MKDz

Hdb Tiles N Doors Vs Own Selection

Depend on individual.

If u look at the choices from hdb, see if u can really live with it, facing it everyday for the next 5-10 yrs. My hubby said it's better to stand sth nice, than to face an ugly object for years.

If u r going for a full renovation with an id, why not leave it blank then it's easier to match ur future home theme later on. :) I have been reAding thru many t-blogs, ppl always love to buy their own tiles n doors.. N sanity wares.. Even hack away the existing one in a brand new flat, just bc they can't stand them when viewing the flat in person.

Depend on individual.

If u look at the choices from hdb, see if u can really live with it, facing it everyday for the next 5-10 yrs. My hubby said it's better to stand sth nice, than to face an ugly object for years.

If u r going for a full renovation with an id, why not leave it blank then it's easier to match ur future home theme later on. :) I have been reAding thru many t-blogs, ppl always love to buy their own tiles n doors.. N sanity wares.. Even hack away the existing one in a brand new flat, just bc they can't stand them when viewing the flat in person.

The problem is the tiles from HDB are not too bad nowadays. The problem is we cannot visualise the end product and having to pay for the tiles and then hacking it away will be such a waste of money in my opinion.

Another issue is selecting own tiles create another problem of its own as being a layman, newbie, noob on tiles and selecting based on ones liking could create a situation of regrets and issues in the near future.

By the way, how you all feel is the quality of the timber doors from HDB?

:drunk::drunk::drunk::drunk::drunk::drunk::drunk:

Will tell u my feeling abt hdb new flat when I collect my key somewhere in jan/feb 2012 hahahhaa....

Is it too late then?

I went to habitat forum @ hdb hub, saw the display model of everything.

(I didn't have a choice when I selected my flat during a SOBF).

Iin general, not too bad. So will make do with what I am provided.

My husband wants to change the MBR design though..

He just hates it.

And I will have all the doors painted white.

I love white colour better,

Heard that the timber door is good quality stuff.

So don't anyhow change door at the suggestion of a contractor okie.

Will tell u my feeling abt hdb new flat when I collect my key somewhere in jan/feb 2012 hahahhaa....

Is it too late then?

I went to habitat forum @ hdb hub, saw the display model of everything.

(I didn't have a choice when I selected my flat during a SOBF).

Iin general, not too bad. So will make do with what I am provided.

My husband wants to change the MBR design though..

He just hates it.

And I will have all the doors painted white.

I love white colour better,

Heard that the timber door is good quality stuff.

So don't anyhow change door at the suggestion of a contractor okie.

Hi piknik

too late ler lah.

anyway, i am thinking maybe i will not choose HDB's tiles cos i wanted to get timber looking like tiles for the bedrooms. so if i choose HDB's tiles, we might end up hacking later on.

anyway, do tell me how you think of the tiles by HDB when you get yours okie.

:yamseng::yamseng::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

For me i chose HDB tiles coz it was cheap. Downside is that there are lines/seams between each tile so its a bit difficult to maintain it if stuff gets stuck between the grooves as compared to those seamless/homogeneous tiles. And it does not look so "condo" like when viewing it coz the seams can be seen. So it depends on individual. However, i cannot stand the doors provided. It is of really low quality. I was cleaning the doors today and when i climbed up and look at the doors from the top, it looked like they used a few pieces of cheap plywood and glued them together, laminated them, then maybe coat some fire proof coat on them. Visually looking from the top is bad enough.

Hello Hello

A very Happy New Year to all.

How are we getting on with the review of tiles from HDB.

I have been busy travelling and finally gotten back home.

Hope all's been well.

Cheers......

is it better to use the tiles n doors from HDB or is it better to get them on our own.

any suggestions? :help::help::help:

both i get my own.

looks nicer and shiny and bigger for tiles... and door more solid..

I regret getting HDB floor tiles as they look ugly.

Too late as its my parents place and decision .

Agreed it waste if money to hack and redo tiles from id or contractor as quoted 7k for 4 room flat

i never took HDB tiles and doors

pros - u can use ur cpf to offset the amount

tiling cost approx 5k depends on size of flat

cons - workmanship and choice of tiles -if u dont like it, have to live with it.

For doors, i believe if you engage those manfacturers, can get better quality doors at cheaper prices...i got mine at 290 each..from Yontat doors at Eunos as recommended by one of the forummers here. Service is good. Lots of choices for u to choose, can even add silver colour lining or SS lining... :)

i never took HDB tiles and doors

pros - u can use ur cpf to offset the amount

tiling cost approx 5k depends on size of flat

cons - workmanship and choice of tiles -if u dont like it, have to live with it.

For doors, i believe if you engage those manfacturers, can get better quality doors at cheaper prices...i got mine at 290 each..from Yontat doors at Eunos as recommended by one of the forummers here. Service is good. Lots of choices for u to choose, can even add silver colour lining or SS lining... :)

The doors from Yontat @ $290 each, does it include the frame and installation as well?

It really depends on the type of tiles HDB has to offer. At my friend's BTO, flooring was ok.

However, we chose to hack hdb tiles after a year. Imagine a floor that actually looks DIRTIER after mopping..with watermarks and greyish stains. Really lousy tiles, but cost only $500 (including doors) back in 2009. The timber skirting strip just fell out when my contractor gave it a tap..he even shook his head, exclaiming the poor workmanship. Decided that it was worthwhile to spend a bit to get the flooring we like, since it's for long term. All my aunties agreed it was worth hacking.

Our contractor specialised in tiling works. We choose textured wooden ceramic tiles. Hacking cost was very reasonable. But it is the labour cost that is expensive. We did not visit the site during renvo process..only after flooring works was completed. Peace of mind, complete faith & trust are worth paying for.

In 2010, my friend paid few thousand for hdb tiles..lousy quality. We paid the same amount for our tiles (minus labour) but now we have a floor that we enjoy looking at. As a fourmer mentioned, better to spend more on something that looks good. In the long run, the costs are worth it. No complaints about hdb doors, quite decent.