Bethel

Toa Payoh Blk 79 Kakis

I'm at B, 90sqm!!! I was there yesterday to recce the place again =P... somehow I just find the void deck areas esp near the lift abit dark and ulu (at 6 plus in the evening before the lights on)...

How is the safety here in TPY central 79? From far the flats look okay.. when one enters, realize its abit overwhelming... ceilings high and all... I abit scared leh if next time go home alone ~~

- i think i noe which unit u'd selected.

- ceiling height high?

- base on my limited knowledge, hdb ceiling ht is standard at 2.7m floor to floor or ceiling to ceiling.

- for blk 79 flats, all levs r 2.7m high. e levs with high ceiling r 11th & 40th storey.

- particular is 11th storey (3.2m i think) cos 12th sty is e sky garden.

- on e floor slab of 12th sty or above e roof slab of 11th sty, they need 2 cater 4 e waterproofing, drainage system, planting bed for e sky garden. olso e diversion of sanitary & sewage pipe frm above. Certain m&e space is required.

The very most important thing is that if you have any CPF grants from them, take note that you need to be legally married before they will release the keys to you. Otherwise you will be making an empty trip on that day, if your ROM is anywhere after the key collection day do inform your officer in advance so that they can help in drafting an undertaking letter for you to sign on the day itself.

Try to go home after 7.30pm should be alright. Sometimes the power will trip for the lobby area during night time, so do prepare for a dark feeling once in a while, there will still be minimal lights there.

Always look left and right and back and the stairways before walking towards your unit and opening the doors for precautions during the day and night.

Welcome to the 79 neighbourhood soon to be neighbour!

- for those 79ers who had had goten their flat thru balloting ex, think only a handful got CPF grant bah? :huh:

- lately, e corridor lights r only On at 8pm, dunoe izit e timer fault or TC trying 2 cut elect bill cost? :dunno:

- mus look left & rite, front & bak everytime wen going hm? Sounds scary lei. :help:

- aniway, las time there r more non-residents/strangers loitering around e neighbourhood.

- now lesser liao but stil hav.

- no harm taking extra precautions.

Edited by jaCKY777

- i did paid not long ago.

- i remember i posted in e forum olso. It shd b for yr2008 bah? :unsure:

- latest bill is 4 yr 2009 loh.

- penalty of 5% if late payment after 31jan09 lah.

- yah hor. i'v 4goten abt e TV license.

- e analog signal for ch 5 & 8 lousy lei, got wavy effect on e screen, img not clear & sharp lei.

- e digital signal for all ch r ok, no special effect, img clear & sharp.

- lucky mine is full-HD if not...

- wat if my TV is of those obsolete models, those big-box CRT type, do i stil nid 2 pay TV license 2 watch e not-clear & wavy img & not so nice tv shows?

:wacko:

hi jacky, so in the end which TV model u got? yr reno finished already?

Congrats to roy777ong & Yvonnetham, welcome to 79, yr friendly neighbourhood :)

Roy - yours high floor right? u can pm me if want to see see my unit, simple layout and design...

Don't forget still got $110 TV licence to contribute to MDA for MediaCrap's rubbish hor!

Our abangs up North have long done away with this medieval tax... Malaysia Boleh!

Yeah man, Garmen is legalized "robbers"... Need money..... no need knieves... just send us notice to make us pay up. Don't understand why we need to pay license for TV when we already paying to subscribe to Starhub for cable....... I wonder if SBSTransit need to pay TV license. Every bus got 2 LCDs.... But expected one lah.... GLC, left pocket give..... right pocket take back...

Then what about the thousands of households up north watching Media Cock channels for free?? What has MDA got to say about that?? You expect us to pay for other people's entertainment izit....NB.....

Edited by CUTEBABY

hi all! Thks so much for the warm welcome... but i think im probably the most chui one...cos i haven even paid downpayment...faint... still waitin for 2nd appt with hdb cos we havinm some cock ups with the additional grant appln.

Erm about the ceiling i mean downstairs la... the void decks.. i haven been inside my unit so i dunnoe~~ i only seen the one at Habitat Forum... do until so nice... entice ppl hehehehe..

u all sound so pro leh.. live 79 too long liao maybe... lol! By the time i ask u all abt the reno part, i think will be 1-2yrs later... lol

I haven even ROM, at most, HDB will allow to drag how long to produce cert??

hi all! Thks so much for the warm welcome... but i think im probably the most chui one...cos i haven even paid downpayment...faint... still waitin for 2nd appt with hdb cos we havinm some cock ups with the additional grant appln.

Erm about the ceiling i mean downstairs la... the void decks.. i haven been inside my unit so i dunnoe~~ i only seen the one at Habitat Forum... do until so nice... entice ppl hehehehe..

u all sound so pro leh.. live 79 too long liao maybe... lol! By the time i ask u all abt the reno part, i think will be 1-2yrs later... lol

I haven even ROM, at most, HDB will allow to drag how long to produce cert??

Hi yvonnetham,

welcome welcome... :notti:

Based on my knowledge, ROM cert got to be produced within 6mth from the day of key collection. However, max i think can drag to 1 year. For my case, i did it abt 4mth + later and ALWAYS got calls from HDB asking me to submit my ROM cert... :bleah:

Hope this info helps ... :yamseng:

Congrats to roy777ong & Yvonnetham, welcome to 79, yr friendly neighbourhood :)

Roy - yours high floor right? u can pm me if want to see see my unit, simple layout and design...

Thanks stay79. PM you alr.

