babytan

Furkid & Baby Kayden & Us Small Cosy Place Again!

hi ya, am back after such a long time...like all old birdies not around liao ah?

not much changes, just that one of my furkid baby gal passed on due to old age(i missed her so much!!)

i also had a baby (a toddler now), how time flies!!

am moving for the 3rd time, purely wanted to upgrade as my baby will need more area to run around later and well, before the flat prices soar further

hmmm nothing much to do now, waiting to complete current sale and purchase of flat.

got 2 months extension from buyer, and just managed to get a resale flat today...in original condition, thats my intention as we wanted to have major renovation

IDs wise, hahahhah maybe ROY TAN again

but that will depend on his quote liao!!

well just to get down the dates:

26/06/11 deposit paid

09/07/11 exercise OTP

23/07/11 Fengshui Audit

29/08/11 1st Appointment

21/10/11 2nd Appointment & Key collection

23/10/11 Open Door Ceremony @ 2.30pm

01/11/11 Hacking start @ 3.15pm

Edited by babytan

floorplan.jpg

here's my floorplan

but this time dun really have much inspirations leh! haizz maybe too busy with baby

i know i wanted a greyish kitchen only..

any1 has any recommendation?

Edited by babytan

floorplan.jpg

here's my floorplan

but this time dun really have much inspirations leh! haizz maybe too busy with baby

i know i wanted a greyish kitchen only..

any1 has any recommendation?

Greyish?

Industrial style kitchen! Hahaa...

Or sleek modern stainless steel grey look? A lot of brushed metal appliances these days.. haha..

Good luck with your reno! :thumbs up:

DSC00338.jpg

Common Toilet

DSC00339.jpg

not able to take picture of MBR as the owner was showering lolz...

also gotton my quote from 2 person:

1) Contractor (sister good fren)

overall the quote was good and it was really a "friendship" price

but is a contractor, so dun expect "fanciful" design, you have to tell him wat you want

but me and hubby not much design sense, worried tat we turn our house upside down lolzzz

2) Roy Tan from IR Design (former Inzen)

as roy did up my previous flat and overall we were quite satisfied with him

Pros: good working attitude, good sense of design, chin chye, direct and most can click with him

Cons: he is very busy as he is like 1 man show. so waiting for his reply is like....zzzzz but i kiasu, getting my flat in oct and i already gotton him to quote

we decided on ROY again as my hub prefer him althought his quote is slightly higher than the contractor...

"yi fen qian yi fen huo" lo ;)

in my case, i cant afford to wait till getting keys then quote as i need to move out of current flat by early dec 10 (getting flat in mid oct) so the reno timeline is quite tight

btw just to share, you can purchase floor plan online, take few days only

with that you roughly know wat you want and can start to get IDs to quote

cos i was kuku last time, get my floor plan only during 2nd appt thus wasted lots of time

will post up the quote later :yamseng:

DSC00338.jpg

Common Toilet

DSC00339.jpg

not able to take picture of MBR as the owner was showering lolz...

also gotton my quote from 2 person:

1) Contractor (sister good fren)

overall the quote was good and it was really a "friendship" price

but is a contractor, so dun expect "fanciful" design, you have to tell him wat you want

but me and hubby not much design sense, worried tat we turn our house upside down lolzzz

2) Roy Tan from IR Design (former Inzen)

as roy did up my previous flat and overall we were quite satisfied with him

Pros: good working attitude, good sense of design, chin chye, direct and most can click with him

Cons: he is very busy as he is like 1 man show. so waiting for his reply is like....zzzzz but i kiasu, getting my flat in oct and i already gotton him to quote

we decided on ROY again as my hub prefer him althought his quote is slightly higher than the contractor...

"yi fen qian yi fen huo" lo ;)

in my case, i cant afford to wait till getting keys then quote as i need to move out of current flat by early dec 10 (getting flat in mid oct) so the reno timeline is quite tight

btw just to share, you can purchase floor plan online, take few days only

with that you roughly know wat you want and can start to get IDs to quote

cos i was kuku last time, get my floor plan only during 2nd appt thus wasted lots of time

will post up the quote later :yamseng:

hi! i'm also considering roy from IR design and gonna meet up with him today.. dun mind can send me his quote?

hi i do not have it in soft copy, will post up later for your reference

enjoy your meetup with him :yamseng:

My quote from Roy

Hacking

all hacking except 3rooms (sink, stove, cabinet etc included)

Masonry Works (Tiles @ $3.00)

600mmx600mm matt homo floor tiles c/w skirting **** & store & steps outside house

600mmx600mm matt homo floor tiles at kitchen

300mmx300mm non slip homo floor tiles at master & common toilet

600mmx300mm FH ceramic wall tiles at master & common toilet

600mmx300mm FH ceramic wall tiles at kitchen

make good hack off skirting (3rooms)

