blitzk

Parquet Varnish Floor Costs

Hi, anyone done this recently? I was quoted $600 for semi-gloss finish for 3 bedrooms. I am not quite sure if it is too high or not. Appreciate the feedback of anyone who has done it recently. Thanks so much! :)

my contractor quote me $800 for my 3 bed rooms + 1 study room parquet floor ... i decided to DIY, varnished the master bedroom myself, bought varnish from Nippon Paint shop, and sand paper, brushes and etc. from some other shops ... managed to put down 2 coats of varnish (gloss finish), spent 2 afternoon ... total materials and equipments cost less than $50, but i didn't go ahead and do the rest rooms, instead, i bought Sofix parquet care and used it to mop the floor.

My reno handyman said he'd do my 3 bedrooms plus teak living room floor for $100 per area, total $400. Sand & matt varnish. But he's doing other jobs, so said he'd charge me less for this job.

my contractor quote me $800 for my 3 bed rooms + 1 study room parquet floor ... i decided to DIY, varnished the master bedroom myself, bought varnish from Nippon Paint shop, and sand paper, brushes and etc. from some other shops ... managed to put down 2 coats of varnish (gloss finish), spent 2 afternoon ... total materials and equipments cost less than $50, but i didn't go ahead and do the rest rooms, instead, i bought Sofix parquet care and used it to mop the floor.

Thanks, will also think about DIY if I can't find some reasonable quote :)

My reno handyman said he'd do my 3 bedrooms plus teak living room floor for $100 per area, total $400. Sand & matt varnish. But he's doing other jobs, so said he'd charge me less for this job.

Thanks, that's quite a good price.

anyone got some contact for this? Please let me know. Thanks :)

so how was the outcome after you DIY the flooring?

i wouldn't say my master bedroom looks perfect after varnishing, in fact, u can still see the scratches left by the previous owner if u bend down and look carefully, this is because i use gloss finish, it will actually highlight all the defects ... but at least my wife is very happy with my work, she said the floor looks like brand new (if u don't bend down and look carefully :P)

i didn't go ahead and varnish the other rooms, because my butt and thigh ached for 2 days after i finished the master bedroom :bangwall:

so if u want to DIY, i suggest u rent those big sanding machine to sand the floor, it will be much faster that way compare to my miserable handheld sander, and use roller to apply the varnish rather than a 4" brush :bangwall:

price is ok lar..around there.....i done mine ard tat price for a 110 sqm 5rm.. but is yours i a new flat or those old type?? old resale rooms are bigger leh :notti:

Hi trees, mine is a resale flat. oso 110 sqm but the parquet floor is only the bedroom. If i cannot find a bit lower wan; i might just get the 600 wan :)

My fiance and I just bought a resale flat. We saw a dent/deep scratch on the parquet floor. I was wondering if it can polished/varnish off? Or need to change the whole piece (if possible)?? Thank in advance :)

Deep scratch can be filled up with wood "plaster" that you can buy from those DIY store.

I recommend getting expert to polish the floor and fixed it.

Deep scratch can be filled up with wood "plaster" that you can buy from those DIY store.

I recommend getting expert to polish the floor and fixed it.

I see! Thanks for your your advice :yamseng:

My ID quoted me $1900 (not yet incl GST hor) for 3 bed rooms! Rediculous!!

Luckily with this forum, i'm able to pick up a rough guage of a reasonable pricing.

But that's not end of my woes.

As i'm currently in the midst of renovation, unfortunately, after hacking away some existing features in the room namely wardrobe and a cabinet (in another room), I discovered that the area underneath these carpentry were raw, i.e. only cement, not laid with the parquet. So i will need to engage flooring specialist to patch and make good these affected area.

Any takers?

Guest melancholic
My ID quoted me $1900 (not yet incl GST hor) for 3 bed rooms! Rediculous!!

Luckily with this forum, i'm able to pick up a rough guage of a reasonable pricing.

But that's not end of my woes.

As i'm currently in the midst of renovation, unfortunately, after hacking away some existing features in the room namely wardrobe and a cabinet (in another room), I discovered that the area underneath these carpentry were raw, i.e. only cement, not laid with the parquet. So i will need to engage flooring specialist to patch and make good these affected area.

Any takers?

What??!! $1900! One of the IDs tried to quote me $1000 and I'm already thinking that's ex.

by the way, can any experts shed some light on the different types/ways of varnishing parquet? Cos I was told, dunno how true, that the proper way is to also do PU coating after all the sanding and varnishing.. that's why it's $1000 for 3 rooms. I'm skeptical about that. So really hope someone can explain if there are differences in level of varnishing.

And since we are on the topic of flooring.. how about polishing of marble floors? I got quotes varying from $700 to $1200... and the explanation I got was that the cheaper range is just for using machines to buff the floors while the expensive ones is cos they use diamond cutter.. dunno what.. to grind the marble first. But I'm thinking.. since it's all machines that is doing the work.. how can the cost be so much different? Can't be labour cost right?

Experts please shed some light.. :)

Recently i gotten my place at Binjai park which is an old unit +10yrs. i called a few companies to quote for the repair and restoration works needed on my existing parquet floor. Prices from $1000 to $3000.

They are only company who sent 'Surveyor' to inspect my flooring. Others simply sales talks. He given me various options to repair and restore my parquet floors. The surveyor was detail oriented and knowledgeable. Good thing that he given me logical and professional advice insight to Singapore contractors. It was educational on wood flooring care & maintenance. I knew about flooring as back in England, we install our own. I thought about it initially, but lacks of DIY tools and time. i gave up.

I am very thankful. He did our place for slightly above $2k. Wonderful people, professional and puncture!

Keep up the good job.

Andrew P.

**Advertisment, posting edited** by JuzChris

Edited by JuzChris