RyanYTH

My Modern Zen 2-Room 35sqm (Type 1) HDB BTO Apartment Renovation Journey

On 21 May, 2018 at 11:56 PM, CaseBlue said:

yeah ... currently no have picture of ceiling will take some this weekend...

Hi @mmoh,

As you can see the different from your toilet ceiling. The height become quite intimidating but it is quite solid. But I am just afraid of mickey mouse and xiao qiang hiding in there or the pipes leaking but cannot see.

IMG_5207.jpg.6ca3fd7048f301817b2352c2ee6b5578.jpg

5 hours ago, CaseBlue said:

Hi @mmoh,

As you can see the different from your toilet ceiling. The height become quite intimidating but it is quite solid. But I am just afraid of mickey mouse and xiao qiang hiding in there or the pipes leaking but cannot see.

Interesting new design nowadays.
I agree over time, it may rot or have pests living inside.

5 minutes ago, ryanyth said:

Interesting new design nowadays.
I agree over time, it may rot or have pests living inside.

some people just do without thinking of long term ....:angry:

35 minutes ago, CaseBlue said:

some people just do without thinking of long term ....:angry:

Well, i guess its HDB way of covering up the bathroom sanitary pipes I guess.
Another good point I realized when living highest floor is that there are no such pipes in my bathroom.

On 5/25/2018 at 12:09 AM, CaseBlue said:

Hi @mmoh,

if it is fully covered then still ok lah, except of the low height. if high floor then unlikely got mickey mouse. 

On 27 May, 2018 at 5:31 PM, mmoh said:

if it is fully covered then still ok lah, except of the low height. if high floor then unlikely got mickey mouse. 

I managed to look inside the false ceiling, as i suspected, the tiles are incomplete and cement exposing raw ... sigh ... maybe use false ceiling to conceal rush work ... 

4D666634-8863-481A-93B2-97DF3026206A.jpeg

14262B07-5207-4047-94B6-2C39DE1CDDBC.jpeg

3B4FD11D-E34E-453F-AF98-C2466589D1DF.jpeg

Edited by CaseBlue

7 hours ago, CaseBlue said:

I managed to look inside the false ceiling, as i suspected, the tiles are incomplete and cement exposing raw ... sigh ... should be false ceiling to conceal rush work ...

Wow i'm sorry to see that. The raw cement really looks like a rush job. I'd expect them to at least screed properly.
The way I see it, you have 2 choices to rectify this:
1) Get BSC to do a proper patch up.
2) Get BSC to remove the false ceiling, and pay contractor to do a nicer looking ceiling.

Edited by ryanyth

On 6/7/2018 at 5:36 PM, ryanyth said:

Wow i'm sorry to see that. The raw cement really looks like a rush job. I'd expect them to at least screed properly.
The way I see it, you have 2 choices to rectify this:
1) Get BSC to do a proper patch up.
2) Get BSC to remove the false ceiling, and pay contractor to do a nicer looking ceiling.

Heartache seriously... oh why must get BSC to remove? Will they do that for us?

BTW, any comments of your flat after staying for months liao?

Edited by CaseBlue

On 6/8/2018 at 8:58 AM, CaseBlue said:

BTW, any comments of your flat after staying for months liao?

Depends on the BSC. Just let them know got defect and need to remove.
Do note, the wait might be very long as the BSC need to tend to every residents in your project.
If not, you will need to get your contractor to remove.

Actually i've been in my new place for half a year already. Time pass so fast.
So far so good ba, nothing broken or spoil thank god. I'm interested in seeing
how Rufus58's reno is coming along. I think by now should be done already i guess.

On 6/7/2018 at 10:17 AM, CaseBlue said:

I managed to look inside the false ceiling, as i suspected, the tiles are incomplete and cement exposing raw ... sigh ... maybe use false ceiling to conceal rush work ... 

if u hv false ceiling, then your neighbours shd have false ceiling too. guess the contractor think that since it is hidden, then dun need to touch up nice nice.

On 6/8/2018 at 8:58 AM, CaseBlue said:

if u wanna remove the false ceiling, then maybe they can help you to scrap off those extra cement. but if u expect them to remove the false ceiling, scrap off those extra cement and then still put back the false ceiling, i doubt they will do it. but no harm to ask lah.

1 hour ago, CaseBlue said:

@ryanyth I scanned through your blog again but I cant find how much you paid for the kitchen trolley. Can share again? Thanks in advance.

Oh hey, its the Leo Marble Trolley from V-Hive. Price was $199
https://www.renotalk.com/forum/topic/78056-my-modern-zen-2-room-35sqm-type-1-hdb-bto-apartment-renovation-journey/?page=13

On 6/14/2018 at 4:52 PM, ryanyth said:

Ah thanks. Opps haha how can i miss that whole post... thankssss

i quite like the trolley... ok i already have 2 normal trolley. But if my kitchen can still fit in, am planning to get that... seems like i need more space XD

your console is really nice too... is the 55" tv just nice? I was thinking of getting only 49".... 

3 minutes ago, CaseBlue said:

Ah thanks. Opps haha how can i miss that whole post... thankssss

i quite like the trolley... ok i already have 2 normal trolley. But if my kitchen can still fit in, am planning to get that... seems like i need more space XD

your console is really nice too... is the 55" tv just nice? I was thinking of getting only 49".... 

Thanks. Ya i also like my kitchen trolley. Its expensive, but the marble top adds that little bit of classiness. :lol:
And its very functional too, been using it to do my food photography, utensils storage.

55" TV for me is just nice. Not too big, not too small.
Which ever tv size you choose, try to ensure there is still a wall border spacing of at least 15cm all around it.
This will make it look like a picture frame without it looking too unwieldy.

been quietly following ur blog for a while now and will be gettin my keys soon.

May I know does hacking away the living room wall impact ur aircon coldness? Meaning do u have to turn on both aircon just to cool a single room as the air can now escape to kitchen side?