Bengologist

Let's Go Punggol!

Beng graduate liao! Congrats!

I'm soooooo happy to be part of the graduating class of June 2013. :P

Thank you fellow 'schoolmates' for your support! :thumbs up:

Hope to see you all graduate with me soon! :lol:

nice works there.. your toilet mosaic is very nice. ya, at least everything is on track for you that's the most important, and thank you for sharing your journey with us :)

Hahaha.. Thanks for the kind compliment Easter! :good:

Everything's on track thanks to the constant pressure we gave to the ID. :argue:

Looking forward to more updates in your renovation journey too! ;)

Beng, swee swee. Can go party liao. Wahahaha

Yeahhhhhhh! It's time to party! :jammin:

Just kidding. No time to party. Must go home after work to continue the cleaning/unpacking duties. :~

Congrats beng on his graduation from renovations ! Loving your mosaic tiles !!! Sebey swee

Now the Tiring cleaning n moving starts ! Jia you !

Haha! Thanks mrmerry!

So glad that you will be graduating with me soon. Went over to peep at your T-blog, your house is truly an inspiration for us. Sibey sibey swee swee :thumbs up: ! Gonna steal some idea from your house if I'm gonna shift house again :notti: . Hahaha! :lol:

Oh gosh.. Thanks for the reminder on the cleaning too! :(

Haha! Thanks mrmerry!

So glad that you will be graduating with me soon. Went over to peep at your T-blog, your house is truly an inspiration for us. Sibey sibey swee swee :thumbs up: ! Gonna steal some idea from your house if I'm gonna shift house again :notti: . Hahaha! :lol:

Oh gosh.. Thanks for the reminder on the cleaning too! :(

Heh thanks thanks steal the shower bench idea. tt one is just super song!!!

I also sian 1/2 when i look at the amount of cleaning stuff to buy. and haven even start to look at other misc like cups la..rice la.. bi tang.. @_@ head big liao.. wallet super dry liao.

22nd June 2013
Took leave on Saturday to station myself in my new house very early in the morning because 99% of the items which I had ordered, via shops or online, will be arriving.
The first thing (or human) to arrive in the morning at 10am is..................Eric & his female co-worker (I supposed she's the wife). You guys & girls might be scratching your head :dunno: thinking who the **** is Eric. My apologies for not highlighting it earlier :( . I have engaged him to install the ceiling fan in my living hall. He came about one month ago to take the measurement and jotted the details on a notebook. At that time, he requested for a $50 deposit without issuing a receipt to me, merely asking me to snap a picture of the information on his notebook as a form of agreement. He promised that he won't run away with the money and will come to fix the ceiling fan up on the proposed installation date. My mom is a little skeptical about the way how this transaction is being conducted but due to his popularity in Renotalk (his thread: http://www.renotalk.com/forum/topic/42519-ceiling-fans-lights-led/), I reassured my mom that he can be trusted.
Fast forward one month, he arrived on time with the ceiling fan parts and the installation was completed within 30 minutes without any hassle. His services are on par with the curtain-specialist Ryan and he even provided excellent advices me on ceiling lights. Before he and his female partner left my unit, he passed me the warranty card and told me that anything wrong with the ceiling fan I can call him directly on his mobile, no transport fee & no consultation fees like the other Franco dealers. Top-notch services! :thumbs up::thumbs up::thumbs up:
Here are the pictures of the ceiling fan:-
1) The black Franco 56" ceiling fan (w remote controller) :notti:
20130622_104320_zps1b5c98ef.jpg
2) When the ceiling fan is turned on....... :rolleyes:
20130622_104351_zpsb3cd913e.jpg
After Eric left, I stayed on to continue my patient wait for the items. The electricians arrived shortly to install the outstanding lightings, which I had initially purchased wrongly or contain defects and made the exchange prior to Saturday. I also took the opportunity to highlight to them that the protective plastic layer on the crystal chandeliers are not removed, so they need to help me tear the plastic. This turns out to be a bad decision as one of the worker damaged the chandelier in the passageway. He accidentally removed the metal screw-thread in one of the light-bulb holder and as a result, the bulb cannot be fixed back. He advised me to exchange the whole crystal chandelier in the shop I had purchased from but I look at him in a pissed-off manner :angry2: and told him that this was purchased from Taobao (China), so I can't possibly get it exchange, unless he don't mind forking out the freight & transportation charges. He immediately apologized and returned to rectify the problem.
While the two electricians are busy cracking their heads to fix the chandelier issue, all the ordered items arrived one after another at the same time, making the whole house and common corridor pretty chaotic. The electricians managed to fix the issue but the solution was not a permanent one. They have just merely slotted rubber insulation tubes into empty spaces in the bulb-holders and used a makeshift metal wire to connect the electricity to the bulb. However, I cannot think of other solutions, so I just shook my head and resigned to fate that this is the best method available. However, the worst is yet to come and I shall cover this in my next update.

