RyanYTH

My Modern Zen 2-Room 35sqm (Type 1) HDB BTO Apartment Renovation Journey

Blog Entry Date: 11th October 2017 Wednesday
Click Here to go back to Page 1 - Table of Contents

4th week after Key Collection. Tiling completed, Important Milestone reached.
A Prepping Week for the next Milestone

With Tiling completed, an important milestone has concluded and now 4th Week begins.
From what I understand from Jason, the action plan for this week is:

1) Early week, Electrical guys come up to settle any power points that are still outstanding.
2) Clearing of Rubbish and Removal of Bulky Trash to be done midweek on Wednesday and Thursday
3) Jason setting up appointment with his Carpenter for discussion on next Carpentry Milestone
4) Painters to come at end of the week Next Monday to start Painting Works after all Rubbish has been removed.
5) Meeting Jason on Saturday to go buy my Kitchen/Bathroom Stuffs, Appointment with Carpenter for Carpentry Discussions

As you can see, there isn't much action for 4th week, its more like a Prepping Week to Prepare
for the Next Major Milestone which is Painting / Carpentry / Lightings.

----------------------------------------------------------

Below are the pictures I've just captured of most of the rubbish cleared, and a better picture of
how the finished tiling works looks like. What do ya'll think of the workmanship?
(Warning: Massive amount of Pictures ahead) :D

Bathroom

Pictures of the Bathroom taken from outside:
bathroom1.thumb.jpg.3306ab99269c1d33088b5baf81538828.jpg

Bathroom Floor (Notice the difference in height? Left side closer to entrance is Dry Area, right side shower area is Wet Area.
There will be a glass panel put in later to divide the 2 areas.

bathroom2.jpg.03888b10302acbbcaca692b404937ff5.jpg

Close up of the Bathroom Floor
bathroom3.jpg.60db71711dea89e174c9d460ebb81031.jpg

Bathroom Ceiling Corner
bathroom4.jpg.24f874a3a9912f881568fae2c6ef579e.jpg

Another Bathroom Ceiling Corner
bathroom5.jpg.2d4c3b04e4ff9f0134ada9cf7956ada7.jpg

Side of the Bathroom Wall showing the Aircon Trunking
bathroom6.jpg.d82f320f441ae80efb31e106a4120256.jpg

I have shown this before, but here it is again.
This is the side of Kitchen Wall thats facing the Main Door.

Kitchen5.jpg.d99356f13d02ec3b76e3c6b6b8a4b3ce.jpg

Overall look of tiling and kerbs completed in Kitchen.
IMG_20171011_154139.jpg.0bcc43c5613e30ce652848c48d36fa0c.jpg

Kerb at the Washing Machine and Kitchen Sink side
(Left side is Washing Machine, Right side is Kitchen Sink)

IMG_20171011_154157.jpg.70263d0fec4dcffa363010d15c6a34da.jpg

Close up look of the Kitchen Sink Kerb
IMG_20171012_112746.jpg.95d615bc3ae57e65d64193c2ee6740ed.jpg

Close Up look of the Washing Machine Kerb
IMG_20171012_112759.jpg.2a726a8366d144031ce75f78c20cd12c.jpg

View of the Kerb on the other side of the Kitchen where my Oven, Induction Stovetop, Refridgerator are located
IMG_20171011_154209.jpg.13dd12f4d0097fe52ccc9957eaf2461b.jpg

Close up look of the Refridgeratror Kerb
IMG_20171012_112643.jpg.3430bd78004174c47080724b25523fc8.jpg

Close up look at the Induction Stovetop, Oven side Kerb
IMG_20171012_112812.jpg.01d5c76134d2d5477302d47f36e76fdc.jpg

Another overall look at the completed tiling work in the Kitchen
(This time also including the Laundry Rack)

IMG_20171011_154240.jpg.b42bbb672efd65b1bbbd87be724cd31c.jpg

Different Views of my Living Room Ceiling L-Box Cove Lighting

IMG_20171012_113101.jpg.bc364f2cdb087e492695c0b7f70b3ca7.jpg
IMG_20171012_113140.jpg.07f681ace4cb4bd049e5dd77ebe654b4.jpg
IMG_20171012_113211.jpg.d23755202b9e89d151f80163dd228981.jpg

