bobztoise

My First Reno Experience

Hi bobztoise,

I'm getting my keys next week on 22th Nov and guess what....we have the same floor plan! I'm at 18C, what about you? BTW, how much did aron quote you for your aircon? You are very efficient..you already have a confirm list to buy...cool~!

oinkoink

Same block!

Finally a neighbor

But my keys only collect 2 dec :(

Aron quoted me $3800+ for mitsubishi inverter system 4

Edited by bobztoise

Went to Teka today..

oven was my most researched item as i neither own 1 now nor used 1 previously

Had checked Miele (way way too expensive)

Brandt (affordable, made in France)

Bosch (more expensive than Brandt for same specs; made in Germany; better built quality)

Finally went Teka today and I think I am set

tekatmw22bi.jpg

TEKA TMW 22 BI

beauty is in it's simplicity

to pair with

tekahe635.jpg

TEKA HE 635

again simple with 8 cooking functions and digital timer

build quality better than Brandt with pricing in Brandt's range

another item that underwent "rigorous" window shopping

boschwas28444.jpg

Bosch WAS 28444

my dream machine, made in Germany

$1,399 at Everjoint with standard free Bosch vacuum (you should get this whoever you buy this item from, it's given by Bosch)

lgf1422td.jpg

due to budget busted

think may settle for LG F1422TD

made in Korea

$999 at Best, Harvey, Mega discount

at a 40% price premium, unless I see an 8kg front load made in Europe close to $1,000, think it's LG for me

think Korea is no less reliable than Thailand

Went to Teka today..

oven was my most researched item as i neither own 1 now nor used 1 previously

Had checked Miele (way way too expensive)

Brandt (affordable, made in France)

Bosch (more expensive than Brandt for same specs; made in Germany; better built quality)

Finally went Teka today and I think I am set

tekatmw22bi.jpg

TEKA TMW 22 BI

beauty is in it's simplicity

to pair with

tekahe635.jpg

TEKA HE 635

again simple with 8 cooking functions and digital timer

build quality better than Brandt with pricing in Brandt's range

Have you considered the TEKA MWX 45 BIS for your microwave. I think it would match your oven even better.

Hmmm... I remember seeing it...

If not mistaken, I think such a combo will result in a fair degree of function overlap

Not to mention probably increase total cost by 15 to 20%

I'll check the specs again

sharphealsio.jpg

Sharp Healsio AX-1500V (know nothing about ovens but using this as a reference for features; appreciate any recommendations in this area.. )

Mmm... I got a similar Healsio. Smaller version. Not bad. Got super steam, steam, bake and grill oven, microwave. My 12-yo son use the oven bake pizzas!! :D

yah I was very impressed with the functions

however it does not really fit into a tall cabinet

and design is somewhat quirky with a vent on top to release the steam

the closest i found with similar functionality and size was the Bosch steam combi and Miele

but i think it could be too much to pay for such a small cavity

i got the smaller version also. AX-1300 iirc.

but so far have not used it yet. did you place your unit at the tabletop as the manual recommended or in a built in cabinet?

i got the smaller version also. AX-1300 iirc.

but so far have not used it yet. did you place your unit at the tabletop as the manual recommended or in a built in cabinet?

Mine is placed like this. :D

http://www.renotalk.com/forum/index.php?s=...st&p=565823

Target mine very long liao. Bought it in April at Best Denki when they had their 25th anni sale. So happy.

Hi bobztoise, oinkoink,

Sorry but OT abit

May i ask how the SERS compensation is based on?

Any HDB officer came over to did a assesment of yr old unit of the condition as in reno, flooring, condition?

Hi bobztoise, oinkoink,

Sorry but OT abit

May i ask how the SERS compensation is based on?

Any HDB officer came over to did a assesment of yr old unit of the condition as in reno, flooring, condition?

Hi, it's based on market valuation and condition of reno at point of assessment plus a little premium

In my case, the compensation (decided by Govt) in 2005 was market value plus a small premium

So a 3rm flat then was valued at $176K, compensation was $195K

so sad....

Teka ovens mostly sold out

Teka microwaves all models sold out......

unbelievable

hopefully the models I want will arrive in the next shipment

Edited by bobztoise

About Electrical Appliances

Thought I might share some tips gathered from my months of research

Have been visiting various shops over many weekends since August or so

(1) The cheapest (and for the cash rich)

Everjoint at AMK

Every single appliance that I checked had the lowest quote here

From Samsung, Mitsubishi, Hitachi, Bosch, Brandt; they even carry hobs, hoods and ovens

Unless they did not carry the item, otherwise they had the lowest quotes

The downside is no credit card payment nor instalment schemes

(2) The most negotiable among the "big boys"

Mega Discount

As the salepersons here run individual commissions, you can bargain better when doing bulk purchase

i.e. there is no limitation that the salesperson selling TV must refer you to a colleague when you want a fridge also

So if you are buying several appliances at one go, collate with 1 salesperson and nego for a discount

If you buy the fridge from someone and ask for the TV from another, it is harder to get a good deal since commission gets split 2 ways

I am not sure about instalment plans as I did not proceed to the purchase stage with them

They also claim to have a price matching scheme where you can "place a deposit to lock in prices first"

If prices drop further within Mega Discount stores before delivery of items, they will match the lower price

Cannot verify the authenticity of this claim since this was a sure sign of desperation to close deal

Note also that asking different salesperson on different days in the same shop will yield you different recommendations so do your own research

(3) The "uncomfortable" pick

Harvey Norman and Courts

Been to several branches of both brands including the mega store at Tampines for Courts

They seen to have the highest sticker prices and I suspect nobody pay those prices unless you did not ask

Harvey Norman has an unspoken 8-9% discount off price tags on normal days; if you dun ask, they may not inform you though i think it would be strange if anyone was willing to pay the price indicated on labels

Never go for Max Credit schemes at Courts, you are paying almost 3 times for your items if you do so

Strange that they should advertise the scheme so much when a simple calculation will reveal that the total consumers would have paid over the 36 or 48 months will be way higher than the price tag

In terms of product knowledge, none at Courts gave me a good vibe

There were a couple at Harvey Norman but unfortunately; not my most comfortable choice

(4) Those that know; know BEST

Best Denki

Best Denki's new tagline, you will see new posters along the lines of the above tagline

I find it very clever

From Ngee Ann City to IMM, most of the salesperson I spoke to display a deep understanding of their products not felt at other shops except 1 at Harvey Norman

Perhaps it is the way they segregate the sales personnel

The TV person will refer you to the fridge person who will then refer you to the washing machine person should you be looking for multiple appliances

I get the impression that they will refer you to the specialist in that appliance category when you are doing your research

Commission is also split accordingly so TV person, Fridge person will earn their respective deals from the appliance sold

Hope the above helps

I picked Best Denki in the end

If not for cash flow concerns, I would certainly pick Everjoint as it is the lowest without a doubt

Also, as my scheduled delivery is likely to be a week or two before CNY; reliability was my topmost concern

Edited by bobztoise