petunialee

Documenting The House Construction Process

Hi All... I documented the lessons I learnt through my house construction because I want other house owners to learn from my mistakes.

Managing the process so you don't get cheated by anyone. No one looks after your house construction better than you. Everyone else has vested interests.

http://petunialee.blogspot.sg/2011/04/house-construction-13-some-lessons-on.html

What to look for in an architect

http://petunialee.blogspot.sg/2010/09/house-construction-1-architect.html

Buying cheap and good sanitary ware

http://petunialee.blogspot.sg/2010/11/house-construction-3-sanitary-ware.html

Building strong walls

http://petunialee.blogspot.sg/2012/04/stiffeners.html

Waterproofing your bathroom properly

http://petunialee.blogspot.sg/2011/08/waterproofing-your-bathroom.html

Waterproofing your 1st story slab properly so that damp does not creep up through your tiles

http://petunialee.blogspot.sg/2010/12/water-proofing-1st-storey-floor.html

Waterproofing flat roofs

http://petunialee.blogspot.sg/2011/06/about-waterproofing-flat-roofs-and.html

Get a warranty on your glass panes

http://petunialee.blogspot.sg/2012/08/delaminating-glass-panes_10.html

Saw your renovation blog a couple of days ago :)

Nice place!

Reminded me of the days we renovated our HDB EM. I was very much involved in the entire project.

We have recently exercise the option of purchase for a landed property in the west :)

A semiD in its original condition built in the 1950s. Land area 4816sqf Built in 1500sqf - single storey.

We intend to do some extension - a&a instead of reconstructing it. However, this time round, I totally do not know where to start at all :)

Let's hope everything goes smoothly this time too :)

Saw your renovation blog a couple of days ago :)

Nice place!

Reminded me of the days we renovated our HDB EM. I was very much involved in the entire project.

We have recently exercise the option of purchase for a landed property in the west :)

A semiD in its original condition built in the 1950s. Land area 4816sqf Built in 1500sqf - single storey.

We intend to do some extension - a&a instead of reconstructing it. However, this time round, I totally do not know where to start at all :)

Let's hope everything goes smoothly this time too :)

Hi, yr semi D ilabd area is big, 4000+ sq ft and only build in 1500+, just wondering how much A&A work or extension work u intend to do. Pls do check URA requirement on the rules of A&A, especially if more than 50%

Hi Petunialee,

May I have the contacts of your contractor? Would like to invite him to bid for tender of reconstructing my house.

Tried to pm you but unsuccessful.Thanks much.

Just purchased a semi-d, and broke my piggy bank in the process. As it is a really really old 30 year old house, ask for a extensive A&A. Architect quoted 1.5mil!!! How to cough out so much cash just after the house purchase?

COuld i ask if all of us in the forum who do A&A/reconstruction, all need to cough out cash? OR can i take a loan?? (bearing in mind i just about maxed out the 80% LTV loan on the purchase)>> :jawdrop:

Just purchased a semi-d, and broke my piggy bank in the process. As it is a really really old 30 year old house, ask for a extensive A&A. Architect quoted 1.5mil!!! How to cough out so much cash just after the house purchase?

COuld i ask if all of us in the forum who do A&A/reconstruction, all need to cough out cash? OR can i take a loan?? (bearing in mind i just about maxed out the 80% LTV loan on the purchase)>> :jawdrop:

Can apply for a construction loan from the bank you got your home loan from.

Who u consulted sia? Ong & Ong? They did my neighbor's semi-D only cost 700k with furnishings, total re-erection with piling and lift and crap. U kana chop carrot isit!

Normally the entire process of reconstruction onwards takes 10-12months you pay by per month basis but also quite siong lah

Can apply for a construction loan from the bank you got your home loan from.

Will they loan me some more $$, given that i just maxed out the loan to 80% LTV on mu current pay?

Who u consulted sia? Ong & Ong? They did my neighbor's semi-D only cost 700k with furnishings, total re-erection with piling and lift and crap. U kana chop carrot isit!

Normally the entire process of reconstruction onwards takes 10-12months you pay by per month basis but also quite siong lah

Huh? Ong and Ong got so cheap? I was under impression that they were super expensive, that i dun dare ask them to quote. New Erection with piling with lift for only 700k in todays market seems too good to true!!. I DO know of someone who rebuilt her inter terrace, Ong&Ong charged her close to 1.4mil!!!

I consulted a slightly known architecture firm/builder.

Edited by fcar

Huh? Ong and Ong got so cheap? I was under impression that they were super expensive, that i dun dare ask them to quote. New Erection with piling with lift for only 700k in todays market seems too good to true!!. I DO know of someone who rebuilt her inter terrace, Ong&Ong charged her close to 1.4mil!!!

I consulted a slightly known architecture firm/builder.

700k was TOP Jan 2011, but can't be up by 100% mah in say what 2yr? They probably got family discount since family of O&O but also can't be 50% discount, ok lah say free consultation and drawing but still must pay for materials, materials don't drop from sky.

Will they loan me some more $$, given that i just maxed out the loan to 80% LTV on mu current pay?

It really depends, they will do their credit analysis, etc. I'm not a banker so I can't comment. Another way is if you have another property, you can take a cash-out loan on that property to finance your construction.