Meanwhile, check out these pictures taken on 22nd June 13:-

3) One of the electricians installing the final downlight
20130622_115824_zpse9dcbc07.jpg

4) The praying altar. This is not complete, I have forgotten to snap a picture of the full set. :lol:
20130622_123559_zpsc44e70bc.jpg

5) The Samsung TV and the audio equipment from Harvey Norman. Came with a free luggage too! :notti:
20130622_124312_zps9e4771d2.jpg

22nd June 2013
Took leave on Saturday to station myself in my new house very early in the morning because 99% of the items which I had ordered, via shops or online, will be arriving.
The first thing (or human) to arrive in the morning at 10am is..................Eric & his female co-worker (I supposed she's the wife). You guys & girls might be scratching your head :dunno: thinking who the **** is Eric. My apologies for not highlighting it earlier :( . I have engaged him to install the ceiling fan in my living hall. He came about one month ago to take the measurement and jotted the details on a notebook. At that time, he requested for a $50 deposit without issuing a receipt to me, merely asking me to snap a picture of the information on his notebook as a form of agreement. He promised that he won't run away with the money and will come to fix the ceiling fan up on the proposed installation date. My mom is a little skeptical about the way how this transaction is being conducted but due to his popularity in Renotalk (his thread: http://www.renotalk.com/forum/topic/42519-ceiling-fans-lights-led/), I reassured my mom that he can be trusted.
Fast forward one month, he arrived on time with the ceiling fan parts and the installation was completed within 30 minutes without any hassle. His services are on par with the curtain-specialist Ryan and he even provided excellent advices me on ceiling lights. Before he and his female partner left my unit, he passed me the warranty card and told me that anything wrong with the ceiling fan I can call him directly on his mobile, no transport fee & no consultation fees like the other Franco dealers. Top-notch services! :thumbs up::thumbs up::thumbs up:
Here are the pictures of the ceiling fan:-
1) The black Franco 56" ceiling fan (w remote controller) :notti:
20130622_104320_zps1b5c98ef.jpg
2) When the ceiling fan is turned on....... :rolleyes:
20130622_104351_zpsb3cd913e.jpg
After Eric left, I stayed on to continue my patient wait for the items. The electricians arrived shortly to install the outstanding lightings, which I had initially purchased wrongly or contain defects and made the exchange prior to Saturday. I also took the opportunity to highlight to them that the protective plastic layer on the crystal chandeliers are not removed, so they need to help me tear the plastic. This turns out to be a bad decision as one of the worker damaged the chandelier in the passageway. He accidentally removed the metal screw-thread in one of the light-bulb holder and as a result, the bulb cannot be fixed back. He advised me to exchange the whole crystal chandelier in the shop I had purchased from but I look at him in a pissed-off manner :angry2: and told him that this was purchased from Taobao (China), so I can't possibly get it exchange, unless he don't mind forking out the freight & transportation charges. He immediately apologized and returned to rectify the problem.
While the two electricians are busy cracking their heads to fix the chandelier issue, all the ordered items arrived one after another at the same time, making the whole house and common corridor pretty chaotic. The electricians managed to fix the issue but the solution was not a permanent one. They have just merely slotted rubber insulation tubes into empty spaces in the bulb-holders and used a makeshift metal wire to connect the electricity to the bulb. However, I cannot think of other solutions, so I just shook my head and resigned to fate that this is the best method available. However, the worst is yet to come and I shall cover this in my next update.

