RyanYTH

My Modern Zen 2-Room 35sqm (Type 1) HDB BTO Apartment Renovation Journey

On 9/19/2017 at 0:48 AM, ryanyth said:

Here are the pics u need Rufus

Living Room DB Box Door Closed:
(When door is closed, your computer/study table at most can only length 1.2m++ otherwise it will protrude out too much.
59bffc145a648_DBBox-Close.jpg.0f2f3901f1d27d272548300320b6c2fd.jpg

Living Room DB Box Door Open:
The door for the DB Box is the swing open type. That means if you put study table right beside it,
you will have difficulty opening the DB Box Door. (I request for my ID to change these
doors to sliding type so i can put my table there, and still be able to access to DB Box space.

DB Box - Open 1.jpg

oh dear... the wall space so small...  :(

this is the area i plan put the 65 inch tv so that i will a good distance to place sofa *nearer to living room window * to watch TV. 
seeing that the stupid db box door already take some space up. 

can i still place my desired TV?! T_T  (if opt for sliding door, will it block the circuit breaker?)

now looks like i have to make a 180 degree turn.... place TV at window and sofa in middle and dinning table at circuit breaker.. iyo!

i have so many questions running thru' my head! shows cannot vision the placement of items till physically see the house.. :bangwall:

anyway, back to your progress, the after pictures look very much better! after you shorten the laundery rack and remove that hideous sliding door..

Can i check how much you bought the aircon? i also planning to get daikin as i heard feedback the compressor less noiser den mitshubishi.

Also your plan is to have a open bedroom? i.e no doors just from bed can see tv in living room?  coz your 3D model was like that..

so your aircon is just 1 system (cover both bedroom and living room ah?)

Thank you very much for taking the pics i requested. i really help me vision how my hse will look like... :yamseng:

17 hours ago, RuFus58 said:

oh dear... the wall space so small...  :(

this is the area i plan put the 65 inch tv so that i will a good distance to place sofa *nearer to living room window * to watch TV. 
seeing that the stupid db box door already take some space up. 

can i still place my desired TV?! T_T  (if opt for sliding door, will it block the circuit breaker?)

now looks like i have to make a 180 degree turn.... place TV at window and sofa in middle and dinning table at circuit breaker.. iyo!

i have so many questions running thru' my head! shows cannot vision the placement of items till physically see the house.. :bangwall:

anyway, back to your progress, the after pictures look very much better! after you shorten the laundery rack and remove that hideous sliding door..

Can i check how much you bought the aircon? i also planning to get daikin as i heard feedback the compressor less noiser den mitshubishi.

Also your plan is to have a open bedroom? i.e no doors just from bed can see tv in living room?  coz your 3D model was like that..

so your aircon is just 1 system (cover both bedroom and living room ah?)

Thank you very much for taking the pics i requested. i really help me vision how my hse will look like... :yamseng:

Np.
No way to put 65inch TV at that DB Box area. Its simply too small.
MAYBE you can install a "floating movable TV arm" to mount the TV but i dunno if it will work too.
From what I see, sliding door won't block circuit breaker at all.

Oh i was quoted $3,100 for Daikin System 2 Smile Series.
Not sure if this is the absolute best price, but Courts quoted me $3,600 for the same thing :lol:

Another reason I chose Daikin was I felt Mitsubishi do alot of things aircon they do, car they also do, fridge they also do. Very chapalang. Whereas Daikin AFAIK only do aircon so I guess they are more specialise? :D

Yes the plan is Open Bedroom all along.
As 35sqm is already very small, no point putting more doors to make it feel even smaller.
Yes, the idea was to be able to also lie on my bed and watch TV too, which was why I originally wanted a 65" :D
But I guess i have to make do with 55"

Edited by ryanyth

Blog Entry Date: 30th September 2017 Saturday
Please click here to access

Updates: 2nd week after Key Collection
2nd week after Key Collection. BSC Defect Repair done.
Hacking away the False Wall and Bathroom Door, Electrical Wiring Prepping and a BIG BILL SHOCK. :(

Edited by ryanyth

On 5/9/2017 at 11:31 PM, ryanyth said:

A "Box-Up" in this case, is a false partition panel that is used to cover up and hide all traces of the aircon trunking
and it is either painted over (in the case of my bedroom/living room) or overlay and tiled over (in the case of my bathroom)
And to do this "Box-Up" is going to cost roughly $610 extra. Ouch.

