tristesse

Mansionette Owner

Yes, still around cos need to run another project for my old man, searching for lobang, he got SERS so probably collecting key early next year.

Hi chronograph,

Wow. You still chatting in this forum! Still rem me? Jessie (used to chat here in 2008). Sorry got o change nick cos can't recall my pw lah. Hehe :)

Yes, still around cos need to run another project for my old man, searching for lobang, he got SERS so probably collecting key early next year.

Wow! Nice to see you still around here.

Me now back in renotalk cos start looking for ideas and info for my new place which will on,y be ready in about 2.5yrs time... So, thought of come in to chat and surprised to see you still active here :)

Wonder if all the EM kakis know that there are actually 4 type of EM out there instead of 3.Normally,we refer to 1st gen, 2nd gen or 3rd gen EM..i would post the 4th gen EM when i got the time.Actually,in terms of sizes and layout ,its the same.Only difference is there is a huge bomb shelter inside the study room. Also the staircase is near to the wall unlike the 3rd gen type. According to teolida, there are only 10 such blocks in singapore.Already, there are 4 blocks in woodlands area. Quite curious to know where are the other 6 blocks??Anyone can help.Thks..

Why don't you just ask Teoalida? You can ask on his blog and I believe he uses another nick on this forum. Anyway 3 is a simplification that fits most of the floor plans. If you wanna go into details you can count the Bt Batok ones, Sunset Way, Sin Ming, Bishan etc. These hv been shared on RT before.

Not sure about the others, but the generations to me simply mean different design cues - there are at least 2-3 minor design variations in the 1st generation already - I call this the long rectangular balcony type, with access via the living room.

2nd generation has a square balcony, dual access via kitchen and living room. These do not have bomb shelters, and corner units are configured quite differently from corridor units.

3rd generation - no more rubbish chute within the unit, using common rubbish point. Slightly smaller floor area. I am not sure how the corner units look like. I get the impression the corner units in 3rd gen EM blocks are probably single-floor Executive apartments.

I would hazard a guess that the 4th generation you refer to are actually a subset of the 3rd generation.

How about the "pizza pie" layout in bukit batok?

Is there such a EM layout? Do u know where can find the layout? Interesting.....

Edited by potatoes

Is there such a EM layout? Do u know where can find the layout? Interesting.....

Are you referring to this?

Hi everyone! i have recently signed an option to purchased an EM and have been reading through Renotalk ever since. I would say that without all the information that is on this forum i would have no clue at all on how to renovate my place, so thank you all for your contributions!!!!!

So lets start with my floor plan shall we!

1) Default Floor Plan

lowerlevelcopy.jpg

upperlevelcopy.jpg

The place is rather big at 165 sqm but rather oddly shaped, can't really feel the extra 200 SF.

From alvin11's t-blog: http://www.renotalk.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=47577&view=findpost&p=698089

Indeed that is a very unique layout but I must say that it's very challenging and definitely can do some wonders with designs to it.

Ya lor....If only HDB Inspector had done their job properly. I had to incur $$$ to dismantle that platform. :furious:

I am just wondering if HDB would allow a wooden loft single bed to be built in the service balcony for the maid to sleep on. Obviously you need to have a roof and windows to cover the whole service balcony.

Regulations expressly state that we may not increase floor area by means of platforms in voids, so HDB wouldn't allow, if you ask them.

http://www.hdb.gov.sg/fi10/fi10324p.nsf/w/HomeRenoNotAllow?OpenDocument

Examples of Renovation Work Not Allowed

Hacking and removal of structural members such as reinforced concrete wall, columns, beams, slabs, staircases within maisonette flats, etc.

Excessive overloading of the floor slab with a load greater than 150 kg for every metre square of floor area.

Plastering of ceilings.

Partitioning with combustible or toxic emission materials (e.g. plywood, plastics, asbestos etc.)

Raising of floor level exceeding the allowable thickness of 50mm (inclusive of floor tiles) using concrete.

Extending floor area by covering over void areas (e.g. covering over void areas within maisonette flats)

Constructing water tank in bathroom except ready-made fibreglass bathtub.

Repositioning or enlarging bin chute opening.

