dare

Mitsubishi Heavy Industries Air Con Malfunction

Latest update.

The technician came down on Tuesday to replace the PCB that is causing the issue and later discover the PCB for the power also spoilt, so they came down on Wednesday to replace it. All of it cost my parent $378.85 and less then 24hours the system came back again. Now after troubleshooting they say the fan motor is spoilt. Currently they do not have a stock for it and guess what. Need to pay money for it. I told them that how come everything have to pay money when my compressor have warranty and they told me that the whole unit outside is call condenser not compressor. From my knowledge everyone outside is calling the unit compressor i did not know it's was call condenser. Anyone want to advise? :furious:

I am quite surprised...all these years they never improved their products, my unit was installed in 2002 and now the flat is rented out. It was a system 2 inverter...problems usually is not cold at all, change pcb a few times...even change the condensor unit outside to a new one....but problem persists...sometimes cold ..sometimes not at all...ended buying a portable aircon to supplement lol. Finally rented put the flat...so far tenant never complain guess they dont use to save electricity. They have very bad qc for pcb board I guess.

What I am surprised is now 2011 ... still got people complain the same thing.

Sometimes electrical stuff do have problem...but after one service or repair will solve it and giving you confidence in the product. Mine was continuous headache in span of 5 years with numerous part change...culminating in changing a 'new' condensor just before the 5 year waranty expire.

Latest update.

The technician came down on Tuesday to replace the PCB that is causing the issue and later discover the PCB for the power also spoilt, so they came down on Wednesday to replace it. All of it cost my parent $378.85 and less then 24hours the system came back again. Now after troubleshooting they say the fan motor is spoilt. Currently they do not have a stock for it and guess what. Need to pay money for it. I told them that how come everything have to pay money when my compressor have warranty and they told me that the whole unit outside is call condenser not compressor. From my knowledge everyone outside is calling the unit compressor i did not know it's was call condenser. Anyone want to advise? :furious:

Well at least your case is not as bad as my. I got my aircon from Hong Tar about 3 1/2 years ago. Then just exactly after the warranty expired, the thermostats (hope I got the spelling right) just gave way. Spend about 1k replacing them. Then recently, the aircon suddenly just becomes not cold. Then called them, they said that the gas just emptied. I heard from my friends its not really possible for aircon gas to finish so fast. So just decided to replace my aircon with another one. Well can considered just cut the losses.

Anyway my aircon was Fujitsu.

Think your case is similar to my. If the condenser is spoiled, think you can consider replacing your whole aircon.

Hi Aegis,

Well it is a long story. Purchased the Starmex series 4 yrs + already, first day broke down, was on a saturday next 2 night w/o AC!! ME refuse to replace a new unit despite my numerous complaints direct to their manager, bunch of hopeless people who cannot make concrete decision. Service hotline terrible, really bad! You must personally experience it!

Total of about 4 X of repairs within a year, thereafter experienced constant water leakage, not cold at times. Dripping of AC water is so regular to a point have to put pail beneath AC. AC tech will give you all sorts of reasons to evade the real problem. To say the truth, this guys don't even know how to rectify their own product, kept giving silly reasons. When fan coil blow water droplets, they paste felts to absorb the droplets, thinking that it will solve the issue.

I am quite suspicious that some new units sold are not really new, it happen that the left side of my interior fan coil unit plastic fixture (left plastic holding coil unit) was dented inwards, looks like they have over screwed till plastic fixture dent (probably during production time), this was discovered only when I tried solving the leakage problem but too late warranty over leow then discovered. :angry:

My next AC will definitely not be a ME again, never, will likely switch back to Daikin. I have been relating my bad experience to people I know and get them to avoid this brand. If anyone finds that theirs is alright and serving them well then probably could be a "Heng Sway" case, however looking at some bros/sis feedback I guess we should give it a miss.

Wah...I'm going to install ME starmex for my new house, but your story really scare me. Now i just wondering which brand of aircon is giving the less issue. We use Carrier and MHI and so far MHI given us the least problem until now. 1 of my relative using Daikin also complain issue with Daikin. So now at a loss of what to chose. How is Panansonic aircon, anyone got experience with it?

Well at least your case is not as bad as my. I got my aircon from Hong Tar about 3 1/2 years ago. Then just exactly after the warranty expired, the thermostats (hope I got the spelling right) just gave way. Spend about 1k replacing them. Then recently, the aircon suddenly just becomes not cold. Then called them, they said that the gas just emptied. I heard from my friends its not really possible for aircon gas to finish so fast. So just decided to replace my aircon with another one. Well can considered just cut the losses.

