Mery

Looking For An Id/Contractor

I will b getting my keys sumwhere next year.... Im still torn between id and contractor....

Scared tat there will be too many hidden stuffs which i fail to see if engaging an id...

I really need recommendations...

So far ive received quotes from..

1) amac design

2) one stop design

3) linewerkz

4) ecela

Mine is only a 2 room flat. (1 living room and 1 bedroom)

What i need .....

1) kitchen cabinet with blum drawers...(need space since kitchen is small)

2) partition with sliding door in living room for son

3) laminate flooring (or is there any cheap tile flooring)

So far to date these three are the main issue....

There r also case when an id gave me ger quotation and i email her asking the need of haulage service as another id did not indicate haulage svs and i just need to test her in asking if haulage is a must or not...she juz replied.."ok take out haulage service" and no explanation given.

So im quite a confuse person here...which to get some pointers.....frm the experience ppl here...

Tia.....

I will b getting my keys sumwhere next year.... Im still torn between id and contractor....

Scared tat there will be too many hidden stuffs which i fail to see if engaging an id...

I really need recommendations...

So far ive received quotes from..

1) amac design

2) one stop design

3) linewerkz

4) ecela

Mine is only a 2 room flat. (1 living room and 1 bedroom)

What i need .....

1) kitchen cabinet with blum drawers...(need space since kitchen is small)

2) partition with sliding door in living room for son

3) laminate flooring (or is there any cheap tile flooring)

So far to date these three are the main issue....

There r also case when an id gave me ger quotation and i email her asking the need of haulage service as another id did not indicate haulage svs and i just need to test her in asking if haulage is a must or not...she juz replied.."ok take out haulage service" and no explanation given.

So im quite a confuse person here...which to get some pointers.....frm the experience ppl here...

Tia.....

Go with someone you feel comfortable and have hdb licence. Some Id borrow licence which means the directors hv less than 3 years experience running the Id business. They may be working for someone before but not directors or owners. Contractors generally charged less than iD. If you know how to coordinate you can do it yourself.

kitchen cabinet with blum drawers...(need space since kitchen is small) - buy the Blum drawers and ask yr carpenter to install. You will need to construct a concrete base which is done by tiler. And also hire a plumber and electrician to wire up your hood and oven, powerpoints adding and shift some. Some contractors can do that all for you.

2) partition with sliding door in living room for son. Ceiling partition guys contractor can do this for you. Doors by door specialist.

3) laminate flooring (or is there any cheap tile flooring). Laminate floor price from $2.80 to 5 psf. Go for AC4 abrasion rating.google what is ac3 n ac4.

Tiles supply n installation average price is about 6.50 - 7 psf. Tiles price is about 2.80 - 3 psf retail price. So tile is more expensive but last much longer. Your choice and budget. Forget about rubber tiles as they are soft despite waterproof. Yours is small flat so go for tiles if hv budget.

I'd can arrange all that. Some contractors also does that too competing with ID. Most are very experienced otherwise they cannot be direct contractors. Many contractors also sub work from ID firm, so same thing. Some ID! Especially those in expo are so green and don't know much. Go for the experienced ones. Green horns usually screw up your Reno.

Got quote from them and its SKY rocket high...certain item is double compare to other ID. :deal:

You are already lucky they even quoted you. Mine, they taken my layout and wasted my 1~2 hours meeting session and still no reply. After the 3rd call with him (So call senior interior Designer - B.....d..K.H)I gave up on them. If such a basic customer - Supplier relation cannot even be fulfill, can't imagine what their reliability to be no matter how good their designs are.

BTW, the designer above, can't even remember the customer's name....gave excuse to say handphone lost so no record of contacts, even though email correspondence was made.

Try them with your own risk !! !!

Posted 25 September 2012 - 09:58 PM

Thank Chris Siew from Ideal Design Interior. I'm really very satisfied with his renovation work for my tpy new flat.

Competitive pricing with other ID. His responsibility and services

Although there some minor touch-up. He still manage to settle it quickly and handover on time before my furniture delivery in. Thank you so much Chris. All the best to you.

Recommend Renovation ID : Chris Siew (Ideal Design Interior)

As my sis also engaged him . :good::good: :good:

I will be getting my keys around may to june 2013. am already looking around for id/contractors to get quote, but been hearing that my budget of 40k is not enough. anyone could advise if to do a full reno for a 5room resale flat with a budget of 40k is enough or not. if possible, any id/contractors to recommend to work within my budget. thanks.

these are the items which i intend to do:

1. Hacking for flooring, windows, doors.

2. construct study room

3. laminate flooring for all rooms

4. homo tiles for living, toilet, kitchen

5. ceiling work for living and all rooms

6. balcony flooring

7. kitchen cabinet top & bottom

8. all new doors

9. new windows

10. feature wall with console

11. electrical work

12. plumbering work

13. walk in wardrobe in master bed

14. some other minor carpentry work like side table, shelves

hi cyril,

i think 40k should be quite comfortable for those things you mentioned. My friend also a 5 room, his renovation cost about 40k also.You still have time, can take your time to ask around. good luck.