Do you remember previously in the Living Room after both Sliding Door and False wall
were removed, there was a massive big gaping hole that looks like this?
IMG-20171002-WA0010.jpg.bb3668754b03243d455167bc01e100ee.jpg

Well, this hole has also been patched up very nicely using the spare tiles given by HDB as shown below.
Other than a bit of touchup on the Wooden Skirting, you will never know there used to be a big hole there. :D
IMG_20171011_154359.jpg.981840f7903ba999abfdf3553d6ad8a6.jpg

So many pictures of the completed work. How do you find the workmanship?
Anyway this concludes my report for the 4th week. :)
I am very happy that an important milestone has been completed mostly without hitches and on schedule.

Thanks for visiting, I'll see you in the next Blog Entry! :yeah:

Click Here for the Next Blog Entry:
My Mid-Renovation Review of my Interior Designer

Edited by ryanyth

• Like 2

Blog Entry Date: 20th October 2017 Friday

5th week after Key Collection. Painting, Delivery of Lightings, Bathroom and Kitchen Fittings.

Yet another mostly prep week until the next major milestone which is Carpentry Works.
Jason advised earliest scheduled date for Carpentry would be on 1st November 2017 because they're fabricating the stuffs now. So yea, for the weeks leading up to the day, progress will be slowed down a little.

That said, early this week the Painters came over and did their painting and touchups.

Job was completed within 1 day, and i'm pretty satisfied with the results. :)
I especially love how the Air-Con trunking now camouflages nicely into my Bathroom. :D

Brand of Paint used: Nippon Paint
Colour Codes: White (5048), Black (9103)

How do ya'll find the workmanship?

Painters in Action:
1.jpg.f68c50deb48be4f98ebfc708b16c27fe.jpg
2.jpg.d5ac1418a4f6cb02844dd76e62756a98.jpg

Air-Con Trunking in the Bathroom painted Black.
I like how it looks now! :D Sometimes I even forget that its even there. :D
trunk1.jpg.29450095b5b1fbb9f207eab3cb0b1271.jpg
trunk2.jpg.ae2116ffa0414e06420598fc312dc872.jpg
trunk3.jpg.f66d46fff93a16aeadaf9be49ebbf818.jpg
trunk4.jpg.81bef685e679f2bea1bef68a76ebeb54.jpg
trunk5.jpg.5ae3c83d4a4faa8987e21b99ba1d84ea.jpg
trunk6.jpg.ee910e3d7fc5592aff91e1c17c009594.jpg

Close-Up look at the Paint Texture:
59e8d81e73707_PaintTexture.jpg.a2343799dbaf633706183c66a8759e1b.jpg

Something I forgot to post last week, Jason got his guys to cover up the Ugly Bomb Shelter Ventilation Opening at my Living Room. Most people who don't do this, would use a Clock or something to cover it up.

(Left image was before renovation started. Right image shows Covered up Bomb shelter Hole, and a little bit of my L-Box Ceiling)

Check out the comparison, it looks so much cleaner now right? :D
dbbox.jpg.002ec1c7bef4bc886fcfa356b1ce33c8.jpg

More views of the Completed Paintworks:
IMG_20171017_154640.jpg.87f3ab561a46e7c23de1655468552add.jpg
IMG_20171017_154514.jpg.1789af44d236d4a62b282528ad11498a.jpg
Bedroom.jpg.b8130a6413f767e41225e67a74cdd2e3.jpg

Area Behind the Refridgerator in the Kitchen painted Black
IMG_20171017_154720.jpg.7a887b75d6b2e2398b457dcdff040ad6.jpg

This week also saw the Delivery of all my Lightings, Kitchen and Bathroom Fittings that I've bought. Home First for my Lightings, and SaniQUO for my Kitchen and Bathroom fittings.

