Alternate Tan

Conceal Socket Box

Just brought a 5 room resale in woodlands. Since it's an old flat, the cable trays, switch and socket box are all installed external unlike new BTOs.

Does HDB approve hacking on the wall to conceal wiring and socket box. If yes, Does anyone knows any contractor who does it.

Thanks. (attach is a photo of what i meant).

2luxwsm.jpg

Hdb confirmed won't approve. Basically... Just do it ...

HDB don't approve and you suggest "just do it"

What if 5 yrs later, TS want to sell house.

HDB officer come and check and point all those wire and box, said it is not approved.

Then TS how?

Either need to re-wire all these not approved items.

OR

don't sell the house and wait for buyer to sue them for breaking the OTP?

Dilemma.

Some said can approve, but i was wondering are they referring to new BTO flats which wall are different construction or material.

best person..HDB.

Write to HDB and wait for their reply.. then at least you had a black and white.

Confirm cannot do for older hdb flats.. But if wanna do, dun get caught hy hdb during site inspection (if any). But if wanna sell flat next time, then must make good b4 selling.

Made a call to the Officer in charge for my area. Concealment of cables, socket box, switch box not allowed. Either build a false wall cover or make good when time to sell. So any buyers purchasing old flats do note. If contractors say can, don't believe them. The HDB officer tells me, he gets the same queries almost daily until he one shot tells all the do and don't. lol

We bought a old resale flat too. No, it is not allowed. My electrician says if he does for me then his license will be gone liao.
And we very heng, did kena HDB site inspection.