Phantom

Kancheong King... Where To Hold Customary Dinner?

hehe just an update, we decided for our AD dinner to be held near IMM @ The Chevrons - Brilliant Garden instead. since it's mostly for our families and I'm also not too concern abt the deco and theme which they dont really have. LoL. as long as i know my family likes Gim Tim's food and it's teochew style. i feel like attending in jeans, casual and simple just like who i am. =)

must say the cons is that my 24 nov is booked by a company's dinner. sian. so tentatively have to postpone to 1st Dec which is not a auspicious date wor. We are ok, MIL is not. Parkings gonna be a problem too and we didnt manage to book their chalet. BOooooooooo

Thanks for all the help and suggestion rendered gals. I'm gonna try to find a "good" date now :good:

I had a relative who held at the dinner The Chervons itself in Dec 06. Also Gim Tim restaurant. Ballroom is big & pillarless. Juz rem to ask for some deco for the recep table cos it was totally bare. I tink the co-ordinator dat time was a male & i find him not bad, quite attentive :) I was at the VIP table, food portions big & i reali like the orh-ni!:yamseng: Yum yum...the fish & vegetable with mushrooms (i tink) were nice too. Dat time they did manage to book the chalet so quite convenient, juz concuss there after the dinner. I find the parking ok leh...they had 29 or 30 tables i tink. So no worries! :good: The price is v reasonable considering the nice food :dunno:

Congrats on deciding on the place!! :dunno: I went there for a wedding dinner a few years back, think it was quite ok, food was not too bad. :notti:

All the best in your chossing of dates! Cheers!

I had a relative who held at the dinner The Chervons itself in Dec 06. Also Gim Tim restaurant. Ballroom is big & pillarless. Juz rem to ask for some deco for the recep table cos it was totally bare. I tink the co-ordinator dat time was a male & i find him not bad, quite attentive :) I was at the VIP table, food portions big & i reali like the orh-ni!:P Yum yum...the fish & vegetable with mushrooms (i tink) were nice too. Dat time they did manage to book the chalet so quite convenient, juz concuss there after the dinner. I find the parking ok leh...they had 29 or 30 tables i tink. So no worries! :good: The price is v reasonable considering the nice food :notti:

wow wow wow, thanks for all the assurance gals. kiss kiss. LoL. happen to know which package ur relative took? for teo chew, orh-ni is must have! regarding the parking hor, they are only giving us 5 complimentary parking tickets and there isnt alot of parking lots wor. IMM and the strategy nearby will have but they have to walk lor.

Im thinking of holding it next year liao, since the chalet's all booked up till end of this year.

oh, the chevrons huh. its not bad too. :( btw, is it a country club? we always drive past but dont know what its. :dunno:

your customary is referring to tea ceremony or what? usually, tea ceremony and banquet are done on the same day. tea ceremony is in the morning and banquet is in the evening. :notti: for us, even banquet also must find an auspicious date. :deal:

yup, it's a country club. =)

i dont really believe in those auspicious dates de but MIL insist. if u are meant to be together till u grow old u will, nothing will ever break u up. if it's meant to fail, the bestest auspicious date also no use. sorry ar, my point of view.

Haha I agree...auspicious dates are meant for a peace of mind nia....in future if anything choy choy happens, you won't blame and kick yourself for not choosing an "auspicious date" to get married...

wow wow wow, thanks for all the assurance gals. kiss kiss. LoL. happen to know which package ur relative took? for teo chew, orh-ni is must have! regarding the parking hor, they are only giving us 5 complimentary parking tickets and there isnt alot of parking lots wor. IMM and the strategy nearby will have but they have to walk lor.

I duno which package they took leh...but heard one table is reali very cheap but dat was in 2006 lar, heh. Now prices sure increase liao :) Personally, i prefer cold desserts but the orh-ni there, i like :) And if there r some tables dat nv come up to 10pax, u can combine the number of empty seats, see how empty tables u end up with, can go back to eat....But if go back to eat, they wun give u the full courses but will still have the desserts! Bill can b settled the next day, no need immediately.

Its true dat parking lots not alot but i tot its walkable distance from J.East mrt?? IMM still have free parkings now rite? I super long nv go already, cant rem...U got any frens or relatives working as army specialists boh? My hubby is a specialist so dat time he book the chalets for them at a cheaper rate loh...But the one booking the chalet must be the one to chk in the chalet lar. Book out can be anyone. If u dun mind delaying, mayb a couple of mths after CNY? Cos usually ppl rite after CNY no $ liao, all given out as angbaos :notti: Must give them some time to recuperate. Else juz hold in early Jan...got chalet better cos ur MUA & ur helpers at least have a place to hang around?

Edited by cheesecake

Ya tea ceremony...banquet need not necessarily be on the same day as many ppl nowadays split into 2 days..tea ceremony today, banquet tmr..less tiring...generally, banquet no need for auspicious date but it's up to individual

ya, up to individual lor. :notti: for people like us, we prefer to do tea ceremony and banquet together; also must choose an auspicious date. :notti:

yup, it's a country club. =)

ya, agreed too. :good: