Maria

Need Advice - Philips Downlight

Thinking of buying the Philips downlight (2 x 14 W) for my L box. Cut out size 106 mm x 106 mm. Is this size too big for HDB flat. Thanks.

yes, for standard 12" L-box 2 x 14W is too big. a 1 x 14 downlight will be sufficient. I once made a mistake of ordering those 2 x 14W downlights and managed to change to single-bulb type and installed in my flat. :rolleyes:

IMG_3567.jpg

Edited by neubie

yes, for standard 12" L-box 2 x 14W is too big. a 1 x 14 downlight will be sufficient. I once made a mistake of ordering those 2 x 14W downlights and managed to change to single-bulb type and installed in my flat. :rolleyes:

IMG_3567.jpg

Thanks. Will go for the Philips 1 X 14W.

dun take my word blindly. check with ur id or contractor regarding this.

Will definitely check before buying. Thanks.

These downlights should be very bright. I have the same one in my living room, its the smallest they have and works well enough.

My ceiling looks like this now with the downlights.

living_ceiling.jpg

Yes!! I am getting this for my new house too. Its one of the brightest available in the market. . I was quoted $33/set. How much did u guys paid for?

Was initially planning to get LED ones but was told by the lighting specialist that they are not bright enough to use a main light source. Will need to go with ceiling lights hence we find it not practical. I intend to put a ceiling fan in the middle like yours too.

Yes!! I am getting this for my new house too. Its one of the brightest available in the market. . I was quoted $33/set. How much did u guys paid for?

Was initially planning to get LED ones but was told by the lighting specialist that they are not bright enough to use a main light source. Will need to go with ceiling lights hence we find it not practical. I intend to put a ceiling fan in the middle like yours too.

Price should be around there bah. Mine also $30+. Considered the $15 ones, but can tell the quality difference, some misaligned also. Consider that this has no ballast, one less thing to change in the future too, and it switches on without flickering. Power consumption should be about half of the halogen downlights. And most importantly... doesn't emit much heat at all!

Note that if you want ceiling fan like I did... consider where you sofa will be and whether you want to blow direct or just a light side breeze for people sitting on the sofa. Mine... abit far from sofa I think. May put sofa nearer to TV lor.. experiment a bit.

Edited by Soichiro

Hi, about the philips downlight that is using E27 fitting, philips don't have those around 4000K colour temperature. Only warm white and daylight. Is there any other reliable E27 bulbs that has around 4000K colour temp "cool white" available in the market?

Price should be around there bah. Mine also $30+. Considered the $15 ones, but can tell the quality difference, some misaligned also. Consider that this has no ballast, one less thing to change in the future too, and it switches on without flickering. Power consumption should be about half of the halogen downlights. And most importantly... doesn't emit much heat at all!

Note that if you want ceiling fan like I did... consider where you sofa will be and whether you want to blow direct or just a light side breeze for people sitting on the sofa. Mine... abit far from sofa I think. May put sofa nearer to TV lor.. experiment a bit.

Thanks, Soichiro!

I went to read your T blog and noted that your contractor have hidden ur ceiling fan wire in the wall rather than using a trunking or false ceiling. I checked with my contractor and she told me that it is not approved by HDB and will need to fix back in future if selling the house. But is it safe? Will the structure of the ceiling be affected? I really like the look of ur ceiling... So clean cut.

Thanks, Soichiro!

I went to read your T blog and noted that your contractor have hidden ur ceiling fan wire in the wall rather than using a trunking or false ceiling. I checked with my contractor and she told me that it is not approved by HDB and will need to fix back in future if selling the house. But is it safe? Will the structure of the ceiling be affected? I really like the look of ur ceiling... So clean cut.

Well, it looks safe but should not quote me on that :)

We also bought it at S$33 last week. Indeed very bright but dun really like the wordings Philips on it :(

I thought so initially. But its up on the ceiling... hardly noticeable as u can see in the pic above. Anyway nobody would stare at the lights. :)

Can I check where did you buy your philips down light from? Thank you!