Meanwhile, check out these pictures taken on 22nd June 13:-

3) One of the electricians installing the final downlight

20130622_115824_zpse9dcbc07.jpg

4) The praying altar. This is not complete, I have forgotten to snap a picture of the full set. :lol:

20130622_123559_zpsc44e70bc.jpg

5) The Samsung TV and the audio equipment from Harvey Norman. Came with a free luggage too! :notti:

20130622_124312_zps9e4771d2.jpg

How much is the fan plus installation? I am planning to replace and install a new one at my parent place.. Their current ceiling fan already old and wind is not so strong anymore.... :( poor folk during the hazey day...

22nd June 2013 (Continued...) PART II

6) The sofas, beds, carpets etc etc. All in the corridor. Told ya~! It's really a mess! Hahaha! :lol:
20130622_121304_zps2f0ea9ee.jpg

7) The delivery guys from Hommage Trading. They are trying to fix up the TV console before carrying it into the house.
20130622_120237_zps159c35fb.jpg

8) Almost done! Woohooo! :sport-smiley-004:
20130622_121329_zps1f43a4ba.jpg

9) The completed unit. I'm kinda upset that there's only one hole in the center for the wires to go through. Ask the TV mounting guys (from Samsung) to help me drill two holes but they declined and claimed that they are unable to do it because if they damage the TV console, they are unable to compensate it. Called Hommage to send guys to fix the holes but they also declined and claimed that they are only a 3rd party purchasing directly from the factory, so they are not responsible for drilling additional holes. Soooooooooo pissed off with their 'Taiji' skills :jail: . Guess I gotta do it on my own. ROAAAAAAARRRRRRRR! :angry:
20130622_121455_zps0f286160.jpg

10) My queen-sized bed! Hooooooray! :dribble:
20130622_130125_zps8e4af816.jpg

Heh thanks thanks steal the shower bench idea. tt one is just super song!!!

I also sian 1/2 when i look at the amount of cleaning stuff to buy. and haven even start to look at other misc like cups la..rice la.. bi tang.. @_@ head big liao.. wallet super dry liao.

I will steal EVERYTHING! LOL! :lol::lol::lol:

Your house is just toooooooooooo beautifully renovated. :thumbs up:

My friend is also looking at your shower bench idea. He is planning & exploring the possibility of fixing something similar in his future home. You should charge him copyright fees. Hahahaha! :D

Yeah. A lot of money have been draining out of my thin wallet because I fancied new items. My mom has also been nagging at me :curse: for spending unnecessary cash on replacement items. :(

How much is the fan plus installation? I am planning to replace and install a new one at my parent place.. Their current ceiling fan already old and wind is not so strong anymore.... :( poor folk during the hazey day...

It's less than $300. However, if you did not opt for remote controller, it will be wayyyyyyyyyy cheaper. I guess you can negotiate with Eric on the price. Not very convenient for me to reveal the full amount. :huh:

Anyway it's confirmed cheaper than market rate, like how he always highlight in his thread "hope u'll save some bucks n buy me KOPI". Try to PM him. :)

22nd June 2013 (Continued...) PART III

After all the items were delivered and properly installed, my sister came over and assisted me with one of the toughest task of the day - fixing the crystals to the chandeliers. :notti:

Without any instruction manual, I did a screenshot of the completed lighting sets on Taobao on my mobile phone and began using my way to fix the crystal balls up. The process is pretty simple but it involves a lot of effort, as there are just too many items to hang on the chandelier. It certainly did not help that my sister is nagging all the way while I'm busy doing the fixing work (she has sure inherited my mom's nagging ability, wahahahahaha! :lol::lol::lol: ).

