LadyLuck

Bottle BirdNest which brand is better?

actually double boil bird nest is easy. refer to my procedure above. and also forgot to add, use those chinese breakable type of container meant for boiling tonic. put water inside the container for boiling. place container in another bigger pot that is big enough and add a stand inside the big pot to support the boiling tonic container. put some water into the big pot and boil. do not boil directly at the container. i hope you understand what im saying.

leen, i get what you meant. actually, i have done some boiling of tonic too but not birdnest. :sport-smiley-018:

ooh leen, u real good in taking care of yourself :(

not really la, its juz that my paternal family is peranakan, my late grandma used to be super fussy abt food and its also due to my great grandma who taught her those cooking stuffs, tonic stuffs, and many many funny hsewife stuffs :( and my grandma is vy gd in her needle work. my great grandma makes her own beaded shoes but a pity no one picked up her skills. though i went to learn on my own many years ago.

b4 my mum married my dad, she was a gd cook and gd in dress making etc.coz she was make to learn all those women folks stuffs in order to be a 'gd enough' woman to be married off.

and when my mum married my dad, my grandma taught her some more cooking stuffs and also make her cook those food that she like to eat. so from there, my mum learn more and she juz teaches us as she does her cooling and give us advises on those tonic stuffs lor... and also i pick up tips from my boss' wife. she's also a vy gd cook.

i guess i got a gd makan life :bleah::(

actually, i prefer to boil the birdnest but i dont know how to do leh. my mum knows how to boil birdnest and she said boiling birdnest need a lot of work. hua yan is more expensive bcos its so called premium birdnest. !!

those big bottles birdnest once opened liao and must consume within 7 days. !!

actually double boil bird nest is easy. refer to my procedure above. and also forgot to add, use those chinese breakable type of container meant for boiling tonic. put water inside the container for boiling. place container in another bigger pot that is big enough and add a stand inside the big pot to support the boiling tonic container. put some water into the big pot and boil. do not boil directly at the container. i hope you understand what im saying.

ya, when got such fair, they will tend to have gd discount. sometimes they have special sales themselves also. you can obtain their membership card also.

i also prefer ready made concentrated birdnest coz open and can consume already, unless i got time to boil it.

me have a stock load of conc bird nest coz whenever got real gd deal, i will juz grab a few to store and consume it slowly. my hb says since i so enjoy it, he don't mind stocking up. :notti: and he added, if got war, he thinks the 1st thing i bring into the bomb shelter are my precious birdnest :sport-smiley-018:

actually, i prefer to boil the birdnest but i dont know how to do leh. my mum knows how to boil birdnest and she said boiling birdnest need a lot of work. hua yan is more expensive bcos its so called premium birdnest. :notti:

those big bottles birdnest once opened liao and must consume within 7 days. :deal:

that day food fair at suntec city and my hb bought for me eu yan sang concentrated birdnest which cost one bottle about $70+. i prefer to buy at food fair bcos there're some discounts. :dancingqueen:

ya, when got such fair, they will tend to have gd discount. sometimes they have special sales themselves also. you can obtain their membership card also.

i also prefer ready made concentrated birdnest coz open and can consume already, unless i got time to boil it.

me have a stock load of conc bird nest coz whenever got real gd deal, i will juz grab a few to store and consume it slowly. my hb says since i so enjoy it, he don't mind stocking up. :notti: and he added, if got war, he thinks the 1st thing i bring into the bomb shelter are my precious birdnest :dancingqueen:

that day food fair at suntec city and my hb bought for me eu yan sang concentrated birdnest which cost one bottle about $70+. i prefer to buy at food fair bcos there're some discounts. :sport-smiley-004:

Iron & vitamin :dunno: Whatever you buy, jus make sure they are from natural food source and not synthetic processed.

I think MaKuang & Eu Yan San sama sama

wow S$75 like specialist charges :(
duno per visit the herbs last for how many days mah if last for 3days is ex

ya, nwadays the TCM is not cheap. both abt the same price. the herbs are quite cheap. its the consultation fees and also depending what you go and see the physicians abt.

i hv been having back problm (old already :sport-smiley-003: ) and 1 rub (including massage, adjusting of backbone by cracking, pulling, 8| etc which almost want my life :~ ) and accupuncture cost abt $80 at ma guang and excluding herbal medicine.

and nwadays, the medicine are in powder form and packed in either capsule form or in packet type (juz like 3-in-1 coffee type) where you can juz mix with luke warm water to drink it. but still vy bitter and yucky :(:dunno::dunno:

and the herbal medicine they give is abt for 3 days for non serious ailment, 5 to 7 days generally for all ailments. and they will ask you to go back and see them again.

and also after that, they will want to help you to 'bu' your body by asking you to go back and see them for long term and get tonic herbal medicine to balance your body system.