I specifically took leave to receive the items which were all delivered promptly without any mix ups. Kudos to both companies for a delivery job well done! :D

Tommy from SaniQUO even made a call to me after delivery was done just to make sure if everything was alright. Now that's what I call Good Customer Service! :D (Lets just hope all items are all working well when they're installed :D)

Left Pile are my Kitchen and Bathroom Fittings, Right Pile are my Lightings
IMG_20171019_153225.jpg.e26836af5859da3296c2376be3242a8f.jpg

Lightings from Home First
Lighting installation would start next week from what i'm told.
Anyway, Its a good idea wherever possible to label every single box on the type of lightings, so it will be easier for your ID to know which light to put where. (Protip: Remember to bring a Marker + Masking Tape to help you do this)

IMG_20171019_153050.jpg.10b5b2b47e589755d6c5ad10336a35c9.jpg

Kitchen and Bathroom Fittings from SaniQUO
Oven, Storage Heaters and everything else I've listed in a previous post.
This is what $3000 looks like. :D

IMG_20171019_150934.jpg.cff278853e271c78c293361550636f42.jpg

Showing off my GROHE bathroom items lol. Made in Germany seh~! :D
(I'm REALLY interested to know if this Brand is really as good as what people say.) :D
IMG_20171019_150727.jpg.45df52e1d12069b170ffae3faadb509f.jpg

So yea, thats all for the 5th week. I'll see you all soon!:yeah:

Shopping for Furnitures and Electrical Appliances

Edited by ryanyth

Blog Entry Date: 24th October 2017 Tuesday

6th week after Key Collection.  My Lightings are a Mess!!

Sometimes when things seems to be going smoothly, it can SUDDENLY ALL GO HAYWIRE IN AN INSTANT!! :wacko:

Oh the week started well enough, with Jason updating that his Lighting Guys are scheduled to do up my lightings this week. Again, a mostly Prep week with Lightings the only major event happening while still waiting for Carpentry Works.

So as usual, he whatsapped me his onsite pictures of his guys installing the lights:
59ef2bbfc25b7_LightingGuys.jpg.570b18187443e77899a9fde713c6f85a.jpg

Sneak preview of my downlights in the Living Room actually kindda look good tbh.
IMG-20171024-WA0012.jpg.53ee331d97a9041b691cd29f9d19b332.jpg

Until he reported THIS. (Below Image)
One of the outer frame of a Downlight I had bought from Home First Lightings was noticeably crooked, causing the Downlight to not be able to sit nicely flush in my false ceiling. :o

Notice the area highlighted in RED looked uneven?
Ughhh sian :( , I have to go back to the lighting shop and seek for a 1 to 1 exchange.
Luckily there were just a stroll away from my estate.

(Deep down, I hope the shop is nice and won't chut pattern when doing exchange.
Ever have that sort of feeling? Yea of course we all do.)  :(*Prays Hard Tolong Tolong*
59ef2cdb02614_crookeddownlight.jpg.20d360f447421269843f3ab5defa5b15.jpg

Sigh... mood already abit low, but I was still ok, as long as the Lighting Shop can replace for me, i'm fine. So after work, I went up to my place, did my inspection and....I HAD THE SHOCK OF MY LIFE!!! :o

:(Everything that could go WRONG, ALL WENT WRONG!!! :(

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

ALL the installed switches were HORRIBLY CROOKED, some of them were even SUNKEN IN!!!! :wacko:

NONE of the switches that were installed were any good! Oh my god the workmanship was ABSOLUTELY TERRIBLE!!! :angry:

I'll just post some of the WORST OFFENDERS.

Example 1:
Ughh look at how badly sunken in the whole Switch is? :angry:
And its from Legrand no less. Absolutely ATROCIOUS WORKMANSHIP!! :angry:
59ef2ea02c771_BadSwitch1.jpg.26d1ba303a12275beff9812595c5a6c8.jpg

Example 2:
Just look at the top of the switches from left to right, completely misaligned. WTF??? Ughhh!! :angry:
59ef2ef2e99f1_BadSwitch2.jpg.065bbcb8f27d14c766d560bb0f80decd.jpg

Example 3:
You probably will not be able to see this clearly, but the whole alignment of this switch is so misaligned! *faints* :~
59ef2f1a82bf6_BadSwitch3.jpg.0c6ea8c79e75dcabc65d1fe6497211f6.jpg

You think thats bad? You haven't seen the worst of it yet. :o
The lighting installation was so bad, so no Quality Control done,
that the installed Cove Light was EVEN TRIPPING THE ENTIRE MCB ELECTRICAL BOX!!!! *FAINTS* :angry:

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

And theres more. Ughh...:angry:
Spotted 2 of the lights in my Bathroom and Kitchen had DIRT or BUGS in them!?!?!?!
Is it the Lighting Shop's Fault?
Is it the Lighting Guy's Fault?