Cost of Electrical Wiring total comes up to $3000. Ouch.
Unlike the earlier Box-Up which is optional, this cost for electrical is die die must pay. If don't pay, means no electricity lol!

------------  

And so....we come to the next "Need to Pay Extra" bill. uh-oh.:o

Oh dear...its only 2nd week after my key collection, and below are the extra amounts
I have to pay on top of my renovation  quotation of $25k. Ouch ouch ouch.

Electrical and Wirings: $3000 (This one can't be helped is must pay one.)

Box-Up Concealment of Aircon Trunking: $610 (This one is I backside itchy wanna pay to look nicer)

Change of DB-Box Cabinet Swing Open Door to Sliding Door: $750 $650 (after negotiating)
(Still feel like kena chop carrot for this one, I blame myself for not doing research properly. :angry:)

Total so far comes up to: $4360 $4260 extra I need to top up! :wacko:

$750 $650 just for removal of DBBox Door and installation of Sliding Door. *faints*

box up for aircon trunking is nice but note that in future if, touch wood, need to service the piping, the aircon pple gotta remove the box...

ouch! pain for u >_<

• Thanks 1

1 hour ago, mmoh said:

box up for aircon trunking is nice but note that in future if, touch wood, need to service the piping, the aircon pple gotta remove the box...

ouch! pain for u >_<

Hmm..you're right.
It would be super bad if one day aircon pipe spoil and my boxup in the bathroom is removed,
especially so since i got overlay tiles on the bathroom boxup. The removal of boxup in the bathroom would be hideous! :o

Noted, bathroom trunking i'll just paint black, but i'll still do box up in Living Room.
at least if living room remove the boxup still not so bad since i don't overlay the tiles there.
At most paint over white colour.

I'll let Jason know immediately.
Thanks for the great suggestion!!
You might have just saved me a super big headache in the future!! :lol:

Edited by ryanyth

On 9/15/2017 at 5:57 PM, ryanyth said:

hi ryan,

exciting new progresses.. saw the tiles and cement stack up and was like... 'wow... the works are gonna start soon'

• reading abt the aircon trunking makes me realise i never think abt it.. either have to paint to camouflage or conceal with false  wall. mmoh brought up a good point. we had to overhaul the aircon system late last year, (last few years haze really damaged the compressor beyond repair). also tear out trunking to replace pipes also since gain city hard sell dono what 'super duper pipe' and my parents bought the idea.. so left with mismatched colours as we painted the trunking and replacement was white.. (repaint again lor.. Zzzz)

• u doing cove light... me too.... doing a cove light..  i saw a design i like alot.. i will post it below.. mainly because the puple light attract me alot (hope maintanance wise won't be very hard, i.e. no trap dust or have lizard family stay there... lol)

cove.jpg.e1e40f05914a90852dd28c65d43346f5.jpg

• Also saw the after pic (wall hacked seperating the bedroom and hall). looks soo spacious. i am wondering how u plan to keep the aircon contained in your room at night? have a curtain to close up? or u just opted for open concept without any barrier from hall to bedroom. like tat need strong aircon btu.

• The electrical cost 3K.. but like you said, this $ have to spend.. no choice...  
  • btw, have you heard of eubiq? i plan to put it.. it has very clean look and won't have the power points sticking out at various places. looks sleek and clean. 

plug.jpg.21df53a593ec6fa6bd929064f2a28b35.jpg

• the sliding door is very expensive.. can you reject it and get another contract to it a lower price? if you want, i can get my ID frend to help source. i am sure u can save at least few hundreds lah.. let me know ok. 

6 hours ago, RuFus58 said:

hi ryan,

exciting new progresses.. saw the tiles and cement stack up and was like... 'wow... the works are gonna start soon'

• reading abt the aircon trunking makes me realise i never think abt it.. either have to paint to camouflage or conceal with false  wall. mmoh brought up a good point. we had to overhaul the aircon system late last year, (last few years haze really damaged the compressor beyond repair). also tear out trunking to replace pipes also since gain city hard sell dono what 'super duper pipe' and my parents bought the idea.. so left with mismatched colours as we painted the trunking and replacement was white.. (repaint again lor.. Zzzz)

• Ya lor so heng mmoh advice came in time.
    She saved me a big future headache! And i reduced my box-up price

• u doing cove light... me too.... doing a cove light..  i saw a design i like alot.. i will post it below.. mainly because the puple light attract me alot (hope maintanance wise won't be very hard, i.e. no trap dust or have lizard family stay there... lol)

Wah seh, your Cove Light is very ambitious wo! :D
    Mine is very conservative is warm light only.