I'm v lazy and dun mind bitter stuff. My personal formula:

1 cup Benedictine D.O.M.

1 cup water

5-10 pieces Dang gui

1 tablespoon of Qi1 Zi3 (dried red berries good for eyes)

2-4 pieces large Tao Pok (fried beancurd skin) instead of meat for vegetarians

Boil D.O.M., water and dang gui together until the alcohol is all gone. Add tao pok. Finally when soup is almost ready add Qi1 Zi3.

Yummier recipe from book "Longevity, the Tao of Eating and Healing":

Dang gui and longan tonic tea

1 thumb-sized dang gui root

20 pieces dried longan

2 cups water

Boil all ingredients in a Chinese earthenware herbal pot until only 1 cup of liquid is left. When half cooked, remove the dang gui root, slice very thinly, and return to the pot. Drink the liquid and eat the root and longan. This bitter brew should be taken once, when period ends, or once every 1 to 2 weeks if anaemic.

:( To good health!

wah, your above is a vy heaty formula leh. the DOM already got dang gui processed in it. and you add somemore dang gui, its vy heaty. if your body is able to take it, den its ok. if not it will be too heaty.

longan also is a heaty thing. but the above is gd for woman after menses and give birth to preseve and give body tonic. and also cannot have to much coz wait too heaty and also you have other heaty tonic stuffs to eat as well. eg. sesame oil chicken.

otherwise, its too heaty.

yes yes, they are the same :dunno:

you can apply for the life time membership card from Hock Wah and you can get some discount when you purchase things there.

Double-boil birdnest is better than preserve birdnest. I use to work in my uncle bird-nest shop(Horse Brand) during my school days. Very interesting indeed.

The factory workers will pick up all the dirts,feather etc Once done, the bird nest will send to a oven to dry it. Follow by packaging.

There's few ways to cook your birdnest. My fave method r: 1 drum-stick(Chicken) with the nest. Double boil it, add a little of salt when eating. For those who prefer to have it sweet, just double-boil it with rock sugar or coconut.

Birdnest is good for Preg woman, kids. I was told its good for our lungs & air-passage.

to have it the light and easy way as a drinking soup, you can use 4, 6 or 8 red dates, rock sugar and double boil the bird nest.

and boil the all the ingredients 1st for abt 15-20mins. when the water is boiling, den put in the bird nests and boil for abt 15mins. dont' dump everything in immediately. the bird nests will be 'spoilt' (i dunno hw to put it, but its taught to me by my boss' wife who's a fantastic cook).

and blood bird nests are the best. but of coz, due to the high price and limited resources $$$, normal type will do. but normal bird nests must be wash clean but of coz generally, they are quite clean already but some you still can find some tiny bird hairs and impurities in it.

and yes, it not only gd for yang yan, its gd for preggy women, lungs and the environment. at least, we didn't kill the shark for the fins and help the birds to clear their environment :dunno:

but of coz, the poor bird nests harvestors are one of the most exploited workers in the world. :(

but if we didn't buy, they be out of job also. its a vicious cycle 8|

Edited by leen

tot u always keep ur dog in her cage ?

hey how many hour to double boil the birdnest?

sometimes put her in cage when nobody is at home. when i come home then will let her out to roam about. :thumbs up:

ok, back to topic. :dancingqueen:

crazy to have so big house. clean like mad

currently couple stay only mah..

infuture family grow then change to bigger house still not too late mah.

its true that sometimes i get fedup when come to cleaning but most of the time i enjoy staying in bigger/spacious house. my dog will have bigger space to roam about too. my sister wants to get a new hdb flat and she told me everywhere the new hdb flats are very small. she said hardly can find new hdb flats as big as mine now liao. she referred to new ones and not resale ones. :dancingqueen:

crazy to have so big house. clean like mad

currently couple stay only mah..

infuture family grow then change to bigger house still not too late mah.

wow, manz. this is a long ago thread liao lor. :dancingqueen:

out of topic for awhile. when i browsed through the blogs over here and happened to see some tanglin halt blogs. the bedrooms are very small. i think a queen size bed also cannot be placed into the bedroom. if can, the remaining space will be extremely cramp. actually, my master bedroom can place 2 king size bed and common bedrooms can place 1 queen size bed. :)