logger

Advice Needed

If i recently get a BTO from HDB, can I buy another private apartment?

Will I be able to get the full loan amount?

Thank you.

Q1. take key liao? (If yes, go to Q2)

Q2. > 5 yrs? (If yes, go to Q3. If no, Ans 1)

Ans 1. No private property

Q3. Can buy private property

Q4. has the HDB loan fully pay? (If yes, go to Ans 2, If no, Ans 3)

Ans 2. 80% bank loan

Ans 3. 60% bank loan

take key liao?

If yes, > 5 yrs?

If No , No private property

If Yes , Can buy private property

Is HDB loan pay finish liao?

If yes, 80% bank loan

If No, 60% bank loan

I just took my key. Meaning to say I must stay more than 5 years, then I can buy private property?

BINGO.

This rule has been in place for donkeys years

BINGO.

This rule has been in place for donkeys years

Really? Its not something to do with the recent cooling down measures by governement?

nope. all along for new flats from HDB, you can only buy private after fulfilling the MOP (minimum occupation period) of 5 yrs.

When I 1st bought HDB unit at 1999, this rule is already there.

When it start?

I don't know, my O level history didn't test on HDB :P

Woh so late meh, mine 1992, stayed for 13 yrs, then went for pte, stayed for >3yrs, now back to hdb again. Found staying in hdb more "worth" since I'm a singaporean. :P But I still missed my childhood kampong "landed" house.

I think (mind not functioning well lately)5yr mop for new flat introduced sometime in 1996 or 1997.

When I 1st bought HDB unit at 1999, this rule is already there.

When it start?

I don't know, my O level history didn't test on HDB :P

Woh so late meh, mine 1992, stayed for 13 yrs, then went for pte, stayed for >3yrs, now back to hdb again. Found staying in hdb more "worth" since I'm a singaporean. :P But I still missed my childhood kampong "landed" house.

I think (mind not functioning well lately)5yr mop for new flat introduced sometime in 1996 or 1997.

bepgof,

at 1992, I'm still underage. HDB will not allow me to buy any HDB :P

this rule is for BTO (aka NEW HDB) correct ?

what if you've got a resale, stayed less than 1 year and buying pte property (aka condo)

MOP is still 5-years for resale flat ?

this rule is for BTO (aka NEW HDB) correct ?

what if you've got a resale, stayed less than 1 year and buying pte property (aka condo)

MOP is still 5-years for resale flat ?

New rule.

Yes. For all, regardless whether got take CPF grant or HDB loan.

As long as u buy HDB new or resale, all 5 yrs MOP.

Unless you buy before the rule implemented.

if you own a HDB, and are unsure of your eligibility, better check with HDB before putting down your deposit/OTP for the private property...

or else the $ will be GONE if you are not eligible...

you may try to ask HDB for exemption (eg when i stayed in my flat for 4.5 years i wrote to HDB telling them i would like to get a private property that is near to my child's school and i got their green light in about a week)