That said hor, here are some things you might want to take note:
    1) Are you going to put a Ceiling Fan? If so, you need to check with your ID if Ceiling Fan spinning will cast funny funny shadows
    if the cove light are on. End up the shadows make you dizzy and make it look not nice. :wacko: (Notice the picture you show they also dun put ceiling fan?)
    Personally for me, due to this shadow reason, I am not going to put Ceiling Fan. Not sure about you.

2) Cove light confirm will be dusty. For me is a simple square is easier to clean than your design.
    It looks nice, but take note there are 3 "longkang" you will need to sweep for dust. Hope u are prepared for that.

3) Colour wise, Purple looks nice on paper, but in actuality will you turn it on often?
    If not, then it seems abit of a waste because Purple is an unnatural colour that your eyes may not get used to.
    If you choose standard colour like Warm White, at least if u turn on for long, your eyes won't feel funny.
    (Alternatively, you can ask your ID to put BOTH warm white + purple. which means lay 2 seperate LED strips
    this method means cost more money, but you get the best of both worlds) :D

Just my opinion.

cove.jpg.e1e40f05914a90852dd28c65d43346f5.jpg

• Also saw the after pic (wall hacked seperating the bedroom and hall). looks soo spacious. i am wondering how u plan to keep the aircon contained in your room at night? have a curtain to close up? or u just opted for open concept without any barrier from hall to bedroom. like tat need strong aircon btu.

It will be open concept.
    My bedroom aircon is only 9000btu, but it is positioned so it blows at me directly.
    Hopefully it will be enuff.

• The electrical cost 3K.. but like you said, this $ have to spend.. no choice...  
  • btw, have you heard of eubiq? i plan to put it.. it has very clean look and won't have the power points sticking out at various places. looks sleek and clean. 

Yes i've heard of eubiq. And yes i think they are very expensive.
    (I remember i ask before the price. I believe the whole track is about $300+? and each individual plug is at least $150? i forgot liao.)
    Also, Eubiq seems more appropriate for areas where there are alot of appliances (Eg: Living Room)
    You need to see if Eubiq is suitable for the way your house is designed.

plug.jpg.21df53a593ec6fa6bd929064f2a28b35.jpg

• the sliding door is very expensive.. can you reject it and get another contract to it a lower price? if you want, i can get my ID frend to help source. i am sure u can save at least few hundreds lah.. let me know ok. 

Oh my god yes, $650 is too expensive!! :(
    Can you help me ask your ID friend source? I've told Jason to on hold liao.
    I'll PM you about it. OMG if you can help find a cheaper source, you're really my GODDESS OF MERCY!!! :D

Edited by ryanyth

haha.. i just like the design. but of couse due to size limitation,  will be mini version if i plan to do it.

lights wise, sure will have 2 tone, purple and white. have to be practical when dining time must be bright enough. 

i quite like purple lights (holiday in hua hin time stayed in awesome villa, that have moonlight theme. night time we turn on.. was purple led lights with stars)

it was very nice and calming.. (how often i turn on in my hse? i dono.. hahaha..) maybe those nights i just wana chill and sit in my massage chair.. will on..

and yes, u brought up a good point.. celing fan!!!! :(   i will definately need celing fan to circulate the air..  if that clashes with the circular cove light, i will have to consider opting for rectangle shape (easier to vaccum) 

On Eubiq topic, my neighbour shared the pricelist.. (seem reasonable.. the package deal)  areas i plan to put are 1. kitchen which i put microwave, rice cooker and coffee machine. 2.Dining table/study table  area to charge personal devices.  

No automatic alt text available.