Painting external part of building (e.g. common corridor walls and ceilings)

Installing awning or other fixtures outside flat.

Installing casement windows where flat's façade is facing common corridor.

Laying floor finishes outside entrance door without having recess area or step.

Replacement of full height windows or 3/4 height windows or bay windows.

Removal or tampering of safety railings/grilles (internal & external) originally provided by HDB/Developers.

Removal or tampering of safety railings/grilles (internal & external) installed in the flat and/or at Full Height Windows (including 3/4 height and bay windows located at Utility Room, Space Adding Item) during the Main Upgrading Programme (MUP).

Partial or total enclosure including installation of external grilles on air-conditioner ledge.

Partial or total enclosure including installation of external grilles at planter box. No permanent sealing of planter box.

Installation of overhead grilles (ie. caging up) at interaction balcony.

Change of use of planter box and air-conditioner ledge.

Placement of reflective film (exceeding 20% reflectance) over existing window's glass panel.

Open Terrace at Loft Units

- Partial or total enclosure.

- Installation of a roof or fixed/retractable awning.

Relocation of sliding door at balcony where windows installation is not allowed.

Removal or replacement of sliding door different from original provision at balcony where windows installation is not allowed.

Removal of pitched roof ceiling (be it partially or fully) at topmost floor unit as it is part of the building's metal roof system.

Edited by cleong

Not allowed and have to dismantle when you sell?

Here are the photos of the loft at my parent's place (it's a bit messy though, used to be my room but now serves as a nap area for my boy). It was built around year 2000 and is still very sturdy now. It's large enough to place one single mattress and one super single mattress on the floor of the loft. Didn't manage to measure the highest point in the loft but I can stand up straight somewhere in the middle (before it slopes too low) and I'm 1.65m. I have shelving on the other side of the loft wall (opposite the windows). There is a casement aircon for the loft too so we have a curtain to keep the cool air in.

Schematic of loft

<a href="http://img59.imageshack.us/img59/9707/loftschematic.jpg" target="_blank">http://img59.imageshack.us/img59/9707/loftschematic.jpg</a>

Staircase leading upstairs to loft

<a href="http://img825.imageshack.us/img825/7688/staircaseleadingupstair.jpg" target="_blank">http://img825.imageshack.us/img825/7688/st...dingupstair.jpg</a>

Curtain for loft (also the doorway of the loft)

<a href="http://img801.imageshack.us/img801/4791/curtaindoorwayofloft.jpg" target="_blank">http://img801.imageshack.us/img801/4791/cu...orwayofloft.jpg</a>

Laminate flooring of loft

<a href="http://img715.imageshack.us/img715/1624/laminateflooringofloft.jpg" target="_blank">http://img715.imageshack.us/img715/1624/la...oringofloft.jpg</a>

Loft inner wall (highest point of loft)

<a href="http://img824.imageshack.us/img824/5400/loftinnerwall.jpg" target="_blank">http://img824.imageshack.us/img824/5400/loftinnerwall.jpg</a>

Shelving on lower wall

<a href="http://img825.imageshack.us/img825/6461/shelvingonwalllarge.jpg" target="_blank">http://img825.imageshack.us/img825/6461/sh...onwalllarge.jpg</a>

Casement aircon & part of windows

<a href="http://img85.imageshack.us/img85/6716/casementairconwindows.jpg" target="_blank">http://img85.imageshack.us/img85/6716/case...rconwindows.jpg</a>

Looking downwards from the top of the loft

<a href="http://img135.imageshack.us/img135/9659/lookingdownfromloftlarg.jpg" target="_blank">http://img135.imageshack.us/img135/9659/lo...romloftlarg.jpg</a>

Via: http://www.renotalk.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=28601&view=findpost&p=567061

Quite interesting huh?

Question1: Where do you plan to put the aircon compressors?

Question2: What is your budget? Suspect carpentry won't be cheap.

Not allowed and have to dismantle when you sell?

uite interesting huh?

Question1: Where do you plan to put the aircon compressors?

Question2: What is your budget? Suspect carpentry won't be cheap.

The air-con compressor can be put at the upper level side wall. The loft bed is not a platform. It is just a raised bed which can be dismantled. The cost is about SGD1500.

Any picture to show what a loft bed look like?