Even if its the Lighting Shop's fault, how can the Lighting Guys just blindly install them knowing the horrible condition it was in??? *faints* :~

59ef31d4982c3_homefirstbad1.jpg.2eb3e4c6ed0f546b2323217783e358d3.jpg
59ef31daa031b_homefirstbad2.jpg.038dd09acc653ce7d6739dd533830f56.jpg

I can only summarise the whole thing in one phrase: AN ABSOLUTE DISASTER!!!:angry:

Luckil
y, the day wasn't all bad believe it or not. :o
Despite all the catastrophic problems I encountered, there was a silver lining.

The nice folks at Home First Lightings not only did not chut any pattern and pretend its not their fault, they IMMEDIATELY did a 1 to 1 exchange of that crooked Downlight for me with NO QUESTIONS ASKED. :D

Below image is the replaced Downlight they exchanged for me on the spot. It looks so much better now!! :D
IMG_20171024_175713.jpg.4d9f924e77fd9fe3f14cca7b47aca863.jpg

And when I showed them pictures of the DIRT or BUG or Wadever in my Bathroom and Kitchen Lights, they immediately took responsibility and requested to arrange for a date when they can go up to my place to do their inspections and do a replacement if necessary. (I gave them Jason's contact for them to liase among themselves)

Wow...the earlier pissed off feeling I felt almost completely vapourized due to this Integrity and Honesty shown by Home First Lightings, i am TRULY IMPRESSED. Whether or not they will exchange my Bathroom and Kitchen Lights I don't know, but the fact, they immediately without question exchanged my Downlight and even apologized to me for making a trip down to their office

REALLY IMPRESSED ME VERY MUCH!!!
Thank you very much Mr Tay!! Two Thumbs Up!!
:wub::wub::wub::wub:

I never regret buying from them, and seeing how much integrity they've shown,
I really HIGHLY recommend them if you guys are intending to buy any lightings.
They are very friendly, affordable, but most of all, VERY HONEST.

Here's their address again. Brilliant bunch of folks! Kudos!! :D

Home First (S) Pte Ltd
21 Woodlands Close #05-07 PRIMZ BizHub
Singapore 737854
https://www.homefirst.com.sg/
Tel: 67107994

As for Jason, well while i'm of course angry at the absolutely shoddy workmanship his Lighting Guys have done, I'm glad he also did not avoid or push any blame. In fact after I whatsapped him all the issues, he immediately called me, and assured me that everything will be settled.

I didn't scream or shout at him, i mean also no point right? :(
As long as everything can do swee swee, I will have no complaints.
In fact, I'm honestly very surprised why his other Contractors can do a proper job with Tiling and Painting, yet do such a SHODDY JOB with Lightings. This was NOT the sort of quality and standard I expected from him.

So yea, this is my Lightings....Misadventure. :(
Hopefully everything gets sorted out nicely in the end......I hope so....

:blink:I'll see you in my next Blog Entry~ :blink:

A little Curtain Experiment - Part 1 / 3

Edited by hdb2roomrenovation

Blog Entry Date: 29th October 2017 Sunday

End of 6th week after Key Collection.
Lightings still being worked on, Bathroom Door is Replaced.

End of the 6th week, and I thought i'd report whats happened so far with my Lightings.
Jason sent someone up to rectify some of the switches issues, and while they aren't sunken in or
misaligned anymore, i'm still not satisfied with the overall results considering Living Room Cove light
sometimes still trips the Electrical MCB, and one Bedroom light still not replaced.

Jason advised he will continue to get his guys rectify the lightings because there are also lightings
to be added during Carpentry stage, and by Handover, will have everything done up right. I certainly hope so.
Nevertheless, I thought I might as well show how my lights look like.

