tingshen

[aircon Question] What's The Right Capacity For My Living+dining Area?

my floor plan:

livingroomsmallew2.jpg

Which point do you think is more suitable to install the indoor unit at? A or B?

Do you think I need a 18K or 22K BTU/h indoor unit?

Looking at Sharp, Panasonic or Mitsubishi single split unit. See which one is the cheapest :)

Edited by tingshen

Hi TS, I am also thinking of putting an aircon in my living room, the salesperson told me 18K not enough will be cooling but not very cold but... you know salesperson la... But the system 1 and system 3 not much different so I am thinking of putting one aircon in my bedroom and two in the living room.

Edited by storeberry

if use 55btu/sqft.. I think 22K also not enough. But if the sun isn't hitting a very large portion of the wall, then I think 22K shd be ok.

For living room.. consider the fact that u may have large number of guests who come over for dinner, like CNY.. That's why I believe.. living room is good to oversize, since the incremental cost is not much from 18K to 22K.

just my rough calculation based on a website, my area should be around 41m2, height not too sure, assuming 3m as there is no false ceiling, so the BTU is around 17KBTU, so a 18KBTU/h single split unit should be just nice :thumbs up: the calculator is here: http://www.cwplant.co.uk/home/aircon_calculator.asp

storeberry, you must take into consideration about the total power needed. A system 3 usually has the power of 22KBTU/hr. if you are sharing this system 3 with your bedrooms and living room, you must make sure the compressor has enough power. For my case, just the living room alone requires a single split unit, my other 3 bedrooms will be on System 3.

Single split unit is more powerful and most costly for sure.

if use 55btu/sqft.. I think 22K also not enough. But if the sun isn't hitting a very large portion of the wall, then I think 22K shd be ok.

For living room.. consider the fact that u may have large number of guests who come over for dinner, like CNY.. That's why I believe.. living room is good to oversize, since the incremental cost is not much from 18K to 22K.

yah, am considering 22K too......but it's really a luxury item menz......22K will be same price as System3 liao ;) but after some quick check, there is no such thing as 22KBTU/h leh, most of the brands are 24KBTU/h instead......

Edited by tingshen

just my rough calculation based on a website, my area should be around 41m2, height not too sure, assuming 3m as there is no false ceiling, so the BTU is around 17KBTU, so a 18KBTU/h single split unit should be just nice :bangwall: the calculator is here: http://www.cwplant.co.uk/home/aircon_calculator.asp

storeberry, you must take into consideration about the total power needed. A system 3 usually has the power of 22KBTU/hr. if you are sharing this system 3 with your bedrooms and living room, you must make sure the compressor has enough power. For my case, just the living room alone requires a single split unit, my other 3 bedrooms will be on System 3.

Single split unit is more powerful and most costly for sure.

yah, am considering 22K too......but it's really a luxury item menz......22K will be same price as System3 liao ;) but after some quick check, there is no such thing as 22KBTU/h leh, most of the brands are 24KBTU/h instead......

i put a 18k unit in my living room, not cold but cool(anyway i set the temp to be 25 degrees only) but we no need the unit to be cold, cool can already... hehe so far so good... btw i am using daikin sys3..consult the aircon specialist better, they will give u advice... but my 18k unit need abt 20-30mins to make my living/dinning room cool lor...