50mm cabinet based c/w side tiles finished

50mm washer & dryer base c/w side tiles finished

50mm fridge base c/w side tiles finished

Concrete support c/w full tiles finished for basin at master & common toilet

50mm Shower kerb c/w full tiles finished for master & common toilet

Water proofing for 2 toilets and kitchen

Supply & install SS rubbish chute

Plumbing Works

Supply & install SS pipes at kitchen & 2 toilets

Labour to install 2 toilet bowls / basin / instant heater / spray gun / inlet & outlet pipes for kitchen sink & washing machine

Ceiling Works

Construct false ceiling & Lbox **** hall

Construct false ceiling & Lbox at master room

Painting

Painting for whole house & ceiling & pipes with ICI/Nippon

Box up existing pipes at master & common toilet finished in tiles

Laminate

Supply & install laminate flooring c/w skirting at 3 bedrooms

Window / Alumimium WOrks

Supply & install sliding window ****, 3 rooms, kitchen

Supply & install 2 sets of top hung window at master & common toilet

Supply & install sliding grills ****, 3 rooms, kitchen

Door / Glass Works

Supply & install 2 nos acrylic folding door at 2 toilets

Supply & install 10mm fixed panel tempered glass at master toilet

Supply & install 4nos veneer doors

Supply & install half glass fixed panel with glass swing door at kitchen entrance

Supply & install Main door & main door frame

Carpentry Works

Supply & install Top & bottom kitchen cabinet c/w anti slam & ABS 32ft

Supply & install FH cabinet 2ft next to fridge

Supply & install FH wardrobe with sliding door at master and common room 1

Supply & install FH Shoe cabinet est 7ft

Supply & install TV feature wall

Supply & install 3nos Blum for kitchen drawers

Supply & install solid surface worktop for kitchen 18ft

General cleaning

flooring protection

haulage etc

there are a nos of items like dish rack / hydralic / glass panels / lockset / install sink & hood & hob etc etc not written in BUT it will be included as i know he will give it to me

even feature wall or cabinet that needs some glass or mirror accents for design purpose will also be included

TOTAL about $40k +/-

ELECTRICAL NOT included for above

there are bound to be additional cost, see if we could cut down anything from above quote...fingers crossed :yamseng:

Edited by babytan

back for some updates:

sad to say that due to some communications breakdown / tight timeline / budget constaint, we decided not to engage Roy for the reno as he is not able to accomodate some of our requests.

we have gotton a good friend for the job instead - Dave Wee from D5 Studio (we did engaged him for our first home but workmanship so so hahahah so second flat was done by Roy)

Hubby have known him for 20 over years, didnt want to engage him in the first place as i was septical about the workmanship since we are gonna to stay long in this house and i am a pretty "meow" mama...but frankly, it was like 8 years back when he did our first house, so i think people's attitude and skills do change, ought to give him a chance. to my surprise, he made us feel comfy with the ideas, response time, attitude (MOST IMPT) & quote as some people cant be much bothered since we only have a budget of $40k for reno (maybe they dun earn much, thats why not very keen on my project)

we just call him on 1 sat and told him tat we are visiting him on sun for discussion and he managed to show us a simple floor plan drawing even with the lighting points done up! next week he will be giving us our 3Ds

our quote is a "friendship" price, including:

all hacking

all tiling

all windows

1 x TV console

2 x wardrobes

shoe cabinet OR bay window settee with storage

kitchen cabinet

all doors

all electrical rewiring

plastering / painting / washing bla bla

Nice household electrical appliciances :)

I aiming to get the Panasonic (4ticks) fridge too can share how much u got it for?

Harvy Narman:$1199

BEST: $1199

Retail Price:$ 1299

So much differences after I look around....

Tks :)

Tight schedule yeah....good luck to your Reno 

thanks much same to you =)

Nice household electrical appliciances :)

I aiming to get the Panasonic (4ticks) fridge too can share how much u got it for?

Harvy Narman:$1199

BEST: $1199

Retail Price:$ 1299

So much differences after I look around....

Tks :)

hi i got it at $1080

they gave me few dollars more discount since i brought few items 8|

else the normal price should be $1099 + FOC Rice cooker

i think you can check out their store at kallang leisure park

or you can try kong tai or everjoint those retailers =)

Edited by babytan

tiles selection on tuesday (25 oct 2011)

Living

we are going for "matte" floor tiles as i realised not easy to maintain a glossy ones as i have a toddler running and dropping food around the house ahahahha

gout wise, we also not going for traditional white, it would be cement based kind of gout

most commonly seen are glossy ones, wonder who would have same taste like us? kekekek

DSC00452.jpg

white glossy wall tiles with little shimmer floor tiles

DSC00453.jpg

MBR Toilet

DSC00454.jpg

Common Toilet

DSC00455.jpg

actually i do not like white wall tiles for toilet but it make the area look brighter

i still prefer a darker one, shall i change??

Welcome to renoblog! I only use Matt tiles for whole house n I am loving it! No sticky feet anymore! Previous Reno was glossy n I felt sticky all the time :o

FYI, my living n bedroom r all cement lookalike tiles...We do have something in common!

As for dark bathroom, it's really dark so u have to consider the pros n cons as u have young kid. My twin boys r already 13yrs old n they love orh orh everything with warm light though...