Before, this was how bad the switch was, all sunken in. Unacceptable. :angry:
59f5c69920437_BadSwitch1.jpg.8cb8ac921396dc99f90b66fd1b784d68.jpg

Now, the switches are somewhat better although still not very good.
I suspect they will remain like this even after Handover...We shall see.
:wacko:
IMG_20171029_163108.jpg.5fa1b6a7f83de4dd5ff0b09ea24b7274.jpg

---------------------------------------------
Showing all my Installed Lightings

Entryway Light
(Nothing fancy about this one. Just a simple light i'll turn on when I come back home.)
IMG_20171029_161954.jpg.7bfddbfb4b965ae44e75d7cbde5dff1c.jpg

Kitchen Light
(I had my reservations about this one. At first I wanted something standard and squarish but somehow this one appeals to me more.)
IMG_20171029_162125.jpg.cd6cedb2fef2fe4b34daac18d4adf91d.jpg

Bombshelter / Walk-In Wardrobe Light
(2 types of Tracklight. White one i'm using for Bombshelter / Walk-In Wardrobe, Black one will be for my Bedroom.)
IMG_20171029_162214.jpg.980dc291a715f994796a59144f5af0e3.jpg

Bathroom Light
(Decided to go traditionally squarish and boxy for this one)
IMG_20171029_162327.jpg.579a313c734545611bc1b0584774ac07.jpg

Living Room (Cove Light Only)
(This is the actual colour of the Cove Light. Its a very pleasing soothing colour.
The other pictures show the light abit haywire colour due to my phone camera settings i think.)

IMG_20171029_162425.jpg.a9faf4cd69140e0ea38e03bda9eda981.jpg

Living Room (Cove Light + Cool White Downlight)
(I like the Cool White Downlight, it looks very fresh and light) :D

IMG_20171029_162507.jpg.a3e0029249f287874c9670c1aa849ac6.jpg

Living Room (Cove Light + Warm White Downlight)
(Sorry it turned out so yellowy. Its not this yellowish in real life.)

IMG_20171029_162536.jpg.cf252fc7a7d929d24008502888f308e9.jpg

Living Room (Cove Light + Daylight Downlight)
(Cool White and Daylight difference is very subtle. Cool White is very white, Daylight is somewhat muted)

IMG_20171029_162604.jpg.02a106ae389fa3744abdaf4f9c1f7af1.jpg

Bedroom (Cool White Downlight)
(The faulty downlight hasn't been replaced yet.)

IMG_20171029_162641.jpg.5b8b7646a87d58591c15fd883bbe71d4.jpg

Bedroom (Warm White Tracklight)
(Really like how this looks, very modern and classy.
I will use each spotlight to highlight different areas, like my wall calligraphy, japanese sword later.) :D

IMG_20171029_162657.jpg.e11b36ff9669e8cef135f2103c295728.jpg

---------------------------------------------

In addition to my lightings, my new Bathroom PD Door has also been replaced. Compared to the original HDB bathroom door,
the new one looks so much better. It fits my apartment's black and white theme much better too.

Here is an image of when HDB Bathroom Door was hacked away back in Week 2.
(I am so sorry I didn't take any pictures of HDB's original Bathroom Door.)
20170929_172259.jpg.b746594b66075b27d0af9e8aa44fe5cc.jpg

And here is the newly replaced Bathroom PD-Door
(I originally wanted to choose something plain and simple, but in the end chose an asymmetrical door design.
I'm happy with the design I chose, and really like how it fits in nicely with the rest of the decor. :D
FYI, Hacking of Bathroom Door, Replacement of new PD-Door is all included in my Renovation Quotation.)

IMG_20171029_161237.jpg.df485095e9467718cc2d6031e7ba8806.jpg

Exterior View of the PD-Door
59f5ce437348b_BathroomDoor(OutsideView).jpg.98a6f9e2b81073c633c49066f5fb36fb.jpg

Interior View of the PD-Door
59f5ce41c1f75_BathroomDoor(InteriorView).jpg.96dbde8d44e828e4901d91523fc9be9f.jpg

Some Close Up Look of the PD-Door Locking Mechanism and Hinges
59f5ce4565bda_HingeCloseUp.jpg.0b275a898164ed0973ab37f48ef5147d.jpg

Really love how the PD-Door manages to fit in nicely with the Dark Bathroom Theme
and layers nicely with the camouflaged Black Air-Con trunking
IMG_20171029_163610.jpg.43dad79c96255d9bee92c19c08be6e19.jpg

And so thats it for my End of 6th Week Report. :)
We're now in the final stretch of my Renovation!