Anyway my aircon was Fujitsu.

Think your case is similar to my. If the condenser is spoiled, think you can consider replacing your whole aircon.

So far my parent spent $378.85 to replace the parts and this fan motor going to cost us more. If it really going to spend 1k to replace it, i think better to replace everything more worth it.

Aiyoh so many problem Mitsibishi. I was contemplating on buying either Star mex of MHI. Now don't know what brand to buy - and also which vendor. Seems like Best Tech, Gain City and Hong Tar all have bad reputation ...

Hi renmapiao,

I would to share with u bxxt tech service.. I have only one word for them, lousy..What happened is that they actually installed my MHI on Sunday, but the aircon is not cold after switching 30min. So I called them n they get the MHI distributor to arrange for on site examine... The result is that the gas pressure is only 130psi and it should be 150psi... That y the aircons are not cold.. The MHI suspect that the bxxt tech did a bad installation that cause the gas leak.. Then MHI guys will inform bxxt tech ppl to come and pump gas the next day so I didn't bother... After one day, no one called n I called them trying to arrange for the gas pumping on coming sat... Despite calling them 4 times the operator assure me that they will get their service guys to call me each time but still no calls from them... Really disappointed...

Desmond

Allow my contribution here.

Thru an RT forumer posting (sori can't remember who liao), i was being led to her blog whereby she wrote an account of her experience with the aircon installation. Her story was something like... GC did a very bad job on the installation n after numerous attempts to rectify, probs still exists + their attitudes just as horrible as their skills! On the verge of giving up, she engaged this company but without any hope of em being able to resolve the issue. BUT they did Marvellous in the end n she mentioned the technicians were not only pros in their jobs, their attitude was just as top notch!

When I wana do up my aircon during June, I went straight to this company & true enough, I was never disappointed! From the time I met up with the service tech mgr to the end of their installation to the now, it's superb experience! I was being recommended Mitsubishi Electric inverter starmex. Yes, in less than 10 mins after switching on the aircon, my MBR feels like the lower compartment of a fridge! Maybe I'm thin, or probably it's because mine is a 3 room hdb so smaller room, but this thing really cools fast. Even my sumo-sized spouse thinketh so too!

But a point to state here: I don't switch on my aircon every night. Probably just 3 or 4 times per week, each lasting not more than 2 hrs (since we using fan after the room has been cooled). Therefore I may not be a regular user to say my chosen brand is the best or has got no probs. But up until now, it's so far so good lor ;)

Thanks Desmond - Now I really have to think thrice about engaging BesTech although their quotation was quite low. Can anyone out there recommend a good vendor for aircon installation ... help.gif

Hi renmapiao,

I would to share with u bxxt tech service.. I have only one word for them, lousy..What happened is that they actually installed my MHI on Sunday, but the aircon is not cold after switching 30min. So I called them n they get the MHI distributor to arrange for on site examine... The result is that the gas pressure is only 130psi and it should be 150psi... That y the aircons are not cold.. The MHI suspect that the bxxt tech did a bad installation that cause the gas leak.. Then MHI guys will inform bxxt tech ppl to come and pump gas the next day so I didn't bother... After one day, no one called n I called them trying to arrange for the gas pumping on coming sat... Despite calling them 4 times the operator assure me that they will get their service guys to call me each time but still no calls from them... Really disappointed...

Desmond

Hey Tuasbird - can give me the contact of your aircon vendor?

Allow my contribution here.

Thru an RT forumer posting (sori can't remember who liao), i was being led to her blog whereby she wrote an account of her experience with the aircon installation. Her story was something like... GC did a very bad job on the installation n after numerous attempts to rectify, probs still exists + their attitudes just as horrible as their skills! On the verge of giving up, she engaged this company but without any hope of em being able to resolve the issue. BUT they did Marvellous in the end n she mentioned the technicians were not only pros in their jobs, their attitude was just as top notch!

When I wana do up my aircon during June, I went straight to this company & true enough, I was never disappointed! From the time I met up with the service tech mgr to the end of their installation to the now, it's superb experience! I was being recommended Mitsubishi Electric inverter starmex. Yes, in less than 10 mins after switching on the aircon, my MBR feels like the lower compartment of a fridge! Maybe I'm thin, or probably it's because mine is a 3 room hdb so smaller room, but this thing really cools fast. Even my sumo-sized spouse thinketh so too!

But a point to state here: I don't switch on my aircon every night. Probably just 3 or 4 times per week, each lasting not more than 2 hrs (since we using fan after the room has been cooled). Therefore I may not be a regular user to say my chosen brand is the best or has got no probs. But up until now, it's so far so good lor ;)

Ref: Mitsubishi Starmex aircond. I had split system installed in June 2010. This month or so (2012), one unit simply cannot start up.

