite? Jus giv him a frndly call, tel him ur situation frm day 1 (spoilt changed & spoilt again). i belief he'l try solve 4 u.

- if not, then u gota call e lighting shop, repeat wat u told ur ID. They definitely gota rectify 4 u.

- at e last resort, tel them u willing 2 top-up slightly more 2 change 2 a better internal component.

Do not attempt to tamper with any electrical wiring & fittings if u r not sure, esp. wen e main MCB is ON, LIVE current is expose.

:rolleyes:

Edited by jaCKY777

Yap but like what I said before, we as commuters we can take other transport, but the driver cannot don't take passengers. I think most of the cabbies would rather like to have their rental fee lower than increase taxi charges, and is their company who implement the charges.

Just my humble opinion. :P

From what I know, the rental for the old Nissan cabs was $75 per day, and when the taxi companies started the Toyota Crown cabs, the rental increased to $90. Would you settle for the smaller Nissan rather than the roomier Crown?

When not enough taxi drivers in the pool, the taxi companies give out 'free' rental days to the drivers as incentive to lower cost for the drivers, but when recession come around and there are lots of people want to drive taxis, these are taken away as the taxi companies have lots of drivers waiting for taxis.

This is what I gather from talking to the taxi uncles during my trips. :unsure:

That is the irony of the taxi industry.

Well, I'm really glad that I kept it really simple, no downlights! :good:

I think what Jacky777 suggests is the right thing to do. :thumbs up:

Edited by a_star

Hi all

I just moved in to blk 79. Anyone tried receiving HD5 over-the-air using usb digital tv tuner?

Welcome ! Hey I have, but not recently. It was during national day when I tried it at the 12th garden. Signal was ok. Tried it during the olympics as well.

Recently has not been touching it.

Hey neighbours,

- any1 on e high floor experience hairline wall cracks?

- las time b4 reno oleady got crack.

- complaint hdb service centre, asked them 2 rectify.

- rectified liao, nicely done.

- now 3 mths later, after my reno done & painted, CRACK again !!

- by rite, it shouldn't crack again. By left it crack again.

- dat means, dis time e crack its wider than e 1st time. B.cos previous cracks were patched up & painted.

- if every 3 mths like dat, dunoe how leh. crack - patch up - paint, crack - patch up - paint, crack - patch up - paint ... :furious:

Zoom-in part view 1 of hairline crack as at 2008Jun03

f_DSC00123m_fbab916.jpg

Zoom-in part view 2 of hairline crack as at 2008Jun03

f_DSC00124m_ea84e05.jpg

Patched-up as at 2008July01

f_DSC00132m_cb50007.jpg

Painted as at 2008 July03

f_DSC00140m_bc648fa.jpg

:wacko:

Hairline crack as at 2008Oct17

f_DSC00145m_ab69d23.jpg

Zoom-in part view 1 of hairline crack as at 2008Oct17

f_DSC00146m_68e2356.jpg

Zoom-in part view 2 of hairline crack as at 2008Oct17

f_DSC00151m_c05acb3.jpg

:dunno::curse::angry2:

Edited by jaCKY777

Hey neighbours,

- dat means, dis time e crack its wider than e 1st time. B.cos previous cracks were patched up & painted.

- if every 3 mths like dat, dunoe how leh. crack - patch up - paint, crack - patch up - paint, crack - patch up - paint ... :furious:

I also just recently spotted cracks in my living room wall.. wait for few more months to see any more cracks before getting my ID down to patch up. He said hairline cracks are very common in HDB flats.

Not sure if anyone heard but a dog was barking late in e night at 3am last night!!!

Hi bonkitty,

I have a dog, but hardly bark. I have a neighbour who also have a dog that keep barking during the day time. At night also bark, but not as much as in the day time. I wonder who is the owner also. Maybe you want try to talk nicely to the dog owner.

Babymaro2003

I have $110 Lorenzo vouchers to let go..it's only valid till 28 Oct 08.

Willing to let go at $20.

Anyone interested?

I got it last year when i purchased my furnitures.

Hi Jacky....I am staying at the top floor...yeah, recently just spotted a hair line crack on my mbr....

I just ignore it lah. No matter how we touch up, it will comes back again.

Hey neighbours,

Hi bonkitty,

I have a dog, but hardly bark. I have a neighbour who also have a dog that keep barking during the day time. At night also bark, but not as much as in the day time. I wonder who is the owner also. Maybe you want try to talk nicely to the dog owner.

Babymaro2003

Ya think I heard a dog barking in the wee hours last night. Seems to be coming from the center blocks (b, c ,d?). Rather not that loud cos of the distance... :D

Now need caffine injections zz

I only heard the dog barking at the lower levels of my block... i think must be babymaro one ah...... Hehehe.....

Only heard it at night around 11pm - midnight

Noisy ah..... :P

- i dislike noisy & dirty dogs & cats. :curse:

- call POLICE, call SPCA, call ENV, call Town Council, call HDB, call TPY RC Zone 2, complain...

- my neighbour's dog barks day & nite, those very loud type. Those who came 2 my unit may hav heard.

- although there is a acrylic sheet tied at e metal gate, wen got ppl walk past, e dog wld jump & seems like wana break e metal gate & cum out & eat u alive. SOoo frightening, i need 2 go toilet liao.

- e neighbour facing them felt irritated, dats y they everytime slam door & hardly open e door.

- i ever seen a pizza delivery malay boy wana run away.

- every1 walk pass, sure try 2 siam further away.

- e noisy dogs r normally e smaller dogs.

- there r at least 2 big dogs in blk E, think is Husky but they r e more tamed type.

:o

Edited by jaCKY777

- call POLICE, call SPCA, call ENV, call Town Council, call HDB, call TPY RC Zone 2, complain...

- my neighbour's dog barks day & nite, those very loud type. Those who came 2 my unit may hav heard.

- although there is a acrylic sheet tied at e metal gate, wen got ppl walk past, e dog wld jump & seems like wana break e metal gate & cum out & eat u alive. SOoo frightening, i need 2 go toilet liao.

- e neighbour facing them felt irritated, dats y they everytime slam door & hardly open e door.

- there r at least 2 big dogs in blk E, think is Husky but they r e more tamed type.

Wow... i did not know you can keep Husky in HDBs leh... Poor Husky's.... house too small to run around..... and cannot bring it out in the day.... haiz....

I only heard the dog barking at the lower levels of my block... i think must be babymaro one ah...... Hehehe.....

Only heard it at night around 11pm - midnight

Noisy ah..... :P

Hi Mr Dracula,

My dog will only bark at dracula and vampire :bleah: . I confirm and sompah that the noise is not from my dog cause i also heard the loud barking in the afternoon and evening time.

Babymaro2003

Hi Jacky,

U call all of the above also no use,even call your mp also no use cause you know why? The dog got licence, the most is kena warn. Maybe the owner never train the dog properly, like my opposite neighbour monkey. I think dog is more well behaved than monkey (kids).

Babymaro2003