I understand from Jason that my Carpentry Works are gonna come up Next Week Friday (3rd Nov 2017)

I can't wait to see how it all happens, so do tune in for that! :D

As always, thanks for visiting and i'll see you soon in my next Blog Entry!! :yeah:

End of 7th week after Key Collection. Carpentry Works - Part 1 / 3

Edited by ryanyth

Blog Entry Date: 3rd November 2017 Friday

End of 7th week after Key Collection. Carpentry Works - Part 1 / 3

In the previous post, I mentioned that Carpentry Works are going to start on 3rd Nov 2017.
As promised, I just came back onsite and here is my report.
Really wished I could say everything was smooth sailing but I can't. Sigh. :(

-------------------------------------------------------

So as I'm walking to my apartment, I see all these wooden cabinets outside.
So I think to myself, "Wah....Carpentry Start Liao!!" and started getting excited.....:wub:
01.jpg.7adffa597da360a081df23961a70853a.jpg

And of course the inside of the place is like a warzone lol! :D
02.jpg.a3edc826319b81d846b2e7750791cab3.jpg
03.jpg.646e4f85d1c27203447d3cbe595d4ae6.jpg

So I bought some drinks for everyone, had abit of a chit-chat with the workers there.
So you know lah, normally, people will start off the conversation like "So how? Everything OK?"

Guess what? Instead of the obligatory "Ya Everything OK", one of the worker VERY HONESTLY,
and in a very dramatic fashion waving his hands around and in a slip of his tongue admitted:

"Wah...BIG DISASTER lah..Just now unloading...BANG!!! Thing Fell down" (His Exact Words)

Immediately on the spot stunned like vegetable. :o
Honestly, I really don't know whether to laugh or cry at that moment. :wacko:
I regained my composure, then jokingly asked him how bad was it, hoping that I don't sound too stressed. He probably suddenly realized his slip of tongue and quickly replied: "Don't worry I will come back and touch up".

LOL, if you were in my shoes what would you have done? :rolleyes:
Sigh...in my heart I thought to myself "Aiyoh....why can't you have told me a lie or something?"
Nope, I didn't lose my temper or anything, since that wouldn't have helped......Sigh...jin suay :(

Anyway, here are some pictures I took when I was there.

Workers working on my Kitchen Area.
Gotta admit, I like how its taking shape. That dining table looks nice. :)
workers.thumb.jpg.a9f175bbb684f29f4ddc879202653956.jpg

This was the "BANG!!" the worker pointed to earlier.
Honestly, I didn't see any big external damage other than the little chipped area that you see circled in REDSure, having my cabinet damaged doesn't feel good, but at this point in the renovation, after the shock I had with my Lightings earlier, I kindda, sorta mastered the Art of Zen already lol :D

As long as the damage isn't too obvious, its guess its alright? Honestly too drained to chase anymore. Luckily its inside the cabinet so I can at the worst case scenario hide it or something. (Of course having it repaired would be better lah!)

04.jpg.f621781458fee4592e4c36b072902305.jpg

Here's the side of the Kitchen where i'll have my Induction Cooktop.
Baking Oven will fit in that gaping hole on the left side, and a Microwave will fit into the gaping hole at the right side. This is very ambitious. My Kitchen is already very small. It would be a miracle if I can still somehow fit a Induction Cooktop + Oven + Microwave! :huh:
IMG_20171103_152632.jpg.9c13d7e296a8a8cc2e8e3d01fcc55545.jpg

Here's the other side of the Kitchen where i'll have my Washing Machine (on the left) and Kitchen Sink (on the right)
IMG_20171103_152653.jpg.7a2264a354987b7d19c23b7d8d76eb4a.jpg

The Cabinets above the Washing Machine and Kitchen Sink Area
IMG_20171103_152647.jpg.e4464736a168837a9d718fd3dc5889bf.jpg

Here's the Custom Vanity Mirror Cupboard in the Bathroom
IMG_20171103_152309.jpg.2a6df8a4590041970114299191328c66.jpg

My Platform Bed at the Bedroom.
Really liking the mini drawers at the "Steps" area. :D
IMG_20171103_152218.jpg.fbfa36b86708951ea5ae39fdee14aea6.jpg

