antgdelw

Project Love Nest

Have always wanted to blog my reno story but took me quite a while to do it lol. We got our keys in early May 11 but decided to slowly take our time with the reno cos there was no hurry. There was a complicated history where we initially wanted to hire a ID, but then sth happened. So found a contractor instead. We chose this contractor based as the worksmanship for carpentry is quite good. Its the first time the contractor is a main con so we had quite a bit of coordination problems, esp when some works are from my own contacts as the contractor's was too expensive.

Not all that was quoted is cheap so in the end many lobangs find our own. Coordination is a pain in the a**. oh well.

Now when I go see show flat or other ppl house, I dun just say wow v nice. My eyes will automatically look at the feature wall, the false ceiling straight anot, the kitchen cabinet use solid top or granite?; wat type of lighting is used in the house?; the parquet flooring, paint color, cooker brand, basin brand, air con brand, fridge brand..no longer enjoy the simplicity of life liao man.

We started by hiring a fengshui guy to let us know what we can and cannot do, and at the same time roughly tell him wat we actually intended to do to our place.

As one of the room is very rectangular + small window, we made a deliberate decision to convert it to a wardrobe room instead. It's not a walk-in wardrobe(well we wanted to combine the 2 rooms, but after considering the cost and stuffs, we scrapped the idea), just a wardrobe in another room.

we hacked the kitchen wall cos the kitchen v dark. but fengshui guy say must cover back wat we hacked off w sth so we putting glass.

378797_10150428936844123_660459122_8510462_348804023_n.jpg

hacked and "made-good"

386648_10150428940634123_660459122_8510477_1306557589_n.jpg

kitchen cabinet up. granite top not up yet. glass will be sitting on the cabinet.

383861_10150428937479123_660459122_8510470_409120536_n.jpg

With granite top and glass wall up

400124_10150465747389123_660459122_8631734_1743611943_n.jpg

Edited by antgdelw

Putting up of Gypsum board living room, where my sofa will be at.

381414_10150428936989123_660459122_8510464_608839730_n.jpg

Place where feature wall would be at. The pink tags were all notes that the fengshui guy told us lol.

386130_10150428937084123_660459122_8510465_692583879_n.jpg

the problem with current hdb design. now that there's mio and starhub, tele pt is opp tv pt. den need to shift. plastic cover too ugly so do conceal. $$ fly again.

392003_10150428937389123_660459122_8510468_62187316_n.jpg

MasterBedroom, we decided that this is a place to sleep and so no tv inside haha

false ceiling at master bedrm

387268_10150428936754123_660459122_8510461_1725305169_n.jpg

master bedrm. the door was removed intially for various reasons that I dun wanna say.

384940_10150428936904123_660459122_8510463_790658609_n.jpg

walls and ceiling are painted urban grey. white for false ceiling. right side looked lk there more space cos gg to put curtain

386372_10150428957549123_660459122_8510607_1585139906_n.jpg

our bed frame. i find the drawers abit short in length.

390835_10150428939594123_1255343141_n.jpg

haven put bedsheet yet.

394135_10150465747729123_660459122_8631738_1643568453_n.jpg

hood/hob, shower, basin. (I'm upgrading my storage heater to a bigger one. So if anyone is interested in getting this Ariston 15l PM me k!)

383666_10150428937314123_660459122_8510467_1967558799_n.jpg

Masterbedrm toilet wif mirror up. Added a showerscreen(no kerb), cabinet, mirror and changed the shower set.

401990_10150465747344123_660459122_8631733_913193299_n.jpg

For Spare room, we only painted it. nothing else done. Color is cheer

387234_10150428937574123_660459122_8510471_2069525026_n.jpg

natural cane for living rm and walkway.

385820_10150428958534123_660459122_8510619_1544198475_n.jpg

Edited by antgdelw

Wardrobe in another room.

4m long. i taking the far end area, and my wife's gonna hog the other 3/4. she say its her fav place. can just buy one mattress let her slp inside haha.

392745_10150428937644123_660459122_8510472_2120764025_n.jpg

full view. the mirror is actually **** big. 2.1m. but it pales in comparison to the gigantic wardrobe

http://a5.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/388520_10150428966299123_660459122_8510645_1902663734_n.jpg

island cabinet. initially wanna put at centre but den realise not enough walking space. so lean against wall. buttons still missing.

384126_10150428937854123_660459122_8510473_1733082840_n.jpg

the tau pok divider on the island cabinet

390051_10150428938284123_660459122_8510474_607771907_n.jpg

feature wall. masking tape part is a strip of mirror.

392074_10150428967254123_660459122_8510648_1083348646_n.jpg

feature wall. shelves are for putting some fengshui thingy

380959_10150428956804123_660459122_8510594_1241203361_n.jpg

Final product! =)

395779_10150465747624123_660459122_8631737_1509194494_n.jpg

400260_10150465747529123_660459122_8631736_1937174031_n.jpg

Finally shifted in xmas eve and celebrated xmas and new year in our little love nest. =)

Edited by antgdelw

Love your WIW..... We are also doing something similar.. except there is no island cabinet....

I also notice your living rm is pretty wide for a new flat. is it 5 rm?

Love your WIW..... We are also doing something similar.. except there is no island cabinet....

I also notice your living rm is pretty wide for a new flat. is it 5 rm?

Hihi, thanks for the compliments! my living rm is square in shape so maybe look quite spacy is supposed? it's a 4rm flat.