Yeah man, Garmen is legalized "robbers"... Need money..... no need knieves... just send us notice to make us pay up. Don't understand why we need to pay license for TV when we already paying to subscribe to Starhub for cable....... I wonder if SBSTransit need to pay TV license. Every bus got 2 LCDs.... But expected one lah.... GLC, left pocket give..... right pocket take back...

Then what about the thousands of households up north watching Media Cock channels for free?? What has MDA got to say about that?? You expect us to pay for other people's entertainment izit....NB.....

Haha... I share your anger & frustrations at our state of the nation... or should I say LEE Inc.

Emperor's time is coming soon... when the casinos are ready, it's time for him to take the long boat back to Guangdong. Time to chill the bubbly :drunk:

Mr Lee said he was once dead set against it. “In the 1970s, Stanley Ho of Hong Kong said, ‘Have a casino.’ He had a casino in Macau. So I said, ‘No, over my dead body!’” But the world has changed. Increasingly, people can easily fly to gambling centres just a few hour’s flight away.

Mr Lee said: “I believe the Chinese are congenital gamblers...it is a game of chance. If you believe putting in an extra dollar or even a million can garner you a windfall, I say god bless.”

I'm at B, 90sqm!!! I was there yesterday to recce the place again =P... somehow I just find the void deck areas esp near the lift abit dark and ulu (at 6 plus in the evening before the lights on)...

How is the safety here in TPY central 79? From far the flats look okay.. when one enters, realize its abit overwhelming... ceilings high and all... I abit scared leh if next time go home alone ~~

Welcome to the neighbourhood!

Just got to take extra precaution when coming home very late... during the evening is still ok as we are in quite a central location, plenty of people bypassing the blocks.

If you're coming back in the early morning, just be careful especially when walking through the 12th level sky garden or the corridors linking to the MSCP. Quite a few hidden spots along the way, and since it's not facing the main road, it's much quieter. Better to walk back from the ground floor instead if you're alone.

Although there are CCTVs installed on the 12th storey sky garden, I believe they're not instant monitoring types. Not to scare anyone but I think it may be too late for any authorities to react if something were to happen. But so far, no serious crime has been committed except for acts of vandalism and the gathering of some alcohol-drinking, bare-bodied, tattooed, non-Chinese.

Another thing to note if you're driving is that we do not have free parking on Sunday and Public Holidays in the MSCP yet. Just in case you have friends dropping by for the year end festivities. And also we have very on the ball parking wardens eyeing for some fresh bait every evening. So try not to contribute more $$$ to the already fattened LTA cow. :bangwall:

oh no how? Cannot go home late? I really **** scared cos I've kena pervert before in my own neighbourhood in CCK area.... from thatd ay onwards... everytime i go home a bit later my heart naturally beats faster...

I got one thing i always do... before i step into the lift if I'm home late.. i will leave one foot out of the lift instead of going all the way in. Until i make sure no one else following me den my that foot will step in and quickly close the door lift... hahaha i dunno if u all knw what im talkin abt... maybe i can demo next time lol. yes u can see i'm still so paranoid even though the incident happened some time back..

Thats why i feel my new house to be the void deck SO DARK. Once i went recce without my fiance... it was 2pm +... but still its so like ulu. I dun like the part the lifts still like warehouse like that... inside all those posters and ads... very ah long style...

opps i talk alot... but i very scared la!!! Shd i go learn kung fu???? ahahaha

oh no how? Cannot go home late? I really **** scared cos I've kena pervert before in my own neighbourhood in CCK area.... from thatd ay onwards... everytime i go home a bit later my heart naturally beats faster...

I got one thing i always do... before i step into the lift if I'm home late.. i will leave one foot out of the lift instead of going all the way in. Until i make sure no one else following me den my that foot will step in and quickly close the door lift... hahaha i dunno if u all knw what im talkin abt... maybe i can demo next time lol. yes u can see i'm still so paranoid even though the incident happened some time back..

Thats why i feel my new house to be the void deck SO DARK. Once i went recce without my fiance... it was 2pm +... but still its so like ulu. I dun like the part the lifts still like warehouse like that... inside all those posters and ads... very ah long style...

opps i talk alot... but i very scared la!!! Shd i go learn kung fu???? ahahaha

Yep yep...it can be kinda scary to walk alone through the many urbanised 'trapdoors' and corridors in our beloved blk. Kinda reminds me of playing Wolfestein. LOL.

Anyway, it would be best to avoid all the interconnecting floors between the blocks (including the sky garden) and just use the 1st floor main corridor. :D

Anyone know where to duplicate keys at Tpy central..Heard there's for $0.80/key.

There's 1 at central opposite our block. It;s under a covered 'tunnel' going towards Courts, I think. U can try that. ;)

Anyone know where to duplicate keys at Tpy central..Heard there's for $0.80/key.

you can also try the NTUC(not HDB hub branch), there is makeshift shop o/s or Blk 177 furniture shop near the pawn shop..

I dun think i wld compromise on a $0.80 key, what if it breaks into two when you are opening the lock? :bangwall::bangwall:

more problems..

you can also try the NTUC(not HDB hub branch), there is makeshift shop o/s or Blk 177 furniture shop near the pawn shop..

I dun think i wld compromise on a $0.80 key, what if it breaks into two when you are opening the lock? :bangwall::bangwall:

more problems..

The one Vlaze mentioned is good and could be trusted. The one at Blk 177 may not have too many options. Also do not try the lady out the old NTUC - tried her a few time but could never get the keys right.

oic..thanks... did anyone tried the shop between TPY177 furniture and the bak kut teh shop?

they duplicate keys,repair bags and sewing m/c...