AlezDrake75

Maisonette In The West

Thanks Mark :) ! Always glad to know someone from the west. Actually have been staying in the west since 1980s, shifted a few times & now just a few blocks away (a carpark away lol :D ) from my old place... Just can't see myself leaving Westside with all those shopping malls sprouting up in Jurong... hahaha....

Stay tuned for more updates... Cheers buddy :drunk: !

That's what my HTB says as well

*sigh*

So this eastsider is moving to the West for the first time in her life

My Reno took 1.5 months for a total overhaul. Lots of hacking & tiling, relaying electrical and heaps of built-in carpentry works. But it's all worth it. I'd rather my contractor takes 2 months and do a good job, then rush to complete in 1 month and end up with sloppy work. :)

I agree with 3Dyms

My contractor told me that the overhaul of my unit will take approximately 1.5 months to 2 months because he knows that i'm getting married in early Nov

but we've told him that we would rather ensure that he does a good job than rush just to handover the unit before our wedding

My Reno took 1.5 months for a total overhaul. Lots of hacking & tiling, relaying electrical and heaps of built-in carpentry works. But it's all worth it. I'd rather my contractor takes 2 months and do a good job, then rush to complete in 1 month and end up with sloppy work. :)

That's what my HTB says as well

*sigh*

So this eastsider is moving to the West for the first time in her life

I agree with 3Dyms

My contractor told me that the overhaul of my unit will take approximately 1.5 months to 2 months because he knows that i'm getting married in early Nov

but we've told him that we would rather ensure that he does a good job than rush just to handover the unit before our wedding

Hey guys,

Thanks for the advices :) ! That's what most (if not all) my relatives & friends are saying... Dun rush!! I was told that it's actually quite fast (considering the workload) as i had virtually tear down the whole house & re-built it according to my designs...(all but left with 3 BR doors which are Nyatoh and in good conditions) I had to defer the deliveries of my furnitures twice due to unforeseen circumstances... Thought we could celebrate my sis birthday early Sept but now gotta pray earnestly to host my house-warming party end of Sept or (the worst scenario)...a "Halloween theme" house-warming in October!!!:rofl: Not so bad afterall... LOL :D

One thing i totally agree with you guys when comes to tilings you have to take it :jawdrop:slow... My mosaic specialists are all perfectionist who would inspect every tile they've layered to ensure uniformity & a smooth surface :jammin: I'm fully satisfied with the job done so far :good:

Do stay tuned for more updates... Cheers :drunk: !

Hi guys,

Thinking of getting either a Hitachi or Samsung's fridge. Would you get Hitachi's R-S700P2MS or...Samsung's RSH5SUSL??? Any comments?

hahahaha Welcome to the maisonette owners' club!

maybe we should open up a 'West side' sub club for those who stay in the west like yourself, 3Dyms etc

my only question is will I be allowed in the club since mine is a 5 Rm Maisonette and not an Executive Maisonette :P

Hi zihui, I support West side EM club. 5AM & EM are bro, sure can join the club lah.. U setting up West side EM club?

Zihui, no worries lah. Wether it's EM or 5M, all is maisonette. So everyone is welcome. *thumbs up* ;)

Hahah... Agree on west side EM club. Not many of us here. Can also include Happy Ang.

Yes, pls include me too. Me stay in B.Batok. Was busy coping with junior HappyAng, so didn't come into the forum so often now..

AlezDrake75, welcome to the EM club! Ur EM looks like @ JW blk 9XX.. Wish u a smooth renovation journey.. :)

Hi zihui, I support West side EM club. 5AM & EM are bro, sure can join the club lah.. U setting up West side EM club?

Yes, pls include me too. Me stay in B.Batok. Was busy coping with junior HappyAng, so didn't come into the forum so often now..

AlezDrake75, welcome to the EM club! Ur EM looks like @ JW blk 9XX.. Wish u a smooth renovation journey.. :)

Hi HappyAng,

Thanks for welcoming me. Yes it's @JW9XX...How did you know? You saw my Flickr pics via my link or you actually know the place? One more month to go...