As for your DB box, have link up with my ID, hope she can quote you a more decent price by afternoon.  :good:

16 minutes ago, RuFus58 said:

haha.. i just like the design. but of couse due to size limitation,  will be mini version if i plan to do it.

lights wise, sure will have 2 tone, purple and white. have to be practical when dining time must be bright enough. 

i quite like purple lights (holiday in hua hin time stayed in awesome villa, that have moonlight theme. night time we turn on.. was purple led lights with stars)

it was very nice and calming.. (how often i turn on in my hse? i dono.. hahaha..) maybe those nights i just wana chill and sit in my massage chair.. will on..

and yes, u brought up a good point.. celing fan!!!! :(   i will definately need celing fan to circulate the air..  if that clashes with the circular cove light, i will have to consider opting for rectangle shape (easier to vaccum) 

On Eubiq topic, my neighbour shared the pricelist.. (seem reasonable.. the package deal)  areas i plan to put are 1. kitchen which i put microwave, rice cooker and coffee machine. 2.Dining table/study table  area to charge personal devices.  

No automatic alt text available.

As for your DB box, have link up with my ID, hope she can quote you a more decent price by afternoon.  :good:

Really Really appreciate your help linking me up with your ID. :)
I look forward to chatting with her about it.

wah, really know how to enjoy life seh, got massage chair also :D

Regarding the lighting, so far i've been looking around and i never seen any LED strips that are only 2 tone.
The only ones I saw are 1 colour, and another one that is multi colour one. You might want to note it may add more to your lighting budget.

Actually, I came across this some time back, and I thought it looked cool, although it is very expensive.
A Bladeless Ceiling Fan would fit nicely in your design.
It costs about $1128 though, and i have not seen it in action but i believe it will not cast shadows (since there is no blades)
so it will be the best of both worlds for your cove lighting design.
https://exhalefans.com.sg/

I myself almost wanted to install it, but the price is too much i feel lol.

fb-EF34-CR3G-room.png

Edited by ryanyth

Blog Entry Date: 4th October 2017 Wednesday
Please click here to access

Updates: 3rd week after Key Collection
Middle of 3rd week after Key Collection. Electrical Wiring in Progress, Ceiling L-Box and Aircon Trunking Box-Up are done. Tiling starts for the Bathroom and Kitchen.

Edited by ryanyth

Blog Entry Date: 5th October 2017 Thursday
Click Here to go back to Page 1 - Table of Contents

The Hunt for a Modular Pole Wardrobe System and something to keep the Main Door from Closing.

Hey all, So remember way back at the beginning of this T-Blog, I mentioned that
I will be converting my existing HDB Bomb Shelter into a Walk-In Wardrobe?

Because of how my Bedroom has absolutely no more space to put a conventional
boxy looking wardrobe, I opted to do a modular Pole Wardrobe system.

The challenge is that the Pole Wardrobe must be modular enough
and small enough to fit into my HDB Bomb Shelter Dimensions of:
L138cm x W118cm x H255cm and still have enough space for me to stand comfortably.

Originally, my idea was to get a cheap $60+ Pole System from Qoo10 or Lazada.
Below shows how this product looks like:

Qoo10Pole.JPG.57dd915baa5a9c4016bbd379b3012c2b.JPG

It looks functional enough, but then again, I thought to myself:
"Do I really trust a $60 pole system to not collapse on me one fine day?" :wacko:
Heck even their promotional picture isn't even very well made so to speak...:huh:

After thinking hard, for safety reasons, I decided not to get it after all, and decided to
spend abit more money look for vendors who specialize in doing proper Pole Wardrobe.
------------

There are a few vendors who actually do this Pole Wardrobe, but most of the quotation for the type of wardrobe I want is kindda high, with some asking for about $1600 which is honestly way higher than a conventional wardrobe that i'd buy off the shelf from a furniture shop like Courts or VHive. :(

Well, today I visited one of the vendors with whom I will be engaging to create this pole system.
Shortlisted them because, well, their price are not so Heart Attack Inducing LOL!! :D
Below is a 3D Line Drawing picture showing how I want my Pole Wardrobe to look like.

linedrawing.jpg.91d02faec8874daf842ec850fd5f13a3.jpg

------------

So the Vendor I've shortlisted is Smart-Home.

Made an appointment with this chap Joe to visit the place.
Imagine my surprise when I realized that their Showroom is actually a Landed Residential House. :o

Joe told me that the company's main focus is actually Home Automation
and they are setting up this Landed Home as a LIVE Example of how a
fully operational Home Automation System is going to work.