My understanding is a wire leading into the unit has been giving problems. Yet when it was installed, Hong Tar kept that from me.

The wire, once installed, is hidden in the ducting, so there is no reason for there to be an issue in less than 2 years.

Does anyone have the same problem. We can jointly approach the contractor to rectify the problem, irrespective of the warranty.

zennet@hotmail.com

My experience with MHI

Got ours fixed with a system 3 from Hong Tar less than 2 yes ago. Aircon was super cold as we are those that prefers to freeze to death than to sweat! All was good until around 3 months after the installation. We notice that there was some condensation droplets outside the trunking, called Hong Tar to come to check, they told us not to set blower to low but high instead, giving e reason that when set at low, the air is 'choked' thus causing the condensation. Ok, tried for a few weeks, but problem still persist.

Called Hong Tar again and this time round, they so called gave double insulation to the piping. Things was fine for a couple of months, until the same issue of condensation occurs again. Called Hong Tar again and they didn't respond and it was irritating talking to them. They will give all sorts of excuses and will always claim to call back but in the end, u are always the one to have to call them back. I gave up cause I am going to re-renovate my place soon and will be replacing the current system with a system 4, which I believe I will be going for ME.

My experience with MHI is not a bad one. It serves me so far so good, except that the degree of coldness kinda defers from room to room. My 3 bedrooms all sit in a row and I noted that the middle bed room is the coolest and air is strongest when the setting is set the same for all 3 rooms.

My BAD experience is with Hong Tar, which I feel is not a responsible vendor! Avoid them if possible.

I guess buying an air con is different from buying other appliances as one is not just paying for the air con but the cost of installation as well.

Therefore the cheapest vendor might not be the best choice as the installation is the one that will be causing one the most problem and headache and heartache if its not done properly and inferior parts are used.

My air con was installed by my cousin who works for a smaller air con vendor even though i had to pay a few hundred more than gain city or best tech.

the boss of my cousin's company personally came down before installing to meet my ID and go thru the best way to run the trunking and piping etc, even my ID was impressed by the suggestions of the boss.

PS: I am not advertising for the company or my cousin as my cousin is only the installer, just sharing my experience.

I've come back to this topic I've started, need to complain some more...

Last year Wo Kee Hong took my entire compressor unit back to fix. My first apptment with them to check my faulty aircon was in May (see 1st post in this thread). They finally only "completed" repairs in September.

Now my aircon has stopped blowing cold air again. I just spent another $85 for them to check, only to find that the aircon gas is empty. Barely a year after hundreds of dollars of repair more **** is happening. I'm getting tired of this and wonder if I can take any legal action against them, or get CASE involved. Mitsubishi HI has been giving me problems all the way.

Anyone have a AC vendor to recommend if I want to just change the entire thing?

Now my aircon has stopped blowing cold air again. I just spent another $85 for them to check, only to find that the aircon gas is empty. Barely a year after hundreds of dollars of repair more **** is happening. I'm getting tired of this and wonder if I can take any legal action against them, or get CASE involved. Mitsubishi HI has been giving me problems all the way.

If the gas is empty, then you may have a leak somewhere - it may be an installation thing since you had problems from the start? My leak hypothesis is based on experience in my previous place where the ac was always running out of gas. The ac guy that came explained that gas usually won't run out unless there is a leak. Unfortunately the solution was fairly expensive (re-do/run the ac pipes), and since it was a rental unit it was never rectified.

I am using MHI installed by another AC specialist vendor. Except for the initial installation when one of the blowers had a leak (which my vendor found and rectified), the blowers are still working fine.

If the gas is empty, then you may have a leak somewhere - it may be an installation thing since you had problems from the start? My leak hypothesis is based on experience in my previous place where the ac was always running out of gas. The ac guy that came explained that gas usually won't run out unless there is a leak. Unfortunately the solution was fairly expensive (re-do/run the ac pipes), and since it was a rental unit it was never rectified.

I am using MHI installed by another AC specialist vendor. Except for the initial installation when one of the blowers had a leak (which my vendor found and rectified), the blowers are still working fine.

Hmm, in that case why did the agent not do this previously and instead charged me over $300 for parts? Previously the aircon was simply not cold, now the gas tank has leaked EMPTY just a few months after "repair".

Just spoke with them and they want another $200+ for "testing". I am getting fed up and may speak to CASE on this matter. Any others here who have had issues with Wo Kee Hong that would like to join in?

Edited by dare