I would like to share my experience in searching for ID/contractor for the past 1 month. I had called quite a few contractor/ID recommended in this forum. Most of them couldn't make it (about 4 of them) simply because the design & quality is totally out, not even passing my minimum expectation.

Please beware for the posting in renovation forum. Always seek for workmanship.

Be careful in selection of ID/Contractor:

1. DO NOT sign quotation untill you are certain what is given (material selection (what brand, range....), design, workmanship, actual measurement & payment term)

2. DO NOT get ID with FREE GIFTs. Just think about who will pay for it at the end? There is no such thing call free lunch in the world.

3. DO NOT get ID who helds exibition in EXPO as the rental in EXPO is sssssoooo expensive.

4. Some ID are good at sales talk and presentation. Be alert to what is sold to you not what is presented/display.

5. DO NOT believe in lifetime warranty. Some may dissappear/close down the next year. When there is problem arise, some just attend once or twice, that is all. So don't believe in this lifetime thing. ID could just easily change the company's name, relocation,disappear...

6. What is promised got to be written down on the paper. No oral promise.

7. How often ID would visit the site?

8. I know that usually after signing the quotation blindly, every single changes, they would charge, charge... This is the tactic for them to earn money. SO, do discuss in details as mentioned in no. 1 before signing up the paper.

Just to share for quotation that i got.

Wardrobe with internal in color per ft = range from $240 to $360

Iquartz = $145 per ft

Kitchen cabinet (white inside) = $120 per ft

I have experience an ID in IMM, refuse to let me have a copy of the quotation. Something is fishy. So we have rejected this ID.

Per my experience

Kitchen worktop = i prefer black galaxy/blue pearl granite ( use black galaxy for 9 years with no problem at all). If you have budget, can opt for quartz, just a little bit more. Choose for secondary option of quartz. Ceacerstone is too expensive, about 40% more compare to granite's price.

Backsplash = I do not prefer stainless steel as backsplash as it is very difficult to maintain. I have used it for 9 years. I prefer tempered glass as it is easy to clean and nice. But my ID said that for heavy user, the color sprayed on it will turn yellow and won't be nice. So , not recommended for heavy cooking. My new house will be using the existing tile provided by HDB.

Lamination = go for reliable brand eg: EDL (modern, nice & reliable), Lam chuan. This is what i know.

Window grill = use the normal hollow one will do. My existing flat's brown window grills have been with us more than 10 years with excellent condition till now.

Hob = I personally prefer Rinnai as the flame is strong and good for chinese cooking.

Air-cond = we use sharp but the utility bill is scary. Quiet. We are going to use Mitsubishi converter.

I totally agree with you!!! I also had bad experience with my ID. the items listed in the quotation is v generic. and the variation sum also not tally by onsite measurement for tiles. Funny thing is she did an onsite measurement for cabinet and realsie she made a mistake then she refuse to waive off instead charge me for the box up. I really advise for those who have yet to sign a contract with ID, please ensure the contract is as clear to you as to your ID to avoid misunderstanding which will affect the end product i.e. your renovation budget and deisgn concept. Good Luck peepz! O and its better to engage someone base on recommendation as this approach is safer in terms of quality of work being delivered.

Have any heard Icon D'zigne / Cosy Living / Ritchie Creative? Any comment?

Normally how much will it cost if i would like to add additional layer to existing wardrobe external of said 8ft? Any comment about the Bellus solid top? How much per foot run for this brand?

Just engaged Derrick from Cosy Living.. who will be doing my 2 toilets & kitchen.. will be starting this monday... hopefully everything will turn out good..!!

Choose him cause after comparing his quotation wif direct contractor.. almost the same.. oso we r comfortable discussing with him.. hopefully my 2 weeks will turn out good n as promised..

I will be getting my keys around may to june 2013. am already looking around for id/contractors to get quote, but been hearing that my budget of 40k is not enough. anyone could advise if to do a full reno for a 5room resale flat with a budget of 40k is enough or not. if possible, any id/contractors to recommend to work within my budget. thanks.

these are the items which i intend to do:

1. Hacking for flooring, windows, doors.

2. construct study room

3. laminate flooring for all rooms

4. homo tiles for living, toilet, kitchen

5. ceiling work for living and all rooms

6. balcony flooring

7. kitchen cabinet top & bottom

8. all new doors

9. new windows

10. feature wall with console

11. electrical work

12. plumbering work

13. walk in wardrobe in master bed

14. some other minor carpentry work like side table, shelves

should be fine but if your budget dun match then you need to manage your own expectation and cut down on certain items. key is to find a reliable id to help you first and work through the cost/plan

Can I check what is the typical flow when hunting for ID/contractor.

When arrange for meet up, will they show you pics of past work so that you have idea of what you want before going into quotation drafting? Most of the terms inside the quotation are greek to noobs.

If anyone needs to be introduced to a good company for renovation or carpentry work.

let me know;

i know of one who have good workmanship and do closely monitor the work progresses. They are good, fast and produce good quality work too.

My friends had him done up their house for a reasonable price...

i hope you all have the same experience with whatever contractor you have..

Good luck and cheers!

pm me if you need his contact