The place looks like its under renovation. (I guess its a new startup)
Below are some pictures how the showroom is like.

smarthome1.jpg.c7145f56ba0aa0243ec7f1c1b114d5a7.jpg
smarthome2.jpg.5478f4f16c82faef27b8b5659f52583b.jpg
smarthome3.jpg.fb1197061fde9e7cf5a1989e2c09b9f0.jpg

That said, Home Automation isn't my focus for now.
Below are the pictures I've taken of how their actual Pole System looks like. Sorry if the pictures are blurry.

wardrobe1.jpg.0ad2e9a2d76a9067da28676270583a49.jpgwardrobe2.jpg.94fb680fbd454d493e7f172d39458cb2.jpg

Honestly I like how the powder-coated Black Pole looks like and they feel sturdy and solid. :wub:
According to Joe, they can carry up to 30kg in weight. Thats fine I guess, I don't think my clothes add up to 30Kg.

Ladies who have ALOT of clothes will probably want to take note of this
30KG weight recommendation if you are looking to get a Pole Wardrobe system though! :D

I can also choose the laminates for the wardrobe panels, and because the pole i'm selecting is Black in colour, I chose a lighter colour Pine for panel laminates to contrast. (I might change it for a different colour, we shall see.)

laminate1.jpg.838fa1b8871fedbdd99f6f7a09e9a1aa.jpg

laminate2.jpg.47805457d4197b2e71cc8838053a69d4.jpg

With that all said, as mentioned earlier, the quotation for my Pole Wardrobe comes up to $650
(including Delivery and Installation) An much more palatable price compared to $1600 that I was quoted by other vendors for sure.

------------

Ah but thats not all.
By default, HDB will give you a Door-Closer for your Main Door, so door won't slam and instead soft close.

To hold door open however, you can either use a Magnet and Ball, or a $1.50 plastic triangular door stopper. Neither of which is appealing to me tbh. (I mean C'mon right? Spend over 25K for renovation but get a $1.50 plastic Door Stopper??) :D

Magnet and ball system also out for me, because I had a friend who did it, and after installed, found that the magnet not strong enough to hold door open. :wacko:

oldstopper.jpg.49557e55c0ad97cda5ea1071a4037c1f.jpg

Now it just so happens, there is a third solution.
Smart-Home also has this product that can replace a conventional Door-Stopper, and they call it "SlideArm" You can set it so that it will just hold the door when you hold it at the angle you want. And if you want to close the door, just a light push will do.

This is how it looks like. (The one circled in RED)
slidearm.jpg.704716d3878736e7582553ed9b40d2f4.jpg

Below video explains it even better:

Total cost of SlideArm? $50 (including Installation)
So that makes it a total of about $700 for both a Pole Wardrobe system + Slidearm.

Anyway as I'm still renovating my place, I advised Joe that when I am ready, I will activate his men to come over to do their measurements, delivery and installation.

So yea, thats the entry for my Pole Wardrobe and Door Holder.

Bonus Picture:
On a totally unrelated matter, all this walking today made me SUPER SUPER HUNGRY lol! :D
KFC just recently introduced their "Hot and Cheesy" Chicken! Have ya'll tried it yet? :wub:

Cheers all! :yeah:

Click Here for the Next Blog Entry:
A quick update of Tiling done at the end of the 3rd Week.

kfc.jpg.446b461ead710b507f3d00fe6fa9834b.jpg

Edited by ryanyth

Blog Entry Date: 8th October 2017 Saturday

A Quick Update of Tiling done at the end of the 3rd Week

Just came back from inspecting my place. Bathroom is pretty much done.

The Kitchen Tiler was there working. Saturday also need to work ^_^;
Bought some drinks treat him drink lah (Also as bribery :D)

Waddya'll think?

Bathroom:
BathroomX.jpg.9f8955a15c35a41825c0c2124f240841.jpg
Bathroom4.jpg.2df8f4d9b39644d414d8e3dd3b8d71c3.jpg
Bathroom5.jpg.1d344b8ad4e9b01cf2f57a32d2478c26.jpg
Bathroom6.jpg.40e76a0bfd500c327e33e882fa7ef4eb.jpg

----------------------------------------------------
Kitchen:
KitchenX.jpg.4789ec4a85533f25e8678871105ca29d.jpg
Kitchen4.jpg.1b6e61055d4da18248483532823a6336.jpg
Kitchen5.jpg.32d4cf63629312bc54f70973e629d222.jpg

Click Here for the Next Blog Entry:
4th week after Key Collection. Tiling completed, Important Milestone reached. A Prepping Week for the next Milestone.

Edited by ryanyth