Warrior88

Write A Will

you can actually draft a simple will yourself.. no need lawyer.. just get 2 witnesses age above 21 and they cannot be your beneficiary..

Oh! really? Do you hav any regular format. And mind telling me where can we submit this draft.

If your home-made Will is ineffective or invalid, your beneficiaries may suffer unnecessary expense and distress.

It is therefore in your interest to consult a Lawyer to draft your Will.

After you have made a valid will, you need to fill up Form 5 with the Wills Registry in IPTO, maxwell road .

Please read up here:

http://app2.ipto.gov.sg/IPTOServices/Publi...84/Default.aspx

Thanks RofIMaoxz,

Thats what I thought, you need a lawyer to do the submission and file up in the registry so ensure that it is legal binding.

So, I guess not many forumers does that.

im just married. no kids. just got house. write will also nothing to leave behind leh.

You got your Eldershield, CPF, cash savings. Your house under HPS.

See the case recently, husband die first, all go to wife,

wife die later, all go to wife's parents.

Husband parents got nothing :(

How come so? from what i read should be half-half to spouse and parents.

Please see below:

http://statutes.agc.gov.sg/non_version/cgi...mp;method=whole

Rule 4

If an intestate dies leaving a surviving spouse and no issue but a parent or parents, the spouse shall be entitled to one-half of the estate and the parent or parents to the other half of the estate.

"issue" includes children and the descendants of deceased children.

Intestacy is the condition of the estate of a person who dies owning property greater than the sum of his enforceable debts and funeral expenses without having made a valid will or other binding declaration; alternatively where such a will or declaration has been made, but only applies to part of the estate, the remaining estate forms the "Intestate Estate". --> From wikipedia

eg. husband pass away

If no kid,

50% to wife

50% to parent (share among)

If had kid,

50% to wife

50% to kid (share among the # of kids)

For single,

100% to parent

If parent no around,

100% to sister and brother

If no parent, no sister , no brother

100% to auntie and uncle

The above is for non-muslim

If is Muslim, then they had another set of practise

How come so? from what i read should be half-half to spouse and parents.

If the HDB is bought under husband and wife.

Either party pass away, the HDB belong to the other party.

Parent get zero.

half half is for cash la, FD la, share la, etc etc except HDB

I think CPF also all to spouse if nomination is made to spouse only.

So, the 2 main bulk go to spouse ( CPF & Property with HPS )

Quote from CPF : http://ask-us.cpf.gov.sg/Home/hybrid/Theme...&SourceId=1

Q: What happens to my CPF if I pass away?

A: When you pass away, your CPF savings will be passed to the Public Trustee for distribution to your family according to the intestacy laws.

Should you wish to distribute your CPF savings differently from the intestacy laws, you will need to make a CPF nomination.

If you have a valid CPF Nomination, the following will be distributed to your nominees in the proportion as stated in your nomination upon your death:

(a) Savings in the Ordinary, Special, Medisave and Retirement Accounts;

(b) Discounted SingTel (ST) shares;

The following are not covered by CPF Nomination:

(a) Cash and investments held in the CPF Investment Account under the CPF Investment Scheme-Ordinary Account (CPFIS-OA);

(b) Investments held under CPF Investment Scheme-Special Account (CPFIS-SA);

© Dependants' Protection Scheme (DPS) claim proceeds; and

(d) Properties bought with CPF savings.

The above would form part of your estate. However, for DPS claim proceeds payable by NTUC Income, if a nomination has been made under the Co-operative Societies Act, it would then be distributed according to the nomination under the Co-Operative Societies Act.

If you did not make a nomination, the Board will transfer your CPF savings to the Public Trustee for distribution in accordance with the written law.

http://ask-us.cpf.gov.sg/Home/hybrid/Theme...&SectionId=

Q: How will my CPF savings be distributed under the intestacy laws?

A: If you are non-Muslim, the Public Trustee will distribute your CPF savings in accordance with the Intestate Succession Act (Cap 146). Your CPF savings will be distributed to your family in the following manner as shown here.

If you are a Muslim, your CPF savings will be distributed in accordance with the Inheritance Certificate. Your family can obtain the certificate from the Syariah Court, 512 Thomson Road, MCYS Building, Singapore 298136. Please click here for more details.

For more information on the administrative fees and processing time of the Public Trustee, please contact the Public Trustee at:

Insolvency & Public Trustee’s Office

The URA Centre

East Wing,

45 Maxwell Road, #06-11

Singapore 069118

Tel: 63251500

Fax: 62242858

For more information, please refer to 'Administration of CPF Monies of Deceased Persons by the Public Trustee'.

For cash, joint account. Spouse will withdraw all amount :(

For single account, base on Intestacy law, spouse/parent share.

But bank, got many procedure in release the cash without a will.

eg. husband pass away

If no parent, no sister , no brother

100% to auntie and uncle

The above is for non-muslim

If is Muslim, then they had another set of practise

If no parent, no spouse, no kid, no sister , no brother, no auntie and uncle, germent "tang tio" liao. :dribble:

Edited by Rof|maoxz