Wow Happy Husband is back in here! Shouldn't your baby be called HappyKia instead of Junior HappyAng? :rofl:

I'm not qualified to set up the West-side Mainsonette club lah hhahaah

not only am I the newest member of the club, I also entered via the backdoor one *sssshhh*

Actually there's another forummer here called soonliew who just bought a unit at my estate so we've been chatting. She's officially the latest member of the West-side Maisonette club (WMC!) :notti:

Hi HappyAng,

Thanks for welcoming me. Yes it's @JW9XX...How did you know? You saw my Flickr pics via my link or you actually know the place? One more month to go...

I m very familiar with the area. Ur Blk is one of the EM in Jurong West which is near MRT. Good choice!

Wow Happy Husband is back in here! Shouldn't your baby be called HappyKia instead of Junior HappyAng? :rofl:

I'm not qualified to set up the West-side Mainsonette club lah hhahaah

not only am I the newest member of the club, I also entered via the backdoor one *sssshhh*

Actually there's another forummer here called soonliew who just bought a unit at my estate so we've been chatting. She's officially the latest member of the West-side Maisonette club (WMC!) :notti:

Who say newer forummer cannot set up WMC leh? If u start, remember to invite me hor.. Btw, where is ur 5AM?

Bro,

I always look into your unit when I drove pass...the progress is very good. Your Contractor very on, sometimes work till wee hours... :good:

My reno also on the way to completion...Cheers.

So is the slimline hood better or is the chimney hood better?

i'm quite concerned about this as i'm a heavy cooker and my kitchen cabinets will be in white so i'm looking for something strong...

Chimney usually works better....key word USUALLY

I m very familiar with the area. Ur Blk is one of the EM in Jurong West which is near MRT. Good choice!

Who say newer forummer cannot set up WMC leh? If u start, remember to invite me hor.. Btw, where is ur 5AM?

I was lucky i bought it at a reasonable price, though the COV's $50k... The nearest EM near MRT (Jurong Area we've viewed) were asking for $70k-$120k :jawdrop: The deal :deal: wasn't that smooth as initially they were asking for at least $70k & my first offer of $40k (which was rejected :no: flatly) After months of fruitless searching & viewing, i was desperate (my previous house was sold & gotta move out by July) enough to offer them $45k but again i was rejected. After a week or so, i went back with my last offer of $50k & thank God! They finally agreed :jammin: & i got a place to create my dream home! Friends were dissuading me (Xiao Ar! **** EX lor! COV $50k! House so jialat!) from it as you can see from the pics i've uploaded in Flickr (the house was in a dilapidated condition) but i'm glad that i'm blessed & steadfast with my decision to go ahead with the deal. Hopefully it'll manifest itself into a precious gem from a rock. Only time will tell...

Count me in if you guys are setting up WMC :good: ...

Congrates on your new house ^ ^

Hi boonster!

Thanks for the welcome... Feel free to have a look at the progress of my humble abode at the link below! Cheers :drunk:

Bro,

I always look into your unit when I drove pass...the progress is very good. Your Contractor very on, sometimes work till wee hours... :good:

My reno also on the way to completion...Cheers.

Hi Danny!

Nice to hear from you again :)! Saw the pics of your house which was nicely done especially the wallpaper (on your chillout area?) :good:... I'm fine with the progress of my reno (so long as it's nice!) & the superb workmanship (& professionalism attitude) of the mosaic 头手! The floors on level 1 should complete either today or tomorrow as told & plastering on the wall behind my sofa (for wall print) will commence tomorrow. Everyday me & my contractor (bro-in-law) will meet up there to discuss the progress of the reno etc...

So far so good, can't wait to see the finished project of my own designs... LOL :D

hahahahaahahaha

i'm still waiting for the more senior ones to take the lead

then we can even organize makan gatherings (in the west, of course!)

Chimney usually works better....key word USUALLY

Yup, that's good advice.

Now patiently counting down until the day we can finally get the keys and get the reno officially started

the contractor just took the floorplan from us to apply for the reno permit today =)