RyanYTH

My Modern Zen 2-Room 35sqm (Type 1) HDB BTO Apartment Renovation Journey

33 minutes ago, ryanyth said:

Sorry what do u mean by "concealing additional lighting / power points?"

When you add additional lighting points or power points, electrician is supposed to cover the new wires using surface trunking. But as it's ugly to have trunking running all over the place, they hack a shallow path /trench along the wall, where the wires is concealed, and then plaster back.

Edited by Stream

1 hour ago, Stream said:

When you add additional lighting points or power points, electrician is supposed to cover the new wires using surface trunking. But as it's ugly to have trunking running all over the place, they hack a shallow path /trench along the wall, where the wires is concealed, and then plaster back.

Oic what u mean.

Of course if can conceal I will try to ba.

Agree is ugly to see trunking all over the place. But this is an issue I will let my ID handle. I'm sure they will have lots of tricks up their sleeves to do this.

That said, hacking shallow path sounds like alot of money, and if the cost is too much. (Also is this even allowed on unhackable support beams?) Personally I don't mind abit of trunking as long as they are out of sight, and my furniture placements will need to be very tactical.

I do have a L-Box false ceiling in my Living Room and I suspect it will be highly utilised to also do "cover and concealment" :D

Edited by ryanyth

2 hours ago, ryanyth said:

Oic what u mean.

Of course if can conceal I will try to ba.

Agree is ugly to see trunking all over the place. But this is an issue I will let my ID handle. I'm sure they will have lots of tricks up their sleeves to do this.

That said, hacking shallow path sounds like alot of money, and if the cost is too much. (Also is this even allowed on unhackable support beams?) Personally I don't mind abit of trunking as long as they are out of sight, and my furniture placements will need to be very tactical.

I do have a L-Box false ceiling in my Living Room and I suspect it will be highly utilised to also do "cover and concealment" :D

If you need to do new wall switches for your lights, they will still need to run wire down from your false ceiling. Not sure about concealing along the support beams.

Anyway, all these concealed wiring is prohibited and HDB can ask owner to make good to original condition. But I don't know whether they really enforce it in practice. 

1 hour ago, Stream said:

If you need to do new wall switches for your lights, they will still need to run wire down from your false ceiling. Not sure about concealing along the support beams.

Anyway, all these concealed wiring is prohibited and HDB can ask owner to make good to original condition. But I don't know whether they really enforce it in practice. 

If prohibited then better dun do.

Sekali spend money hack, and suay suay they enforce kena fine is really LPPL lol.:D

On 9/5/2017 at 0:43 PM, ryanyth said:

The message ive been waiting for so long finally arrives!! :D

Screenshot_2017-09-05-11-43-35.png.b8b81646d0791b8cd4698bc51a7cc222.png

Congratulations Ryan for getting the keys though I am a bit late :P

Will be following your renovations!  Keep going...

22 minutes ago, MiniBean said:

Congratulations Ryan for getting the keys though I am a bit late :P

Will be following your renovations!  Keep going...

No worries, thanks for your interest! :)

New Entry: Blog Entry Date: 23rd September 2017 Saturday
Click Here to Access.

Updates: 1 week after Key Collection

BSC still doing Defect Rectification. Removal of a couple of annoying items at last! :D
Started laying Aircon-Piping for installation of Aircon.

Edited by ryanyth

On 9/24/2017 at 1:24 AM, ryanyth said:

Click Here to Access.

BSC still doing Defect Rectification. Removal of a couple of annoying items at last! :D

bro, so far so good i guess, how many more week to handover? ID is your friend so i guess it's a lot better

1 hour ago, izong said:

bro, so far so good i guess, how many more week to handover? ID is your friend so i guess it's a lot better

BSC suppose to handover by this week.

And no lol my ID wasn't someone I already knew when I engaged his services.

1 hour ago, ryanyth said:

icic... so next week can start reno.

Mine hopefully can end by next week!

23 minutes ago, izong said:

Actually this Thursday can start if everything goes well lol

Congrats in advance to u bro for your dream home! :)

5 hours ago, ryanyth said:

3 hours ago, ryanyth said:

Actually this Thursday can start if everything goes well lol

Congrats in advance to u bro for your dream home! :)

great!! looking forward to your pics!

On 9/24/2017 at 1:24 AM, ryanyth said:

Click Here to Access.

Congrats to u bro! I am a fan of your reno journey.Really good insights & thought processes for 2 room reno.

My 2 room is still a long wait 2019 3rd Qtr key collection .Sigh.

1 hour ago, diraf said:

Congrats to u bro! I am a fan of your reno journey.Really good insights & thought processes for 2 room reno.

My 2 room is still a long wait 2019 3rd Qtr key collection .Sigh.

Thanks for your compliments bro, much appreciated!! :)

I hope everything goes smoothly too.

I've been in your shoes bro, yes the wait can be torture. But once the day arrives can be very hectic haha.

Hope to see your T-Blog too! :D