OnePostWonder

Newbies @ Jalan Membina

May I know anyone of you doing the shower kerb for both bathrooms? My ID told me HDB has done up the slight kerb for our bathrooms so not necessary. But was wondering the current kerb may not be high enough :unsure:

Hi nemofc, saw your t blog. Should ask them to clean up the place for you and replace your sink for you. haha.

Anyway, i went to JM today to hand in the defects list.

Have got some questions... hope someone can help me. =)

1. Anyone NOT doing kitchen door? Do you think it's necessary? What's your quote for your kitchen door?

2. Anyone doing a box up for the area with the beam in the MBR? For those putting your bedhead there, do you think it'll pose a prob?

3. Anyone knows where i can buy nice shower curtains other than ikea?

4. Anyway increased the height of the shower kerb in both the bathrooms?

And i'm still deciding if should change my WC and sink. Can our original WC and sink be traded in? Heard from some forum / thread some time ago that it is possible, but anyone tried?

Meeting ID on Sat morning to do measurement. Getting quite excited. Really hope everything will turn out well. Have a few friends who just signed up with IDs lately cos they are getting their keys in Jan / Feb. Then whenever they ask about our quote and we tell them, they'll think it's tooooo ex for the things tt we're doing. But to me, there aren't many IDs specialising in country style. And Cottage Craft seems good to work with.... soooo... I really hope Romie won't disappoint us.

Hi Zila,

I'm not doing kitchen door. Whether is it necessary depends on how often you cook. If you got any budget constraint, you may just get a strong chimney hood which is good enough as advise by my ID.

Ya I did the box up for MBR as I will be placing my bed there. If you don't mind a hole behind your bedhead, can just do without :)

Am interested to know the kerb too. Anyone can advise??

okay. thanks. so no need to lock the main door & gate lor

just use a number lock or a simple lock and pass one key to them will do.Is best that you lock your gate only.I think you wouldn't want anyone to go into your house right ?

i also got something to complain!:(:unsure::):deal:

the solid surface fabricator told me the corner in the kitchen wall is not 90 deg, so the solid surface will be slanted becos it must follow the wall otherwise there will be a gap.... but a slanted solid surface will also look weird mah... :yamseng::yamseng::notti:

I guess HDB will always be HDB. When we went to inspect our flat, my hubby, who used to work in condo construction line, said if the condo has big weird beams and columns protruding like our HDB flat at Jalan Membina, there would be major re-works needed.

Wonder if EC is like condo or HDB in this aspect...

May I know anyone of you doing the shower kerb for both bathrooms? My ID told me HDB has done up the slight kerb for our bathrooms so not necessary. But was wondering the current kerb may not be high enough :sport-smiley-004:

Hi Zila,

I'm not doing kitchen door. Whether is it necessary depends on how often you cook. If you got any budget constraint, you may just get a strong chimney hood which is good enough as advise by my ID.

Ya I did the box up for MBR as I will be placing my bed there. If you don't mind a hole behind your bedhead, can just do without :sport-smiley-004:

Am interested to know the kerb too. Anyone can advise??

yup i did the kerb on the bathrooms too. HDB's kerb is not high enough

anyone else did the kerb also?

Ya, i need help as well. Currently, i have shortlisted two brands, one is indesit and the other is Rinnai. Did anyone uses this two brands of built-in-oven before? Thanks! :sport-smiley-003:

i need help!:sport-smiley-003:

anyone going for built in oven? what brand and how much and where can see more variety of the ovens?

Can go to Poh Joo, Hoe Kee, Asia Excel, Best Denki, Courts, Harvey Norman, Audio House, Teka, Gain City, quite a variety of places..

How much the oven will cost depends on what kind of functions u want..

Ya, i need help as well. Currently, i have shortlisted two brands, one is indesit and the other is Rinnai. Did anyone uses this two brands of built-in-oven before? Thanks! :dunno:

why dun use back the same brand as your gas cooker? wont they gave a better discount :P

Finally after donkey months, my status change to "HDB will invite you to collect keys to your replacement flat in due course." Means I'll be getting my my keys soon? :dunno: Normally how soon will HDB contact you after the status becomes as such? Should I be calling HDB to bug them?

Edited by crazycar

Hi VACIS

Congrat!:wub:!!

Happy renotalk!:wub:!

Looking forward for yr pics....

HAPPY

Dear Neighbours,

We are getting our keys on the 7th Jan 2008 Monday! Ho Ho Ho.

Time to get our hands dirty for reno selection!:wub:

:dunno:

Just like to update everyone!

My renovation is left with 15% to go. If everything goes smoothly, I should be able to have my home ready on the 1st week of Jan 08.

Additionally, I just DIYed the IKEA white table and it is quite unbelievable that I actually did it all by myself. (Forced by my hubby to do it :dunno: ) He is DIYing the IKEA Expedit bookcase at the same time.

Here's a few photos of my lights.

DSC00048.jpg

Before <With yellow light>

PICT1678.jpg

After <With blue light>

PICT1683.jpg

Dining light

Have fun with renovation !

Just like to update everyone!

My renovation is left with 15% to go. If everything goes smoothly, I should be able to have my home ready on the 1st week of Jan 08.

Additionally, I just DIYed the IKEA white table and it is quite unbelievable that I actually did it all by myself. (Forced by my hubby to do it :dunno: ) He is DIYing the IKEA Expedit bookcase at the same time.

Here's a few photos of my lights.

PICT1683.jpg

Dining light

Have fun with renovation !

Wow nice effect created by this light...