And now we come to this ACCURSED DB-BOX CABINET.....GRRRR!!! :angry:
I feel that this DB-Box has been a CURSE on my renovation so far....:bangwall:

1) Firstly, HDB dunno hire what kind of retarded architect of all the places to put a DB-Box, decide to put the DB-Box right in the Living Room. Grr! :angry:
2) Secondly, Having the doors recklessly hacked away only to incur an initial Heart Attack price of $750 :wacko:
3) Now that its negotiated down to $350, guess what problem it has now?
The Casement Door looks so LONG in the picture!! The whole idea of Casement Door is to be able to still open it and access the MCB Electrical Box if I have my desk there. Casement Door do so long defeats that purpose right? :wacko:

Is it really so hard to have a Casement Door at the Top Half, and Sliding Door at the Bottom Half
so I can access both areas even if I have a desk there??? Grr!!
:angry:

Ughhh Why can't anything go right with this DB-Box? I have a feeling its cursed. :~
Wadever man, if they can't resolve this, i really can't be bothered anymore. Too drained to chase anymore....Sigh.... :(
dbbox.jpg.866a5b5c58c50a0933ae36f91107c613.jpg

Sigh.....so as you can see, first preliminary check on my Carpentry.....isn't 100% perfect. But hey it isn't all bad too. Of course I whatsapped the issues to Jason who again of course advised he will ensure everything is resolved by Handover. (I'm still reeling abit with how Honest that worker admitted to the problem encountered during unloading. Joker really made my day.) :D

At this point after 7 weeks, I honestly feel abit drained and just want to get it over with. :(
On the brighter side, most of the other Carpentry works I've seen so far aren't too bad so at least I have that. :)

Anyway today is just the 1st day of Carpentry, everything is messy so maybe that has also a negative effect psychologically. Do check back tomorrow when I show more progress on what has been done.

I'll see you in Part 2 folks~ :)

End of 7th week after Key Collection. Carpentry Works - Part 2 / 3

Edited by ryanyth

Blog Entry Date: 4th November 2017 Saturday

End of 7th week after Key Collection. Carpentry Works - Part 2 / 3

Welcome to Day 2 of Carpentry Works. Workers are still working in my apartment.
It seems that my worries for yesterday aren't that bad after all. :D

Here's my DBBox Cabinet door finally completed.
(Top side is Swing Open styled Casement Door, Bottom side is Sliding Door)
dbbox1.jpg?w=1680

Apparently, the height of the bottom side sliding door is 78cm.
Which is a good height because the height of my desk is about 75.2cm

My initial worry yesterday was that I thought my desk would be higher than the bottom sliding door and overshot preventing the top casement door from opening. Looks like my fears were unfounded! :D

img-20171103-wa0005.jpg

Here's a look at my Bathroom Vanity Cabinet Storage
bathroom-vanity.jpg?w=1680

Kitchen Area
Really happy with this one. Mostly because the Integrated Dining Table concept works!
Its a little small sure, but 2 people can just about nicely sit face to face having a meal. :D
img_20171104_135539.jpg?w=1680
img_20171104_135547.jpg?w=1680
img_20171104_140824.jpg?w=768

And they even installed the Ariston Oven. :D
It looks nicely integrated with the rest of the carpentry doesn’t it? :D
img_20171104_135518.jpg?w=1680

Here’s another view with cabinets and drawers opened.
img_20171104_140605.jpg?w=1680

Remember the chipped part on the Top Cabinet shelf?
That has been repaired and replaced. Looking Good! :D
img_20171104_135710.jpg?w=1680

Another view of the Top Kitchen Cabinet Shelf
img_20171104_140710.jpg?w=1680

Heres the other side of the Kitchen where my Kitchen Sink and Washing Machine is.
img_20171104_135644.jpg?w=1680

img_20171104_135903.jpg?w=1680

Shelving above the Washing Machine and Kitchen Sink.
Really liking how nice the Dishrack Cover looks! :D (Whoops seems to have caught the worker's reflection too lol) :P
img_20171104_135912.jpg?w=1680
img_20171104_135944.jpg?w=1680

