prism

Buying Own Materials And Engaging Contractor To Supply Labour And Project Management

Was wondering, if I buy my own materials (for example tiles and lights) and then engage a contractor build those things, will I save money? Do contractors mark up prices on materials?

U should save some money.

Contractors will mark up prices, thats because they help you to procure the materials, give you advice on what you should get, and help coordinate the installation. They need to eat, and thats the service they provide you with. Contractors also tend to get better prices than you, so that the difference in what you pay compared to what he charges you is reduced. They may have existing relationships with the suppliers, which helps bend rules sometimes under special circumstances.

Personally feel that it should be left to the contractor unless you are experienced. If anything screws up, you may end up paying a lot more to get things fixed.

Edited by Soichiro

Was wondering, if I buy my own materials (for example tiles and lights) and then engage a contractor build those things, will I save money? Do contractors mark up prices on materials?

lights usually can buy urself, not an issue at all. Unless u want a certain ambience which u need advice on what lights to get, then u might want to ask them to tag along.

Tiles - many would go with contractor to choose their tiles. Its very common. U can go with their recommended shop or not its fine.

Other fixtures like soft close mechanisms, electrical products like switches and power points, it depends on your contractor and what price he can offer.

If u are talking about building material like cement, bricks, sand etc.. i think better leave it to the contractors since most consumers would not know what and how much to buy. U probably end up getting chopped by the shop anyway.

Typically most people just throw everything to contractor as they are already bogged down with buying furniture, electrical, electronics products, etc...

Saving money on renovation can be achieved by:

- using cheaper products

- opt not to do the "extras"

- DIY (seperate electrical, carpentry, doors, windows, tiler) --> but u must have time to coordinate and know how to check for cutting corners. Rule of thumb, check places where u would not normally see.

- DIY (using your creativity to re-cycle old furniture and hence saving $$)

The ultimate DIY case is go to renotalk.com and look for a thread under "bigfatfish".

What is your definition of materials?

If its just things like tiles and lights, bathroom fittings, some people do get it themselves, others will have the contractor quote a rate (so they get a sense of total cost) and then when they choose the stuff, they could end up needing to top up (if they want better quality) or enjoy a reduction (not often, I think).

Or are you also thinking of supplying things like cement and other building materials yourself? Suggest you leave that to them. Like Soichiro said, these are where they probably have the upper hand. Most of the advice you see on renotalk also does not deal with the cost of such building materials.

if supplier sell to u at cost price, might as well go home sleep :D, so for sure they will mark up prices one....

right, if no lift landing, every flight of steps for haulage is chargeable.

Edited by neubie

What is your definition of materials?

If its just things like tiles and lights, bathroom fittings, some people do get it themselves, others will have the contractor quote a rate (so they get a sense of total cost) and then when they choose the stuff, they could end up needing to top up (if they want better quality) or enjoy a reduction (not often, I think).

Or are you also thinking of supplying things like cement and other building materials yourself? Suggest you leave that to them. Like Soichiro said, these are where they probably have the upper hand. Most of the advice you see on renotalk also does not deal with the cost of such building materials.

I was thinking of getting tiles, lights, bathroom fittings, window grills. things like cement and paint I was thinking of leaving to the contractor.

After reading some of the post, I'm assuming its possible to draft a contract that excludes cost for tiles, lights, bathroom fittings, window grills etc.

Come to think of it, will I save money if I get a contractor to do things more general labour type of things like tiles and painting, but get seperate specialist like plumber, carpenter, glass guy, electrician, windows guy and aircon guy myself?

its of course possible to get all seperate contacts like window makers, plumbers, electrician...etc.

When u engage a contractor, he just coordinates all the different groups of people for you, same thing. Its just knowing the sequence, whether u know who to engage and how much money u save.

But do realise that by self coordinating, u are open to risk of one group of sub-con spoiling the works of other sub con. Like plumber damage tiles...then u got trouble liao...as they will play taiji...

Unless u have a lot of time, don't even try to coordinate yourself. Me and wife did the coordination ourselves for electrical works, carpentry, air con, doors, windows, laminate flooring, spraying of tiles, door and window grilles. Saved a fair bit, spend a lot of time and vommitted quite some blood. But its still worth going thru as we learnt quite a lot of stuff along the way.

Not for most people as its really too time consuming.

PS: no such thing as specialist when renovation is concerned. U would learn along the way, many just anyhow do...

its of course possible to get all seperate contacts like window makers, plumbers, electrician...etc.

When u engage a contractor, he just coordinates all the different groups of people for you, same thing. Its just knowing the sequence, whether u know who to engage and how much money u save.

But do realise that by self coordinating, u are open to risk of one group of sub-con spoiling the works of other sub con. Like plumber damage tiles...then u got trouble liao...as they will play taiji...

Unless u have a lot of time, don't even try to coordinate yourself. Me and wife did the coordination ourselves for electrical works, carpentry, air con, doors, windows, laminate flooring, spraying of tiles, door and window grilles. Saved a fair bit, spend a lot of time and vommitted quite some blood. But its still worth going thru as we learnt quite a lot of stuff along the way.

Not for most people as its really too time consuming.

PS: no such thing as specialist when renovation is concerned. U would learn along the way, many just anyhow do...

Thanks gimz, by the way, roughly how much was this "fair bit" that you saved? This could help me decide whether its worth my effort or not. hahaa

ok...do note the below is for reference only ah... i compared quotes between contractor and direct sub con.

1. Carpentry for kitchen - saved around 30%.

2. Electrical - comparing quotes availble in renotalk and my electrician. saved 20% or so. Not directly comparable as i bought different switches.

3. windows - never ask contractor to quote but he marvelled how come so cheap. u can get the list of licenced window installers from HDB website.

4. door - not directly comparable as the contractor quoted for fire rated door. i reckon around 20%. Doors are one of the easiest to outsource anyway...

5. laminate - contractor quoted for same ac rating to match the price. but still went to sub con as they have the design we liked.

6. spray flooring - different brand but looks and feel the same but contractor's is more ex by 25% or so.

7. air con - almost all contractor will ask u go and buy urself. Unless its those freebies thrown in due to packages which i tend to avoid.

8. painting - contractor quoted $900 for matex paint (3 room flat) . Painter friend quoted $700 using better paint Vinilex. Ended up had to use contractor's painters due to some screw up. Wasted $200...

Not sure if i missed out any.... but if u have the time, do source around for quotes and check if its worthwhile to self-manage. Do note that u have to go and open the door for the sub-con, check his work, etc.

Generally, its better to space out ur work schedule so that u have more time in between for rectifications. This also means that u cannot be in a rush to move in.

Edited by gimz63251073

Started my renovation in mid December *finally*! Just wanna share that if you have a lot of customization, it may be better to find main con as they can cater to your every whim :P

If you doing everything standard then sourcing for "specialist" is a good choice as they do offer a much better price. Quality may be questionable so do ask to see their workmanship first before confirming.

One thing to note is what everyone has been saying, you better have a lot of time to coordinate and be willing to face the TAIJI of involving so many parties.

I am thinking of semi-DIY approach to my reno. Thinking of doing carpentry for kitchen cabinets and worktops and toilet cabinets. But it will involve plumbing works also like kitchen sinks and shower things. Can I get the carpenter to manage the plumber and let the carpenter be responsible for the whole area (of course let him earn mark up on the plumber services). This way I can don't worry about the taichi of who broke who's stuff and yet cut down on mark up on the carpenters work if i get a main contractor to manage whole house for me. possible?

Its better to get a project management company and let someone to manage for you, i feel, in your case, you can entrust your carpenter to communicate with the plumber only if you really know the carpenter very well. Otherwise, its better to avoid the situation of the carpenter managing the plumber, dont think anybody will own up to their mistake due to miscommunication,if anything is to screw up, your reno duration will be delayed. I feel its not worth. If you nd the contact of a project management company, feel free to PM me, as im in talks with one over quotation currently.

you can find contractor to do wetworks for you (hacking and tiling and plumbing) this 3 is interlinked want lor.

the rest all can go direct lah. see if ur contractor is honest, he will not mark up too high want lor. abit of $ let people earn lor.

co-ordination is the nightmare. my newly-wed cousins did most themselves and end up everything screw up. waste even more $.

but if u let a main-con do, anything screw up he will be held responsible. :D

if u are going to let carpenter manage plumber, which i doubt any true carpenter will, u might as well get a contractor to do it for u...

if u plan to manage it yourself, u have to come out with your own schedule and dimensions for them to follow. Not easy but its not rocket science either.

Going via contractor route does not mean hassle free...certain instructions get miscommunicated and many times rectifications are needed.

To me, its just a matter of paying a contractor and having one point of contact or manage urself and having mulitple points of contact and paying less...