After a long long long process, the two chandeliers were finally ready to blossom with full spectrum of lights. :sport-smiley-004:

Here are the pictures:-

1) The hanging chandelier on top of the dining table (The guy in the background is the carpenter)
20130622_155235_zpsd538ea52.jpg

2) A picture of the dining chandelier taken from below (please ignore the missing crystal ball, I have fixed it in after this picture was taken)
20130622_155248_zps88aea43f.jpg

3) Ta-daaaaaaaa! It's gorgeous right! The dining set (table+chairs) are also equally awesome! Me love love them. :wub::wub::wub:
20130622_223139_zpsaf195a9e.jpg

4) This passageway chandelier is wayyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy more tedious than the dining chandelier. My arm almost sore to numbness while fixing its crystals up. :wacko:

20130622_214758_zps2cad5e99.jpg

5) Lights on! Totally add elegance to the otherwise dull passageway (however.......................... :( Stay tuned!)
20130622_214825_zps11fc8f40.jpg

20th June 2013 (Continued...) PART II

6) The casement wardrobe in my parents' room

20130620_202517_zps65e2cc90.jpg

7) Another casement wardrobe (similar design, colour & material) in my sister's room.

20130620_202549_zps487faeb4.jpg

8) A picture of the toilet (as per requested by drunkenchivas) after the bathroom accessories are installed :)

20130620_202242_zps49930729.jpg

9) Another picture of the toilet. Oh ya! That's my new vanity cabinet! Not sure if I have posted any picture before but I certainly love it very much :wub:

20130620_202252_zps05c3a8d4.jpg

10) A close-up picture of the shower area in the toilet

20130620_202353_zpsd9526696.jpg

nice nice..... i anticipating mine setup like how.....

23rd June 2013 - Official House Moving Day

It's finally the day! From the first day the application was submitted, to the day we received the notification from HDB to collect the keys, to the commencement of the renovation, till its completion. 3++++ YEARS! It all comes down to this date, 23rd June 2013! Looking back, it's really a super super long process. :huh:

Even though we slept very late the night before, we woke up early in the morning to begin the final preparation. When the clock strikes 1330 hours, my mom returned home and together with the rest of the family members and the help of our relatives, we moved all the boxes to the 3 vehicles for this huge mission. They subsequently left without me as I'm still busy clearing some stuff at the old house and I do not want them to miss the auspicious timing because of me.

After I'm done, I immediately rushed down to the new place in a cab and by the time I reached (about 15 minutes after them), the deity statues had already been placed properly on the altar table. I straight away went downstairs to assist the rest of them to carry the bulky boxes to the house. After 10 minutes of hard work, we managed to shift all the heavy boxes and place them randomly all over the house. While we are busy unpacking the items from the boxes, my mom and aunt went to the sole coffeeshop around the vicinity to buy food for everyone so that we can all crowd around the dining table and have a hearty meal together after all these hard work. :lol:

Here are some of the pictures:-

1) Boxes lying in 'no-man's land' (passageway). Hahaha!
20130623_152332_zps0c9dd79c.jpg

2) Boxes in my sister's room
20130623_152355_zps39b2a455.jpg

3) My items! Wahahahahahaha! :sport-smiley-004:
20130623_152344_zps175a52fa.jpg

4) Lunch-time! Wooohooooooooo! :lol::lol::lol:
20130623_160359_zps2030b011.jpg

Wah the dining set from beds.sg rite? Looks good, it's the table shakey? Looks like can buy from them when I replace mine