Shelving Dishwashing Rack above Kitchen Sink is using the famous Blum hinge.
(Only this one uses Blum though, not sure whats the hinge on rest of the kitchen cabinets.)
img_20171104_135954.jpg?w=1680

(Addendum)
After re-checking, ALL the hinges used in Carpentry are Blum Hinges. This is how they look like.
img_20171108_163430.jpg?w=1680

Bedroom Platform Bed is also slowly starting to take shape. Its looking good too! :D
img_20171104_135207.jpg?w=1680

img_20171104_135247.jpg?w=1680

And thats my report for 2nd day of Carpentry.
Still lots of stuffs to be done, such as Quartz CounterTop etc.
But I must say, the work is going well, definitely a much better improvement compared to yesterday’s initial shock. :P

I’ll be going down again tomorrow to retake pictures again without the workers around.
(I don’t think they work on Sunday). Hopefully I can capture images with better angles. :)

Things are definitely looking good! :D

Thanks for visiting. I’ll see you in Part 3! :yeah:

End of 7th week after Key Collection. Carpentry Works - Part 3 / 3

Edited by ryanyth

• Like 2

1 hour ago, twelfthminute said:

First! Can't wait to see how your modern-zen home will turn out. :)

Thanks! I hope everything turns out fine too lol! :D

Edited by ryanyth

woohoo.. ryanyth, Congrats!!!! Your journey has started!!!!  I'm looking forward to your updates and hope to pick a few pointers as a fellow 35sqm bto roomer.. 25K set aside for Reno, I am also hoping you share your furniture and electrical appliance cost when the time comes..

so I also know roughly how much to put aside.. sorry if I ask too much.. paiseh.. lol.. coz no one else I know is getting keys as of now..

I am excited for you... cannot wait to see all the pics of your hse... pls do post lots of them...  :)

• Like 2

3 hours ago, RuFus58 said:

woohoo.. ryanyth, Congrats!!!! Your journey has started!!!!  I'm looking forward to your updates and hope to pick a few pointers as a fellow 35sqm bto roomer.. 25K set aside for Reno, I am also hoping you share your furniture and electrical appliance cost when the time comes..

so I also know roughly how much to put aside.. sorry if I ask too much.. paiseh.. lol.. coz no one else I know is getting keys as of now..

I am excited for you... cannot wait to see all the pics of your hse... pls do post lots of them...  :)

Thanks Rufus! Actually my reno budget I set at 30k incase got any extra charges or costs. Touch wood hope wun need to reach so much la.

Furniture and electrical appliances I'm setting the budget of 10k. Have to see how that goes. Ive set my eyes on furniture from Star Living and Vhive because they are pretty affordable. Electrical I wun buy one shot as I'm aiming for good public holiday sale to hoot.

And yes I'm really excited to get my keys too! I'll probably also post my "roll pineapple" process on the blog too lol OMG the wait has been so long, now is finally within reach! :D

lol... good to set aside more.. at least won't scramble for $ if set aside just exact amt.. 

I haven't decide on where to get my furnitures and appliance.. when the time comes.. have to look out for fairs..

talking of fairs.... if this wkend you are free, can check out Expo.. they having this fair...  Home Inspirations 2017(06 May, 2017 - 14 May, 2017, Time: 12:00 - 22:00)

http://blog.poya-events.com/ this blog is by the event organiser and shows the companies that will be there...

50 minutes ago, RuFus58 said:

lol... good to set aside more.. at least won't scramble for $ if set aside just exact amt.. 

I haven't decide on where to get my furnitures and appliance.. when the time comes.. have to look out for fairs..

talking of fairs.... if this wkend you are free, can check out Expo.. they having this fair...  Home Inspirations 2017(06 May, 2017 - 14 May, 2017, Time: 12:00 - 22:00)

http://blog.poya-events.com/ this blog is by the event organiser and shows the companies that will be there...

Nice thanks for the heads up!

13 hours ago, ryanyth said:

Might be a tad early to buy lol but thanks for the heads up! :)

philips sales is once a year so worth to go and have a look lah..... last time i also buy like 4-5 months in advance. they can keep the stock for you if you do see anything you want. but if small electrical items like rice cooker, vacuum cleaner etc, you can put at your current place. will not take too much space.