shmj

Our Simple Nest In Redhill

Have started reno & finally have the time to start the blog rolling...

Reno works started officially on 6th Jul.

If all goes well, we will have the hse ready by 4th Aug. :~

List of stuff that we will be doing.:

- Kitchen Cabinets

- Master bedroom wardrobes

- simple feature wall in dining area

- shoe cabinets

- vanity top & glass door in master room toilet.

- shower screen in 2 toilets

- window grilles

- false ceilings in master room & living room

- tiles at foyer

- laminated flooring for rest of the hse

- paints

total damage - $26K. :bow:

At the moment, the carpentary is outstanding + the 2 toilets & the simple feature wall. The rest all done liao.

Some pics of the ongoing works....

(sorry for the crappy pics since we took the pics with our mobile.)

My daughter's room lights & paint. Paint color is actually Lilac... a very soft purple...but somehow the pic turned the color more pinkish.

kadyroomlights.jpg

kadyroom.jpg

SIL's room lights. She didn't like it but no choice cos I want the 2 room lights to be the same. The one that she chose earlier only had 1 last pc. :~

SILroomlights.jpg

Living room lights from different angles + false ceiling

livingceilinglights.jpg

livingceilinglights-1.jpg

ceilinglightsliving.jpg

ceilingatliving.jpg

Kitchen Lights:

kitchenlights.jpg

Master bedroom:

ourroomlights.jpg

Laminated flooring:

laminateflooring.jpg

Spam Chop x 3

Welcome. redhill, such a nice place. lots of food around, easy to get to everywhere. :notti:

Thanks for the Spams folks!

eR1c - yes... we were lucky to manage to get the flat there.... all thanks to my dear old mum who's staying ard tt area... otherwise dun think we'll stand a chance! :notti:

Hello there! nice choice for the laminate flooring. What colour will your cupboards be to complement this natural looking colour?

Love your black wall.... :notti:

Hi shmj, :)

Welcome to Reno T-blog. Really glad to see your renovation photos.

Can't wait to see more photos will be posted once your house is fully renovation.

If you have any queries, feel free to post them here, our Experienced/Senior Members ;) will try to help or advice you along the way.

Meanwhile, enjoy your Renovation Experience. :notti::notti:

Jamez, Tim - Thanks for the welcome! ;)

Jamez - we are doing cabinets only for the master bedroom. For the other 2 bedrooms, we'll be buying off the shelf ones... cheaper that way lah!

Our master bedroom's wardrobe will be in black... much to my hubby's delight, this was the color that the FS Master recommend. :notti:

The wall color was in Nippon Paint - Galaxy... again, my ah lao's fav. He loves dark colors! :notti:

Thanks for the Spams folks!

eR1c - yes... we were lucky to manage to get the flat there.... all thanks to my dear old mum who's staying ard tt area... otherwise dun think we'll stand a chance! :notti:

hehehe... u moving to this area, i moving out from this area. :notti:

really ah? I like the convenience of staying ard town area.... currently staying in CCK... not tt convenient compared to redhill...

i know, had been staying here for the past 30yrs. but then the monthly instalment will kill me lor...

true lah... the mthly installment is quite high...

slightly higher than what I am paying for my CCK flat... but for the convenience...

I juz hope tt my mom wont make me regret the decision by coming over every few days just to annoy me can liao! :bow:

Jamez, Tim - Thanks for the welcome! :P

Jamez - we are doing cabinets only for the master bedroom. For the other 2 bedrooms, we'll be buying off the shelf ones... cheaper that way lah!

Our master bedroom's wardrobe will be in black... much to my hubby's delight, this was the color that the FS Master recommend. :P

The wall color was in Nippon Paint - Galaxy... again, my ah lao's fav. He loves dark colors! :bow:

wow.. Galaxy is niceeee.. my study room also in this colour.. keke. but will be a bit dark.. so must install brighter lights :dunno:

you got the blk 75/76 flats?

me balloted but didn't get :dunno:

but quite happy with SK also, at least got NEL

more pix more pix :bow:

Yup. :P Think we managed to get cos we apply under MCPS scheme (Married child priorty scheme).

Otherwise boh chance also....

wow.. Galaxy is niceeee.. my study room also in this colour.. keke. but will be a bit dark.. so must install brighter lights :notti:

we painted 1 wall Galaxy. The rest are in Ash Grey....

so not tt dark... :P

Sharing a Conversation with my mom when we brought her to our flat last Saturday which was still in the midst of renovation

Mom upon entering the flat: "wah! the living area so small ah!"

When she was "inspecting" the 2 rooms -

Mom: "the rooms here all so small!"

Mom: "The window grilles how come so ugly one? All protruding out."

Me: "Window grilles protrude out no choice cos of the window handles."

When she was "inspecting" the master bedroom -

Mom: "How come master room design until like that? Space so tight. Then build this 1 inch wall here for what ah?"

Me: "the wall is the backing for the cabinets."

When she was "inspecting" the master room toilet -

Mom: "How come your toilet so messy? Where's the door?"

Me: "Still renovating mah, of cos messy. We removed the crabby original toilet door. Will replace it with a frosted glass swing door."

Mom: "Huh? Like that wont hit the toilet bowl meh? Why don't do sliding? Aiyoh, space so small."

I refused to answer at this point cos I think I have enough.

When she was "inspecting" the living room -

Mom: "Wah! So many lights in your living room! Need so many lights meh?"

Mom: "Whats this area going to be ah?" pointing to the semi circle full length window area.

Me: "going to do a platform here"

Mom: "then? Thats it ah? Just do platform? Convert it to a lounge area lah!"

When she was "inspecting" the kitchen -

Mom: "aiyoh, your flat really small hor.... no space in the kitchen."

started to point at areas and ask how come don't have this, don't have that, etc....

You would've guessed that by now, my ears + mind has switched off liao.

Its no wonder that whenever we spend too much time together I'll get agitated!