rummi

Cat In Hdb Flat

are you from hdb? :jawdrop:

yes i do keep cats in my hdb flat

as it is, hdb's stand is rather relaxed on this

as long as no one complains, they are unlikely to take any actions

are you from hdb? :dunno:

yes i do keep cats in my hdb flat

as it is, hdb's stand is rather relaxed on this

as long as no one complains, they are unlikely to take any actions

im IN , NOT FROM. hehe

so tat means no problem owning a cat then. yeah yeah

do they need a license too (like dogs)? if so, any trouble getting one with HDB address?

u on any pet's forum or group?

meow. MEOW :jawdrop:

ohh, do u kitten-proof your house? is it necessary at all?

There's no license for cats since they are "supposedly" not allowed to be kept in hdb flats :dunno:

Bottomline, you need to be a responsible cat owner. Get your pet neutered and toilet train them. Never let them stray, pee or poo around your neighbour's compound. Must bear in mind that not everybody like animals and some people are terrified of them.

As for kitten proof my house, I never do so. One of my cat is too old and have weak hip while the naughty one is too timid to go out. He only peep outside and look out the window. But you can never be too careful though. If you have those hyperactive or curious cat, perhaps you'd like to get those mesh from pet shop to cover up your windows and gates :jawdrop:

Edited by lin_stapler

as to whether having a cat in hdb is a problem

it'll have to depend on your neighbours i guess

i'm very lucky coz my current immediate neighbours all love my cats

and we all have a give-and-take attitudes towards each other coz we have lived 'together' for twenty over years :dunno:

but if you suay suay have a neighbour like a friend of mine

who is basically looking at her every move

if she carries a pet carrier home, the neighbour will call TC and HDB immediately

you can almost be sure that they'll be there the next day to 'advise' my friend :jawdrop:

as for cat-proofing a home, there are two perspective to look at

one is to protect your belongings from the cats

and the other to protect the cats from any harm

for me, its protecting my cats :bangwall:

my parents will kill me if i allow anything to happen to them

for this new place, my dad specifically 'instructed' that even if nothing is done, the grilles must be up :dunno:

things i do to cat-proof my home

1. grilles with 2.5" or less gap for the whole unit

2. ample space for them to play around

3. no sharp edges that they may hurt themselves

4. provide perching grounds by having shelves, empty cabinet tops etc

5. only have plants that are edible for cats...

when i think of more i will post it here

in fact, there is no licence for cats regardless where you stay

but i micro-chipped my babies in case they got lost

if kenna caught by AVA and cannot find owner, they will kill the cat :yamseng:

sorry if i'm being naggy here

but if you have cats, please dun assume that cats can jump from height and not be injured at all.

some cats are not that agile and may injure themselves if falling from a height more than 1m esp if they are not prepared

hey, thanks a lot both!

good to hear tat much considerations had been made towards a pet :lol:

i was previously rather concern about the cat jumping off the balcony, despite being only on the 3th floor....

no problem, just fire away if you have any other queries e.g. which vet to go to, what food we feed our babies etc :P

btw, how's the legrand switches?

looking at changing my switches now :lol:

no problem, just fire away if you have any other queries e.g. which vet to go to, what food we feed our babies etc :P

btw, how's the legrand switches?

looking at changing my switches now :lol:

HEY, u r an SK EA too;)

the legrand switches are beautiful- saw & played with them before i left spore in april... in fact, im still in new zealand right now. even though th eelctrician has not billed me yet, the price tag will be hefty.

unless u have exposed switches in prominent locations, these may be considered luxury items= not a necessity:p

for me it's more of a convenient thingy

coz my parents are not so young

the hdb switches may prove to be a 'challenge' to them

see, i have to cat- & elderly-proof my home :lol:

for me it's more of a convenient thingy

coz my parents are not so young

the hdb switches may prove to be a 'challenge' to them

see, i have to cat- & elderly-proof my home :P

hmm, in fact, the MK-brand also have those big button switches - AT HALF THE PRICE TAG :lol:

u r lucky woman to have both the parents & the pet.

do u hv ur kitty foto to show?

hahaha, let me shamelessly direct you to my t-blog chat

the second link in my signature

pg 6 you can see my babies

pg 7 there's a link to see scoria76's darlings

think you can see lin_staplers darlings here

and yes i totally agree that i'm very lucky to have both :lol:

am looking around for such switches, just dun know which brand to go for

clipsal? legrand? jung? MK? :P

any idea where i can find all these under one roof???

hahaha, cause hdb say cats are 'nomadic in nature' and a whole load of other rubbish loh

then as animal lovers, we can't take the risk to say why dogs can cat cannot? coz if hdb go and ban dogs also then liao liao :bangwall:

anyway hdb also knows about the unhappiness

so they won't do anything unless someone specifically complain about cats in your particular units

and not just cats in unit, but must be smell / poo everywhere / noisy then they'll take action :bangwall:

for this i salute them :(

hahaha, let me shamelessly direct you to my t-blog chat

the second link in my signature

pg 6 you can see my babies

pg 7 there's a link to see scoria76's darlings

think you can see lin_staplers darlings here

and yes i totally agree that i'm very lucky to have both !!

am looking around for such switches, just dun know which brand to go for

clipsal? legrand? jung? MK? !!

any idea where i can find all these under one roof???

meow, 3 kitties !! they r beautiful.

as to the switches, i saw some electrical shops & hardware shops carrying them in loose pieces. MK is especially common. once in a while they have clipsal too... though i've never seen legrand in the shop.

comparing the brands... hmm... lets say clipsal & legrand are the UK & French version of each other in the same market. whereas MK is the cheaper 'copycat' version of the more expensive brands.

if u are really interested in LEGRAND, may have to ask your electrician to go get from shops that supply to construction projects.

hope these helps;)